wazua Sat, Sep 20, 2025

equity bank Q3 results
PKoli
#41 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 9:51:21 PM

My major concern with EB is that the growth will temper... thus the high PER will be unsustainable.

I support the regional expansion coz otherwise EB can't grow as fast especially in Kenya...

Great performance!

Yes, regional expansion is the way to go, but I have a feeling the region is too crowded with banks. Outside Kenya, the contribution to EB's bottomline might not be significant.
#42 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 9:56:22 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS, fast approaching that 5000 posts mark! What do you have planned? smile Wazua, seriously consider giving this guy another rank
LOL... I would like to dedicate to KK touching 15/-...

Laughing out loudly I'll drink to that my good friend
mwanahisa
#43 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 12:01:03 AM

PKoli wrote:
My major concern with EB is that the growth will temper... thus the high PER will be unsustainable.

I support the regional expansion coz otherwise EB can't grow as fast especially in Kenya...

Great performance!

Yes, regional expansion is the way to go, but I have a feeling the region is too crowded with banks. Outside Kenya, the contribution to EB's bottomline might not be significant.

EB's growth may (will) indeed taper off. The days of triple digit profit growth are clearly behind us. Growth is however unlikely to slow down to the extent of the likes of BBK or even KCB (especially on an EPS basis).

You will note that in Q3 2010, PAT increased significantly, notwithstanding that loan growth was relatively slower. During the next year and beyond, I expect loan growth to resume at a higher rate.

This will come from Equity's greater engagement with SMEs and Corporates, who currently form a fairly small proportion of EB's portfolio. This will further enable EB to grow income streams such as foreign currency exchange dealing. This has grown impressively in 2010 but is still much less than say that at KCB, Barclays and Stanchart.

I also believe that there is still a lot more income to be unlocked from Equity's nearly 5 million accounts. As the economy grows, EB will be able to reap from these for quite a while yet as they increase the volume of transactions.

Subsidiaries/assocaites will also start contributing more robustly to the group's profits. As of Q3 2010, overall, these were acting as a drag on the Group's profitability.
#44 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 12:33:26 AM

Equity has reported good results, but at what cost? I used to work for them and i almost lost my mind. Those guys work u like a ngamia. I believe, there is such a thing as unholy profits. James Mwangi even declared that worker productivity at his firm is five times that of rival banks. But did he mention job satisfaction and health breakdown of the workers? A look at the quality of suits of the mgt team at Equity also reveals another sad picture..

COOP ABP 15.85; IMH ABP 35.55; KQ ABP 5.75; MTN ABP 5.20
#45 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 8:54:48 AM

hahahahahahaha!!!!....SUITS!!....Nusu mkeka na hata choo!!...Watu wengine bure kabisa!
#46 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 9:13:38 AM

Equity has reported good results, but at what cost? I used to work for them and i almost lost my mind. Those guys work u like a ngamia. I believe, there is such a thing as unholy profits. James Mwangi even declared that worker productivity at his firm is five times that of rival banks. But did he mention job satisfaction and health breakdown of the workers? A look at the quality of suits of the mgt team at Equity also reveals another sad picture..

Recommended reading for JM: http://www.slideshare.ne...ee-first-customer-second
bartum
#47 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 9:25:18 AM

for a shareholder like me thats ok.kwana suit ya owner of biz or the worker which should be expensive.start your own biz bro.
Govmusili
#48 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 10:20:52 AM

i plan to get in big on a bank, im split btwn equity n bbk. i had coop at 10 offloaded at 13. shuld hav hang on!!!
the deal
#49 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 10:30:28 AM

Govmusili wrote:
i plan to get in big on a bank, im split btwn equity n bbk. i had coop at 10 offloaded at 13. shuld hav hang on!!!

uhmmm if for long term yes...but why not mid tier banks i.e Nic..HFCK.Dtbk...they have room for growth...or other financial stocks like JHL..i wish u went in big early this year as we approach the 5000 mark things are becoming RISKY...
sheep
#50 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 10:36:15 AM

kama hukuingia hapa at 15-20 bob like mukiha and others,your goose is cooked...hapana ingia saa hii...too risky.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
hisah
#51 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 4:50:19 PM

http://www.businessweek....ng-investment-bank.html

And with that buy broker rating, I expect this share to pause or correct for sometime.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
PKoli
#52 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 5:29:42 PM

hisah wrote:
http://www.businessweek.com/news/2010-10-27/equity-bank-of-kenya-rated-new-buy-at-sterling-investment-bank.html

And with that buy broker rating, I expect this share to pause or correct for sometime.

Mee too thinks so.

Safcom had stellar growth in subscriber numbers and mpesa transactions but this was never reflected in the share price. While Equity announces M-KESHO business and the stock skyrockets!
#53 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 7:50:05 PM

As VVS likes to say, you are paid according to your level of productivity. If you feel that you are worth more than you are getting, then by all means, quit and get another job.
Govmusili
#54 Posted : Thursday, October 28, 2010 9:36:55 AM

the deal wrote:
Govmusili wrote:

uhmmm if for long term yes...but why not mid tier banks i.e Nic..HFCK.Dtbk...they have room for growth...or other financial stocks like JHL..i wish u went in big early this year as we approach the 5000 mark things are becoming RISKY...

i agree mostly @deal im leaning towards bbk, but the speculative part of me wants to grab some kq today!!! i may have to toss a coin!!
mwanahisa
#55 Posted : Friday, October 29, 2010 3:37:29 PM

The market moves on pretty fast. The 51% increase in PAT is already a forgotten story.

Share is now trading at Kshs 26. Beware the power of supply.

Does anyone have any idea who are the big sellers at 27? Rumours were that it was the Muguku family. Anybody to confirm this?

All the same, my price target for the counter remains above 30 (35+) by March 2011, as long as the bullish environment remains (or better yet bullish sentiment increases).

In the meantime, short-termers should step aside. It looks like there will be no quick money on this one!
#56 Posted : Friday, October 29, 2010 9:58:35 PM

mwanahisa, there was already huge selling of Equity at 27 even before Muguku died. Or was that the plan? To sell before he died? But we'll know for sure when we see the top ten list next year when they release the annual report
PKoli
#57 Posted : Saturday, October 30, 2010 1:01:37 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mwanahisa, there was already huge selling of Equity at 27 even before Muguku died. Or was that the plan? To sell before he died? But we'll know for sure when we see the top ten list next year when they release the annual report

The selling was basically for profit taking. Guys waited to with anticipation that the price will go to the roof with huge profits, but unfortunately the price seemed to have factored in the results.
mwanahisa
#58 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 8:08:49 AM

This Bank had pretty good results with its growth trajectory expected to continue into 2011. All the news flow regarding the bank (save for its recent IT glitch) has also been positive.

I was suprised to see the price come down to 25.50 yesterday and I was delighted to pick some at such a sweet price. I maintain that this counter is a good buy, but of course I am biased seeing that I have quite a bit of it in my portfolio along with its kid sister HF.
#59 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 9:06:04 AM

Demand/supply...big share holders can really frustrate a shares movement and make it to ignore fundamentals just because they have huge chunks to dispose.
ProverB
#60 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 9:17:22 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Demand/supply...big share holders can really frustrate a shares movement and make it to ignore fundamentals just because they have huge chunks to dispose.

i disagree.. unlike retail traders/small shareholders..minority..u and me..
..managers of huge chunks have a "fiduciary" duty to benefactors in investment choices..and must explain action..to stiffer bureaucrats and uninterested stubborn directors..add boardroom politics to the mix...it is mighty difficult to deviate from fundamentals

it is little traders that can go totally technical analysis and ignore fundamentals..

Institutions rarely trade..or rather trades are really spread and far apart.. individuals? well..we still cursing the T+3 waiting period in order to make next decision on the same counter!
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version