wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

No TKK = got charged! Need advice.
raszag
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 10:45:06 AM

Instant 'fine' always works even though doing that means we the kawaida mwananchi are promoting corruption and impunity...But who would want to spend a whole day(s) in our filthy cells where the possibilities of a plane landing its gear on u is very real?
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 10:47:48 AM

sheep wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Been caught at the same place when I took my jalopy for insurance valuation by Regent Assessors at the Casino. Did the most dishonourable thing - paid my 'fine' on the spot.

Gekko wewe ndio unajua! I was also caught for obstruction and the cop boarded my contraption...before we reached the station he asked me for a 'fine' of 2k which I refused...he reduced the 'fine' to 1k but still I refused.He told me I will live to regret.

Nakwambia mtu hupelekwa underground cell hapo high court...alafu mkipelekwa kotini mnawekwa pingu...thats when you know this is some serious sh*t...there is no feeling like being handcuffed...in the court you have to wait for eons as other cases preceding yours are read..finally yours is read and unakubali mashtaka pap! 9k fine of which hauna...panic jamaa!! you have to call people from outside to sneak in the cash otherwise utalala cell and maybe ufunguliwe bootLaughing out loudly

Moral of the story,lipa instant 'fine' mara hiyo hiyo hapana jifanya makmende...even the bible allows negotiating with your accuser before reaching the court where you will pay the full fine!

@Sheep, you've made my day Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
I was busted at the same spot, kitu 1am, definitely couldn't allow him inside the gari...lets just say i was home by 2am, all sorted, no court case
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 11:20:25 AM

murenj wrote:
i slipped away not caring about the misserly cash bail i had paid.

murenj wrote:

2)you could decide not to show up in court if you have not posted any bail. a warrant will be issued, but it is only limitted to the jurisdiction of that particular police station. if you could manage to lie low for 1 week well, the cop will already be rushuffled and the new cop will not have a copy of the previous events.

Matheen don't you dare do this. Life does have a sense of humour and you may be surprised at what other matter may lead you back to the same police station or court.

Also just ask Sonko what un-executed warrants of arrest can do to your life.

I do commend your stand in refusing to bribe. We should all do that though if I were in your position I would imagine I would go the Gordon Gekko way. It is the most pragmatic as the fine for obstruction is way on the high side could be between 8k-10k. Not exactly sure how much. Then there is the fine for the traffic sign.

Just plead guilty and be done with. If you have enough money you don't need anyone else with you. And if you have a lot of money to waste then you can even send a lawyer to go and plead guilty on your behalf and pay the fine. Was once in court when a lawyer was pleading guilty for a client on a traffic offence and the magistrate decided to have some fun '...ok wakili are you sure? Because I am going to give a custodial sentence and you shall serve that.'

#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 11:30:30 AM

@Matheen; do tell us how it went.

mjuaji wa stocks
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 11:52:12 AM

Parlands Police station is the worst all over Nairobi and those guys are really corrupt……..

case in point a mr. Justus chimbevu ….. claims to have 2 wifes and 11 children who depend on him ……

hana haya … anaitisha hongo live!!
The commandand of the traffic department condones this….

he does not even bother to find out what is wrong with you hata kama umekaa hapo the whole day….

The only thing he says ni …..tokeni hapa acheni kuzuia watu.. as if wewe si mtu!!!

Wapi PLO boys???
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 12:21:29 PM

The few times i have been caught/trapped and let loose free is when i talk to the inspector at the scene, he is in charge of the corruption operation and does the estimate of collections due and a big chunk is his. The regular cops have targets to meet and are very rigid, they 'eat' the crumbs and are too hungry to listen.
Peppy
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 1:16:15 PM

I once met a friend of mine at the ATM with a traffic cop waiting for his share in the car. enyewe they have no shame. Is it legal to show him the licence from the inside of the car (stuck to the window like the insurance sticker?
I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
Djinn
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 2:18:37 PM

@Matheen - I know its rather late and hope it went well. Surprisingly obstruction is a serious offence and merits the following clause in the grey book:

"(4) Any person who leaves any vehicle on a road in such a position or manner or in such a condition as to cause or be likely to cause any danger to any person shall be guilty of an offence and liable to a fine not exceeding ten thousand shillings or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding eighteen months."

For the one time I was in court - for driving a green car that was supposed to be blue smile the magistrate imposed a Kshs 5,000 fine on a matatu driver for obstruction (vis a vis speeding and jumping lights - Kshs 2,500).

Just FYI everyone - for a list of other minor offences and their on the spot fines (Traffic Minor Offence Rules)

BTW according to the GJLOS reforms, you are not supposed to allow a cop into your car and neither allow them to search your boot - they need a search warrant...

http://www.kenyalaw.org/...alaw/klr_app/frames.php

(if that does not work - go to www.kenyalwa.org - click on "laws of Kenya" scroll to Traffic Act...then scroll to the bottom of the list of sections.

#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 2:31:19 PM

mukiha wrote:
@Matheen; do tell us how it went.

The guy must have reported as scheduled at 8.30am, and with this justice system, he may just respond leo late jioni ama kesho asubuhi...
gicharu
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 26, 2010 3:30:48 PM

The law is an ass! Some of the road intersections are not marked.. and police take advantage of this and hide so that they can extort bribes from us.

If you do not give out bribes they will take you to court and charge you with a million offences so that you can pay fines that significantly exceed the 'chai' they were asking you to give out. The judges will always listen to the prosecutor and the police and unless you have very good advocates.. you will surely be jailed or fined.. so i think unless there are other ways of protecting us.. just give the extortionists the bribes and go home in peace..!!