wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

To Bury or Cremate?
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 5:36:49 PM

I dont care what happens to my body after I'm gone.I can even donate it to be used for research

As jakom has rightfully pointed out, in Biblical times people were merely put in tombs which more often than not were caves in which other people would also be buried.Infact, the bible in 2Kings points to an interesting case where some dead bodies were hurriedly thrown into the same tomb as Elisha's bones and the men resurrected

They never covered them with soil like we do...

the sage
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 5:53:56 PM

@All read this.
http://www.theeastafrica...on/-/cq8u3/-/index.html
PS: Personally, I would donate my viable parts to some who needs them and may be research. The rest be cremated and the Ashes be spread, part of them where I grew up, Emirates Stadium, a few grains atop the table bar at Liddos.
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 9:23:39 PM

the sage wrote:
@All read this.
http://www.theeastafrica...on/-/cq8u3/-/index.html
PS: Personally, I would donate my viable parts to some who needs them and may be research. The rest be cremated and the Ashes be spread, part of them where I grew up, Emirates Stadium, a few grains atop the table bar at Liddos.

mozenrat
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 9:50:55 PM

You people that are worried about the worthless shell that is the human body after death have obviously never heard of the sky burials of Tibet.. see here..BUT only if you're not the sensitive kind.
http://clipmarks.com/cli...4E93-9C15-3F2101CC5FF4/

@sage hiyo yako ni nomaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#25 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 9:05:55 AM

mozenrat wrote:
You people that are worried about the worthless shell that is the human body after death have obviously never heard of the sky burials of Tibet.. see here..BUT only if you're not the sensitive kind.

@sage hiyo yako ni nomaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

DAMN!!!! cremation PAP! afadhali....
#26 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 9:31:51 AM

mozenrat wrote:

We wacha zako! Sehemu nyeti tu peke yake ikichukuliwa mnapiga kelele. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 1:55:32 PM

Wa! You guys have no idea of the amount of wood required to cremate a body.The hardest bone in the human body is the thigh bone, the femur. Do you appreciate the kind of fire heat (from wood) required to transform this bone to ash?

A year back I attended a cremation of an indian pal at the Hindu Crematorium Quarry Rd, Kariakor and was appalled by the sheer amt of huge logs used. I don't want to describe the gory details but the essentials are that they laid the body on a bed of about 5 HUGE logs (that would burn till morning)and covered it with a bed of MORE logs, wood chips (zile from kupiga rada) and MORE and MORE firewood placed all over the body - also applied some oil to facilitate the burning. The fire burns TILL MORNING and long after the deceased's head explodes.
Clearly a simple coffin would be waaaaay wood-cheaper.
Do they cremate by gas/ other means? I think so at Langata, and this would be a cheaper one than the Kariakor one.

One aspect I like about the muslim way of handling death - you are buried wrapped in a simple shuka and buried within hrs of your death. Indians too bury your carcass (for that is what is it is really) hours after your hour-glass has run out.
It is by no means disrespectful but sets the family on the healing journey much faster than keeping bodies in morgues for long (Koigi's dad's body was kept for 4 yrs, dont ask abtthe charges)and then start asking guys to changa to offset morgue storage charges. If cremation by is by non-wood fire, sawa.
The problem is where foul play is suspected/ DNA required and your body required kumbe ulishaiva....

deadpoet
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 8:29:44 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Wa! You guys have no idea of the amount of wood required to cremate a body.The hardest bone in the human body is the thigh bone, the femur. Do you appreciate the kind of fire heat (from wood) required to transform this bone to ash?

A year back I attended a cremation of an indian pal at the Hindu Crematorium Quarry Rd, Kariakor and was appalled by the sheer amt of huge logs used. I don't want to describe the gory details but the essentials are that they laid the body on a bed of about 5 HUGE logs (that would burn till morning)and covered it with a bed of MORE logs, wood chips (zile from kupiga rada) and MORE and MORE firewood placed all over the body - also applied some oil to facilitate the burning. The fire burns TILL MORNING and long after the deceased's head explodes.
Clearly a simple coffin would be waaaaay wood-cheaper.
Do they cremate by gas/ other means? I think so at Langata, and this would be a cheaper one than the Kariakor one.

One aspect I like about the muslim way of handling death - you are buried wrapped in a simple shuka and buried within hrs of your death. Indians too bury your carcass (for that is what is it is really) hours after your hour-glass has run out.
It is by no means disrespectful but sets the family on the healing journey much faster than keeping bodies in morgues for long (Koigi's dad's body was kept for 4 yrs, dont ask abtthe charges)and then start asking guys to changa to offset morgue storage charges. If cremation by is by non-wood fire, sawa.
The problem is where foul play is suspected/ DNA required and your body required kumbe ulishaiva....

What of cremation using a proper incinerator? One that uses gas?