wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

BROKEN NEWS: NEW PARKING FEES 300/=
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 6:00:22 PM

Commercial parking Silos might make sense now. Where is bwana Architect, we need you to do the maths
gathinga
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 6:07:24 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
Commercial parking Silos might make sense now. Where is bwana Architect, we need you to do the maths

this must be music to the owners of private parking yards in CBD. So how much will they now charge? 1000/-
Certificate of urgency mara that that...wapi cindano
kiriita
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 6:35:44 PM

gathinga wrote:

this must be music to the owners of private parking yards in CBD.

....as to the distinguished members of the Matatu Owners Association.
raszag
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 6:40:13 PM

kiriita wrote:
gathinga wrote:

this must be music to the owners of private parking yards in CBD.

....as to the distinguished members of the Matatu Owners Association.

True...Matatus might use this to hike fares...
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
gicharu
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 12:32:49 AM

Every cost has a threshold after which people sober up... I think we are now close to the threshold in vehicle running costs that will effectively eliminate parking problems and force us motorists to ride in matatus to and from work! i think if they make it Kshs. 700, we shall use mathrees by default.. and i think it is good.. However, we should fight for decent public transport before accepting these new charges... I have seen most guys in London, Paris etc that I have visited before use public means (Trains, Buses) as default means of travel.. But I doubt it will work well in nairobi as it is not that attractive and safe..
#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 9:19:05 AM

Hata waitishe 1k kuna watu watalipa.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 9:45:42 AM

Na bei ya clamping imepanda? Meanwhile the kajo dudes will be very happy from next Monday - the cost of cutting deals has also doubled..
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 12:30:54 PM

Sober wrote:
Hata waitishe 1k kuna watu watalipa.

True.
M told there are pips in this town who have never seen the dreaded orange light fuel-out indicator on their dashboards. Its a small light but its really amazing how it changes drivers' moods...

Seriously though, can we get a volunteer to petition the courts to stay the directive on the grounds that the new rates are unjustified/ are arbitrary with stakeholders not consulted esp. on the alternatives for those who can't afford the new rates, security of motorists' vehicles has not been assured under the old regime tariff, etc? Remember Alcoblow succeeded!

Heck, we can even borrow from Mpigs and even throw in the clincher it is against our rights (that Bill of Rights thingy) and refer the matter to Constitutional Courts where it can decay till Kisia and team serve out their term.
High parking rates, plus fuel prices...cost of driving is reaching for the stratosphere.
Am thinking nxt monday, CBD will be devoid of mob vehicles...
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 12:36:14 PM

Somebody sue these BLOODY LEECHES!!!

Atwoli, "Workers" are on the receiving end again. Talk to a couple of lawyers.

I know this good for nothing have been listening to that Nigerian song - "Everything double, double..." - but seriously!!! You double parking fee from 70/= to 140/= then in less than two years you [more than] double the fee again? Are you hi?

@All - I guess we have all tasted "ODM leadership". All I know is that before the Majiwa - Mudavadi axis of evil, I was paying 70/= for parking. They double that to 140/= and when we complained we were told by Mudavadi that if we can afford a car we can surely afford 140/=. Now they are at it again. I guess until such a time when parking costs more than a Vitz, we are supposed to shut up and put up! Anyang' Nyongo decided that even quadrupling our NSSF 'contributions' was not enough. And when we complained, he told us that if he can afford 2,500/= lunch we were being petty for complaining about 2,000/=. I hope I will never see ODM in power!!! I'm also not a fan of PNU and the other smaller parties either! I'm tired of funding inefficiencies. Something gotta give!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 27, 2010 12:58:30 PM

what we should be asking is, why has it been increased. If there's a good reason, so be it. like someone said, iko watu watalipa. its high time you re-evaluated your budgets to ensure your total expenses do not change. reduce the not-so-necessary expenses to cater for the increased parking charges, and your life will be at peace.