Market
Pennywise
No TKK = got charged! Need advice.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 10/25/2010 Posts: 5 Location: Nairobi
Guys, I really appreciate all the advice! Anyway, I was there from about 0830 up to 3pm, and am now 19k out of pocket - 5k cash bail yesterday, 10k for 'obstruction', 4k for 'failing to observe a sign'.  (I assume the 5k I paid yesterday will never be seen). With a system like this, no wonder people prefer to pay a bribe - it's a heck of a lot cheaper and less stressful. I could have pleaded not guilty and fought the case because the sign is not an official, standard road sign and I didn't obstruct anyone, but it's not worth it. A lesson for the future (God forbid!) - you can even send a messenger with your license and ticket along with a written plea and money to pay the fine. Once again, thanks for all the tips.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/22/2008 Posts: 851 Location: nairobi
welcome to the world sir. you can now understand why matatu operators would rather pay up the 50/= bribe than spend the whole day in some dingy courtroom paying some exhobitant fine. as for the cash bail, yuo can still reclaim it back from the police station concerned. just present the court fine reciepts. next time you pay a cash bail that is less than the actual court fine, scram. the police files are locked up in wooden boxes, cartoons under delapidated office desks, et al. as a matter of fact, it takes some three weeks for a warrant of arrest to be communicated to the police station. with their manpower challenges,the officer detailed to effect the warrants would rather concentrate to track down matatu, poket fat bribes where he comes accross a kill and then return a verdict of 'muteja hapatikani' to the boss. funny, huh?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
Matheen wrote:Guys, I really appreciate all the advice! Anyway, I was there from about 0830 up to 3pm, and am now 19k out of pocket - 5k cash bail yesterday, 10k for 'obstruction', 4k for 'failing to observe a sign'.  (I assume the 5k I paid yesterday will never be seen). Follow it up and get it back. The money is actually brought by the police to court and paid back to the 'criminal' after the plea is taken.  Don't let them keep it and benefit from it.[/quote] Matheen wrote:With a system like this, no wonder people prefer to pay a bribe - it's a heck of a lot cheaper and less stressful. For the sake of your soul and country don't join the side of the pragmatic. We need people like you for balance.[/quote] Matheen wrote:I could have pleaded not guilty and fought the case because the sign is not an official, standard road sign and I didn't obstruct anyone, but it's not worth it. Unfortunately you would have still lost more-so in respect of the bold part unless the traffic policeman failed to come to court for the hearing which most likely would have been the case[/quote] Pole sana and have a blessed evening. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
murenj wrote:next time you pay a cash bail that is less than the actual court fine, scram. the police files are locked up in wooden boxes, cartoons under delapidated office desks, et al. as a matter of fact, it takes some three weeks for a warrant of arrest to be communicated to the police station. with their manpower challenges,the officer detailed to effect the warrants would rather concentrate to track down matatu, poket fat bribes where he comes accross a kill and then return a verdict of 'muteja hapatikani' to the boss. funny, huh? You are probably talking from experience here but that is risky business. Do not underestimate the extent to which a cop that has been denied bribes can go just to 'show you'. Even that fury of a woman scorned may not match it. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
@Elder agreed... I've recounted this anecdote before...
Scene of the crime, outside Sarit Centre, several years ago. A policeman (not traffic by the way) stops me because our eyes met when I was talking on the phone. The two of them got in and asked me to take them to Parklands Police Station.
I just drove, no hustles no talking. When we reached the Station, I walked in so fast asking where I should pay bail the cops wondered aloud.
They mumbled to their pals, and lo and behold, I could not pay bail. In fact, since there was a car allegedly leaving the station soon for court, I could only wait in the cells - having booked in enough cash for bail, and my mobile phone before I could make a call.
It took me at least 4 hours and a good samaritan to get out, and I still had to go to court the next day.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,354 Location: Nairobi
Sigh... Matheen I did the honorable thing. Refused to bribe! Make sure you check on the appearance date + location very early in the morning. Do NOT rely on 'words' Insist you want to see the papers/dates. These guys are all crooked!!! In Western countries you are issues a clearly written ticket with the date of the appearance. In Kenya this is a scam between cops & court employees. At the minimum, like me, expect to spend the entire morning in court. The bastards are so slow in writing receipts. What they want is that you 'forget' to collect you bail cash. I paid 6,000/- in bail but my fine was 5,000/- so I refused to leave until I got my 1,000/-. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@vvs, you have to understand that in some cases, you are not bribing, it is the policeman extorting, stealing, or blackmailing. These are crimes that fall squarely on the policemans feet even if you pay. There is a difference here, the police are the sole wrongful party and we are just victims of a crime. Bribing is totally misunderstood and KACA needs to promote the correct understanding of this crime. Ras Kienyeji Man
Much Know wrote:@vvs, you have to understand that in some cases, you are not bribing, it is the policeman extorting, stealing, or blackmailing. These are crimes that fall squarely on the policemans feet even if you pay. There is a difference here, the police are the sole wrongful party and we are just victims of a crime. Bribing is totally misunderstood and KACA needs to promote the correct understanding of this crime. Kweli kabisa, I prefer instant 'fines'!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Tricky situation.@Matheen, congrats for standing for integrity. However, isn't pleading guilty for a crime you didn't commit an evil(lesser one)? What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Market
Pennywise
No TKK = got charged! Need advice.