wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Matatu Insanity..alternative to michuki?
ProverB
#1 Posted : Friday, November 05, 2010 9:02:33 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/k0kycjz/-/index.html

Bw. Kimunya to introduce monitoring and tracking system for PSV's next year.. this could be the next best thing since michuki in this industry.. i hope.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#2 Posted : Friday, November 05, 2010 5:21:21 PM

Interesting....

Now Traffic Commandant will be watching the PSV guy as he speeds and overlaps

Hope there's a trail showing when the guy's case was taken up to the conclusio of the case.Otherwise makarao wa traffic wataendelea kunenepa
#3 Posted : Saturday, November 06, 2010 5:01:05 PM

the best thing that may happen to this industry is if we go the citi hoppa way. let us have firms owning many fleets of 'vehicles'. thios will encourage responsibility and as a result more control because the contact points will be less in the ministry's eyes.
Apple Bees
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 07, 2010 12:36:41 PM

@sober, my friend...citihoppas are just BIG matatus: lack discipline and decorum, rude and are also bent on breaking every single traffic law they think they know. After all, most of the drivers for CH were former matatu crew!
alustaadh
#5 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 6:14:01 AM

the problem with the transport sector is that the policy makers have vested interests. consider this: michuki had his 2 containers full of speed governors and safety belts even before the laws were published. he championed for citi hoppa to gain access to CBDThen in comes Githae with his not so SMART BUS concept. I hope that Kimunya has not shortlisted a firm to fit those gadgets at exorbitant prices. this will raise bus fares
It is humiliating to be associated with thieves and murderers.
#6 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 8:44:13 AM

Apple Bees wrote:
@sober, my friend...citihoppas are just BIG matatus: lack discipline and decorum, rude and are also bent on breaking every single traffic law they think they know. After all, most of the drivers for CH were former matatu crew!

Hear hear hear! Applause Applause
#7 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 9:05:42 AM

@ Nyuki, so right... Hate using them kabisa
kimiri
#8 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 5:23:30 PM

I wish to imagine that the feasibility of some of these regulations the minister is suggesting has been well researched in the Kenyan context. Increased fares and time wastage by commuters dropped by Matatus outside the city to board city commuter buses may actuary encourage more people to use personal vehicles and traffic jams may actually escalate. Although the SACCOS he is talking about may work, they may as well lead to greater entrenchment of cartels and criminal gangs in controlling routes which is a serious problem already. Abrupt phasing out of the 14 seaters in town by Jan 2011 will particularly to cause significant suffering to commuters. I however wish him well.
alustaadh
#9 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 5:58:25 PM

it seems that it is a crime to invest in a psv sector. too many regulations, very little help from the government. seems like the authorities are experimenting with investors money.
thuks
#10 Posted : Monday, November 08, 2010 10:52:49 PM

alustaadh wrote:
it seems that it is a crime to invest in a psv sector. too many regulations, very little help from the government. seems like the authorities are experimenting with investors money.

do not let your money be a guines pigLaughing out loudly
I care!
alustaadh
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 12:39:34 AM

consider this. a 42 seat bus will occupy the same length as 2.5 nissans vans saving a mere 7 feet. given that psv compose 25% of the general traffic, this saving will be obliterated by newly registered personal cars. in other words the traffic jam will not reduce. since the busses will be driven by the same old rude ex matatu crews, sanity will still remain elusive. then in comes the extortionist gangs, the police and the city council guys. well, only a fool would want to throw 5 million bob to the dogs.
mozenrat
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 09, 2010 10:50:52 AM

Someone explain to me how the Saccos are supposed to help