wazua Sat, Sep 20, 2025

6 Pages123>»
Kenya Airways: Stock to watch...
msafiri
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 1:02:05 AM

The global airline industry has rebounded very strongly this year. Most airlines particulary in Asia are reporting triple digit profit growth this year. On account of this KQ should be watched closely. Check out. www.afrikainvestor.blogspot.com for a more detailed analysis
When you see clouds gathering, prepare to catch rainwater. - African proverb

#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 2:52:41 AM

I like KQ but it is no Emirates!
[I did enjoy reading the analysis]
msafiri
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 7:00:08 PM

Vitu, I agree with you. KQ is no Emirates. But this is not just about Emirates, virtually the whole industry has bounced back this year. Over the last 10 years (according to IATA figures), the global airline industry has been loss making. KQ on the other hand has been profitable for most of the last 10 years. Surely KQ should benefit from a general industry surge. Even the US industry which is very mature has done supremely well in the first 9 months of 2010. Iko kitu.
When you see clouds gathering, prepare to catch rainwater. - African proverb

#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 7:47:40 PM

msafiri wrote:
Vitu, I agree with you. KQ is no Emirates. But this is not just about Emirates, virtually the whole industry has bounced back this year. Over the last 10 years (according to IATA figures), the global airline industry has been loss making. KQ on the other hand has been profitable for most of the last 10 years. Surely KQ should benefit from a general industry surge. Even the US industry which is very mature has done supremely well in the first 9 months of 2010. Iko kitu.
I hope so!!!
the deal
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 7:59:27 PM

I like the pessimism on KQ that way even if 5 Nov backfires we wont get roasted...some media carried reports that KQ made losses in the 1Q so anything is possible here...just praaaay...
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 9:08:27 PM

the deal wrote:
I like the pessimism on KQ that way even if 5 Nov backfires we wont get roasted...some media carried reports that KQ made losses in the 1Q so anything is possible here...just praaaay...

@the deal you seem to be in big in KQ... I'll be really praying for youPray
ProverB
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 8:16:33 AM

..serious times these are.. when sound investment analysis by likes of vvs and deal are interspersed with terms such as "pray"... "hope" Sad Sad .... naikuni's adamant political connections n patronage that seems to be working overtime to ensure his "lifetime-seat-holder" at the helm of KQ will mess up everyone in the long run. Brick wall can't he learn from MJ?? NKTmost! Sickamp;
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
X13united
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 8:33:28 AM

We better be headin for good times in kq Nov 5th it is,til then,lets enjoy our dividends.
#9 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 9:45:54 AM

Caution!!dont expect more than the company can chew...it can be disastrous to the share...is tomorow the defining moment?
the deal
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 9:52:34 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Caution!!dont expect more than the company can chew...it can be disastrous to the share...is tomorow the defining moment?

Yes tomorrow is the defining moment there are lot of disgruntled KQ shareholders out there who have stayed put for a better tomorrowLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
the deal
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 9:55:44 AM

On KQ i will be looking at 2 things tomorrow.

1. Operating profit
2. Overheads

If any of those blow in our face i will sale without a blink cause it will show that management is struggling to drive the plane.
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:12:15 AM

Unajua ngamia?..mimi nimeweka shingo hapa na ninalia nundu changu!!nundu changu!!..should i get in today? advise
ProverB
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:12:25 AM

the deal wrote:

1. Operating profit
2. Overheads

If any of those blow in our face i will sale without a blink cause it will show that management is struggling to drive the plane.

everytime i've alluded that focus be on operating profits..dismissal has been abrupt and fast..preference given to revenue growth..(passenger numbers, route expansions blah blah blah).. wacha tuone. smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:13:12 AM

ProverB wrote:
..serious times these are.. when sound investment analysis by likes of vvs and deal are interspersed with terms such as "pray"... "hope" Sad Sad .... naikuni's adamant political connections n patronage that seems to be working overtime to ensure his "lifetime-seat-holder" at the helm of KQ will mess up everyone in the long run. Brick wall can't he learn from MJ?? NKTmost! Sickamp;

LOL... True... Whereas, I believe KQ will have a great 2H, I need cash for KPLC Rights too!
ProverB
#15 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:49:31 AM

msafiri wrote:

Hope you are watching. smile
mwanahisa
#16 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 11:12:45 AM

ProverB wrote:
msafiri wrote:

Hope you are watching. smile

I am watching and while I like the fact that I will be able to get some more today at 43 or below.

All the same, I am wondering... Over 1/2 a million shares being offered at Kshs 44. What do these guys know that I do not?

Anyhow, in for a penny, in for a pound. Today, I will purchase the last lot that I need to get to my target. This will bring my stake in KQ to roughly 15% of my portfolio. Let's see whether I will be crying tomorrow!
mwanahisa
#17 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 11:15:56 AM

ProverB wrote:
the deal wrote:

1. Operating profit
2. Overheads

everytime i've alluded that focus be on operating profits..dismissal has been abrupt and fast..preference given to revenue growth..(passenger numbers, route expansions blah blah blah).. wacha tuone. smile

@ProverB, I think you and I have been together on our emphasis on operating profits. I have even gone ahead to give my projection on what I think the figure will be for H1. As for the overheads that is anyone's guess.

We will now know tomorrow.
ProverB
#18 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 11:25:08 AM

mwanahisa wrote:

@ProverB, I think you and I have been together on our emphasis on operating profits. I have even gone ahead to give my projection on what I think the figure will be for H1. As for the overheads that is anyone's guess.

well, i have heard it being said..that fortune will always favor the bold. smile All the best. 15% dedicated to KQ? wow.

i will stay on financials..for KQ..i'm not convinced. may be speculative purposes once news is out..i'd rather miss out.
mwanahisa
#19 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 12:20:56 PM

ProverB wrote:
mwanahisa wrote:

well, i have heard it being said..that fortune will always favor the bold. smile All the best. 15% dedicated to KQ? wow.

i will stay on financials..for KQ..i'm not convinced. may be speculative purposes once news is out..i'd rather miss out.

ProverB, Over 50% of my portfolio is in Financials, so I needed some other avenue to balance my portfolio. Most of my KQs are recent buys. I also hold KK and KPLC as my core Industrial Holdings. I hold a few other stocks, which some may consider outlandish such as Agriculturals.

At the moment, I feel I am a little over diversified. I am therefore looking to trim the portfolio a bit.
the deal
#20 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 12:32:30 PM

50% of my portifolio is in KQ...people are just panicking...i believe tomorrows results will be better than last year...due the world cup effect...