Culture
General Questions and Answers section
@All Is it true that 1. When you change tire sizes in a car, what you see in the speedometer is not the actual speed of the car. eg from 175/70R13 to 195/60R15 2. The optimum fuel efficiency speed is 60 KM/H Reasons? "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Tebes wrote:@All Is it true that 1. When you change tire sizes in a car, what you see in the speedometer is not the actual speed of the car. eg from 175/70R13 to 195/60R15
2. The optimum fuel efficiency speed is 60 KM/H
Reasons? 1 - true - between the 13 and 15 is a difference of 2 inches in the diameter of the rim (and then between the 70 and 60 - 10cm more) - now add all that up and think of the circumference. Which is why some people can put a 17" rim with low profiles (50) and still have the same circumference as a 15" wheel with a higher profile (say 70 or 80) - Ok I have not done the math with that but just for illustrative purposes. I also know when I was fitting a digital speedo on a bike, there are various pre sets depending on the bike type (for MTB, road bike) and the tyre size... 2. I think the optimal is 90kph for an everage engine (1800cc). OK, now for my question - if a man says something, far away in a forest, where no woman can hear him, is he still wrong?
Wendz, I have one and am able to open all attachments, the IT guys at work configured this for us. I'm not an IT guru but if you consult one you should be able to get some assistance. BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
Djinn wrote:[quote=Tebes]@All OK, now for my question - if a man says something, far away in a forest, where no woman can hear him, is he still wrong? Like what in the forest? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
smano wrote:Wendz, I have one and am able to open all attachments, the IT guys at work configured this for us. I'm not an IT guru but if you consult one you should be able to get some assistance. Thanks... @Djinn... LOOOL! I bet he'd be right for as long as he remains in the forest.... ehehe
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
during the act of susuing/peeing/guthuguma..one MUST pollute the air/fart/guthuria, if not so, then you have a serious medical condition...if its a fact..then you heard it from Mlefu..otherwise..i am not such a dada head!!!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 1/16/2010 Posts: 672 Location: nairobi
Can a man pee under the water???......both types!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@Tebes, about fuel efficiency, hiyo bado sijui, but was once told that for the car to perform at optimum, the speedometer should be facing 12 O'clock...i wouldn't know kama ni myth or fact.... @Guka, jibu swali nijue..thanx
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
i am thinking the speed mechanism is independent of the tyre/rim size..unless you cnage the hub,arm and the steering .
@60kp/h most engines would be on gear 3...hiyo ingine sijui
@Tebes: I've also been told that speed that give optimum performance is between 80 - 120 kph for 1800cc engines.
@Wendz: That is true. It applies even for the Nokia E series!
mlefu wrote:i am thinking the speed mechanism is independent of the tyre/rim size..unless you cnage the hub,arm and the steering .
@60kp/h most engines would be on gear 3...hiyo ingine sijui No, I do not think so. While the speedo cable is inserted somewhere in the gearbox, its the final drive gear that relays the speed to the cable. Example, park car on a slope with engine off and let it roll...does the speedo move and what makes it move---
OMG!!! OMG!!!OMG!!!! mjuaji wa stocks is a female she. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Sasha wrote:@Tebes: I've also been told that speed that give optimum performance is between 80 - 120 kph for 1800cc engines.
Is this the 12 O'Clock speed? What of the 2000 cc vehicles? "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
The 12 O'clock speed is indicated for whichever type of "cc"...hence someone here gave a range of 80kph - 120kph (that is for gari with the speedometer up to 160 or 240kph)
Yes...at least for a guy. Its a good thing that the swimming pool in question did not have those funny chemicals that will identify the guiltp party that I frequent
kadonye wrote:@intelli, I'm referring to the case where the browning affects so many people in one area.There was a time I could guess where one was brought up by the colour of his teeth e.g most of my friends from Nakuru town have this problem.I was told that it's water in those areas that has fluoride.Same applies to parts of Nyanza,Nor th Rift and Central. A tooth is formed a few years before it comes out of the gum into the mouth. The hard part of the tooth called enamel is made up of Calcium Hydroxyappatite crystals. This is a compound of Calcim, Phosphates and a Hydroxyl group. In places where the water contains too much fluoride SOME of the Hydroxyl groups are displaced by Fluoride ions so that you end up with formation of Calcium Fluoroappatite crystals. The tooth is therefore made up of a mixture of both Hydroxyappatite and Fluoroappatite crystals. Now think of it this way when all the crystals being used to form the tooth are the same size they can be arranged to fit tightly together so that there are no spaces (voids) between them and you get a uniform solid mass with a consistent smooth texture and colour. In the case of a mixture of crystals of different sizes, (Fluoroappatite crystals are smaller than hydroxyappatite crystals) you get voids when the crystals are layered one upon the other. When the teeth come out into the mouth these voids take up stains and the teeth become brown. This also explains why the teeth are not as brown when they first appear in the mouth in fact some are chalky white but continue to stain as the child matures. They also have a rough surface and in severe cases they can chip away. Please note that the browning effect of the fluoride is from water that has been ingested that means maji imekunywa. It goes into the stomach then the blood then is deposited on the tooth that is forming while it is still under the gum. Fluoride that comes in contact with the teeth in the mouth as in rinsing and spitting does not cause brown teeth. Why do some people who take the same water not get the same staining? Two reasons: Teeth are only being formed when they have not erupted into the mouth. All teeth are already formed by the time the child is 8 years old. If after this he starts taking water with excess fluoride his teeth will not be affected. It is the children whose teeth are still forming who are at risk of tooth discoloration. So anyone who takes this water after age 8 will be unaffected. People can live in the same area but do not take the same water. Some houses have a tank that collects rain water for drinking and kitchen use and therefore the people there though living in an area with high fluoride water do not drink it. Actually this is what is recommended for people in areas with high fluoride levels in ground water (Nakuru area, Muranga, Karen - langata etc) if they have children younger than 8. Adults and children older than 8 need not worry.
Mimi iko swari: I am looking for a bank account that will allow me to load up my Mpesa electronically. Which is the best option? I am not too keen on Mkesho. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Scooby wrote:Yes...at least for a guy. Its a good thing that the swimming pool in question did not have those funny chemicals that will identify the guiltp party that I frequent I meant men and peeing of the two types!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Culture
General Questions and Answers section