wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

7 Pages«<23456>»
Beware of Barclay Loans
#61 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 7:38:00 AM

@ Mozenrat

Thats a very logical analysis. Hope it now serves to mathematically explain my argument to those who emotionally attempted to tackle the issue i raised. BTW,have never undersood why at times when somebody raises an issue contrary to popular beliefs some people outrightly see naivete written all over your post and start addressing issues extraneous to your argument. Its particularly shocking to hear somebody at SK talk of sacco loans being 'zero cost borrowings' and others comparing accrued interests from loans with dividends.

DIE FIGHTING 4 UA RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS
mozenrat
#62 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 11:25:00 AM

@Tito44....

U're assuming straight line basis for charging interest which is rarely used by banks or Saccos.... In reality u pay interest on the OUTSTANDING balance.....

I like working with actual numbers so here goes...

Assuming that U and I earn about the same and can only afford to pay about the same in installments..

I borrow 200K from a bank for 2 years... monthly installments = 9,984.82.... total interest = 39,635.69

U borrow 300K from your Sacco for 3 years.... Monthly installments = 9,964.29.... When 200k PRINCIPAL is repaid (after 25 months),you tell them to write off the balance with your contributions.... Ur total interest paid will be 58,714.55 MINUS 6,301.15 = 52,413.40

Know this... Financial institutions collect the largest portion of total interest AT THE BEGINNING and more of the Principal AS THE END OF THE TERM OF THE LOAN nears...

I could send you a reducing balance loan schedule calculator,you do the math yourself....

To your second example:::::-

I agree that when you borrow 300K from the Sacco,you effectively have 400K (300K loan and 100K in savings)... HOWEVER,after two years,I will have completed paying my loan and the money that was going towards paying the bank accumulates as savings to 100K.. You on the other hand will still be paying your loan in the third year.... so at the end of the third year,you and I will effectively have 400K!!!

ACTUALLY... U'll have less since you'll have paid nearly 18K more in interest... Hope you're dividends will be able to cover that....

PS: This is the first time I'm doing this calculations and I'm shocked!!! I'm really beginning to wonder about this Sacco's phenomenon......
niando
#63 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 11:59:00 AM

@mozenrat. you are surely a good salesman.You can sell ice to eskimos.

why conviniently compare 200k bank loan with 300k sacco loan.did you mention that you need a security valued 285k to get the 200k bank loan,if you are lucky ?what about the opportunity cost of the 285k security?
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
#64 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:15:00 PM

@ Niando

What is the opportunity cost of having a payslip(a piece of worthless paper) in your bank managers office?

WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS
niando
#65 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:31:00 PM

Stockskenya,

I feel that this discussion qualifies for the sticky post.It touches most of us and its an eye opener.

See the number of ratings .

I leave this to you since you have the prerogative of deciding which thread goes up there.

I'm out of topic
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
mozenrat
#66 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:39:00 PM

@Niando.....

Soma the other posts in this thread... The premise of the discussion is that I need 300K... Do I save 100k in a Sacco and then borrow 3 times my savings = 300K or do I keep 100K under my mattress and then borrow 200K from a bank???

... and LIKE I SAID BEFORE,I have borrowed from a bank before with no such security requirements other than my salary slip which like my friend has pointed out - No opportunity cost in depositing it...
The Real Shaft
#67 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:39:00 PM

young*...

we feel your pain.....

however....

before you put pen to paper......

read the fine print....

or get a lawyer to interpret the contents of the letter of offer......

it is called ....

preventive lawyering..... from the adage... Prevention is better than cure......

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Tito44
#68 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:42:00 PM

@Mozenrat

Why is it so hard for you to give similar comparisons? You conveniently use a repayment of 9,984 for the bank and 9,964 for the sacco. You then go ahead and give an inflated figure for the sacco interest. As if that is not enough,you clearly say that the sacco loan will be written off after two years with the 100k. This essentially means the sacco loan is also cleared after 2 years. So u are the bright one to continue saving after clearing your bank loan while the foolish me will not save any single cent and yet we've both cleared our loans?

It's good you've said it is the first time you are calculating this. So,i will pardon you for the mistake you've made but pliz don't go on fooling guys on how better a bank loan is compared to saccos. You even conveniently forgot to include the loan facilitation fee charged by banks.

The problem is that you are relying on those loan calculators. Those work in the USA my friend. Get a spreadsheet and see the difference for yourself. I will soon be posting the entire breakdown side by side.
dijkstra
#69 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 1:21:00 PM

@Tito44

great for reminding him about other charges on the bank loan,me thought he's just ignorant...

now add the following to your list:

(1) arrangement fee

(2) insurance fee

(4) higher interest

(5) Consequences in case you are unable to service the loan

etc etc;

@Mozenrat,
If you are one of those bank -loan sales dudes who've been bombarding me with calls advicing me to take a topup,just know that am topping up my Sacco shares instead and soon I will clear your damn loan using a Sacco loan...

none
mozenrat
#70 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 1:27:00 PM

@Tito44...

Wacha kuenda personal.....

Who told you these loan calculators are used in the States... Enter any Stanchart ATM area today and pick the loan schedules they give you for their personal loans... I assure you,you will get the same amount.

I have used the figures that are nearest to each other for the Bank and Sacco. This is supposed to be one individuals choice so I'm assuming that the same individual can only afford roughly 10k per month installments.... If you shorten the Sacco period to 2 years for the 300k,the fellow has to pay installments of Kshs. 14,122.14 with interest totalling to Kshs. 38,929. If he chooses a bank,the guy and pays even less at 13,556.29 he'll be finished in 17months with an interest of Kshs.27,761.85..... If he paid slightly more at 14,474.44,he finishes in 16 months with an interest of Kshs. 25,827.14

When I said I've never done this computations,I meant that I've never compared the two. Otherwise I once worked for a bank IN KENYA and a significant portion of my work involved providing revenue assurance by recomputing interest income and expense for the bank.... I also have my schedule of repayments for the last loan I took from my Sacco and rest assured my calculator is accurate...

NIC Bank is not in the STATES... Go to their website and see how interest is computed ama unadhani kuna reducing balance ya Kenya na ingine ya States....
Tito44
#71 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 1:40:00 PM

Well then,let the people decide. You have used a loan calculator to come up with the rates. I have said i will post the raw data month by month on this site including calculations. Maybe you should do that too

I should have guessed you work for a bank. Sorry,worked for a bank.

Nothing personal just business
mozenrat
#72 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 1:40:00 PM

@dijkstra

You are an insult to your name.... How can you use the name of one who was so logical yet resort to emotions in a mathematical discourse.....I once worked for a bank (back office)... but no more.... You maybe surprised to learn that I'm now an official in two Saccos and you may require my signature for your loan... ; -)

I concede on the insurance,commitment fee etc etc..... Lakini if you had bothered to read my earlier posts,you'd have noticed that I'd already stated that by requiring only two signatures,Saccos are a lifeline.... Further,I stated that I agree that Banks 'fine print' is used to fleece people... U can assume fine print includes all those charges....

Seeing as all those who are now posting have moved out of the scope of the argument - which was limited to interest rates... I rest my case.....

If you can use numbers AND THE CORRECT COMPUTATIONS PROCESS to show that saving 100k in a sacco then borrowing 300K (@12%) will result in lower INTEREST charges than storing the same 100K under my bed then borrowing 200K (@18%) from a bank... BRING IT ON....

@Tito44

You've just used two posts to say... I WILL,I WILL.... Then Do it...

I suspect once you realise that you're wrong you never will....

Msema Kweli ndiye huyu hapa...

http://www.nic-bank.com/...al-Link/Loan-Calculator

Waria
#73 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 2:34:00 PM

@ monzerat now now no need for that

As a former Stanchart risk assuarer ( albeit back office- ahem) How easy/safe/viable is it to save 100k or more under the mattress

Me first,U next
sheep
#74 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 2:59:00 PM

Kumbe hii mambo ya interest ni moto hivi
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Tito44
#75 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 5:55:00 AM

@Dijkstra

Thanks 4 posting the analysis.

@Mozenrat

Dijkstra beat me in posting the analysis. Is there anything else that needs clarification?
mozenrat
#76 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 6:43:00 AM

@dijkistra

I don't know why you're inventing your own case study...

Further,u've not stated how you got your interest figures.... I'm using what I know the Banks use and YES I used to do the interest recomputations for them...

U asked for similar comparison but they also have to be realistic....

So same guy,requires same amount,can only afford same amount in installments...

Here are the terms....

1. The case study is...Mr [dijkstra] needs 300K...Mr [dijkstra] can only afford to pay 10k a month in loan installments... Two SKerians are advising on how he can get that money via a loan...

Sacco option

Save 100,000... for a year....

earn 8,000 in interest....

Borrow 300,000k from the Sacco at 12% interest....

Remembering that he can only afford to pay 10k a month,the loan will take exactly 36 months (3 years) to pay off at a rate of 10k a month...

Total interest = Kshs. 58,461.83...

Net cost = Kshs. 58,461.83 - 8,000 = Kshs. 50,461.83

At the end of 3 years,Mr [dijkstra] has had 400K in capital i.e. 300K borrowed + 100k saved in contributions...

Bank option

Save 100,000 under your mattress...

Interest earned = 0

Borrow 200,000 from the bank at 18% interest....

Remembering that he can only afford to pay 10k a month,the loan will take exactly 24 months (2 years) to pay off at a rate of 10k a month...

Total interest = Kshs. 39,565.35...

loan arrangement and insurance fees (per your own figures) = Kshs. 16,000...

Therefore net cost = Kshs. 55,565.35

At the end of 2 years,Mr [dijkstra] has 300K in capital (100k mattress money and 200k loan).... but while in the sacco he would still be paying 10k in loan installments in the third year,he can now save 10k monthly under his mattress such that at the end of the 3rd year,he will have 420k in capital....

Summary

Sacco 400,000 (Capital) - 50,461.83 (total cost) = Kshs. 349,538.17 (net)

Bank 420,000 (Capital) - 55,565.35 (total cost) = Kshs. 364,434.65 (net)

Bank option still beats Sacco option by 14,896.48

When you post your rebuttal,please state how you came up with your interest figures so that we can show you the error of your ways....

Anyone checked out the Stanchart or Cooperative Bank loan schedules or the NIC bank calculator ???.... Prove my calculations wrong. They are available in the streets of Nairobi...

Those of you interested in doing the above calculations for yourself,Just use MS Excel and the PMT(a/12,b,c) function where a = interest rate per year,b = number of months,c = loan amount.... This gives you the monthly installment... Multiply that by number of months (b) to get total figure repaid.... subtract initial loan... Whallah,you have your interest......
#77 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 8:02:00 AM

@ Njung'e

@ Extrablessed

With that superb analysis from my friend MOZENRAT let me take this early opportunity to be a gentleman and withdraw my harsh words against my dear sis extrablessed.......At least i now know 'LITTLE KNOWLEDGE IS WORSE THAN NO KNOWLEDGE AT ALL' only that the shoe is in the other foot. The 'zero cost borrowing' myth from SACCOS has ruthlessly been exposed.

Next time we shall carry out a detailed analysis on the corruption obtaining in many SACCOS especially how they disguise their corruption tendencies by engaging in construction of buildings..........Anybody in SK who is or knows somebody who has been a member of Ufundi,Harambee or even Elimu SACCO?

DISCLAIMER:- I dont work with a bank( Not that i will mind working with BBK,anyway)

mozenrat
#78 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 8:11:00 AM

.... and by the way... that nugget about 'Little knowledge' is very true....

.... for instance the arrangement fee for Stanchart is 3%.... while insurance is 0.3% per annum...

.... Therefore the 200,000 loan would have charges amounting to 7,800 and not 16,000..

... angalia hapa.. http://www.standardchart...ees%20and%20Charges.pdf
#79 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 8:12:00 AM

@Mozenrat,

Huh....!!...So.....!!.The 100 K shares in SACCO stops earning devidend the day you borrow the 200K???.....hehe..!!.If that not be the case,subtract a further 16K (Devinden for the 100K for the next 2 years at 8%) from the interest on Sacco loan at the end of the 3 year...........Second,the concept behind Co-op movement is simple and clear.It lies in the name itself.Savings and Credit.Simply said,you save a given amount of money (Usually a a minimum of 10% on basic salary if you are employed..........If my Sacco man repays at 10K + interest,it means his basic salary must be in excess 45K.Thus his contribution to the SACCO amounts to 4.5K per month.By the time he finishes his loan,his savings will have grown to 262K.............If you are lucky to save 4.5 K under you matress for the duration of the bank loan,we can savely assume the interest earned will be nil (Forget about the risks).............At this point then,we can say the bank interest remains as you tabulated.....NOW......Do the cumulative devidend pay-out and deduct it from the interest on the sacco loan and let's see where we are............!!!.I can bet you won't believe it.

Yombo dhier....!!
#80 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 8:22:00 AM

@ Mozenrat

Yes,yes i have seen. BTW,because of that myth of SACCO loans being cheap borrowing,i know of some sacco officials who con some naive and unsuspecting members that the 12% interest p.a is only 1%( and conveniently fail to state that the 1% interest is monthly). Most saccos officials when dealing with new members dont like talking of 12% interest.