wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

INSURANCE COMPANY SAGA
caesar
#1 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2009 3:40:00 PM

My good friend's Matatu had an accident with another driver 2 People died.

His insurance company declared Bankrupt. A court ruled that he should pay the liability out of pocket to settle the case.

A legal collector auctioned his land,furniture to pay for the liability.

Anyone with similar experience with Insurance companies?
jerry
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2009 9:33:00 AM

That sounds normal. I had insured my mat a day b4 std A was put under receivership. I'd to 're-insure' immediately with another solvent insurer. I'm now with GateWay. If you can't pay ur debts just declare urself bankrupt!

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Layman
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2009 10:25:00 AM

Pole dude,but you can follow up the claim with the 'receiver managers' if any? Part of teir work is to settle valid claims falling within the period of cover before collapse. Kampuni gani hii? Invesco? Standard Assurance? United? Stallion? lakestar? Gani?

The future is already here!
Djinn
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2009 12:43:00 PM

Anyone know who the receiver managers are for Invesco - I had a claim against me around 2001,paid the excess and handed over to Invesco - I hear they never paid the other party for damages - will the receiver managers square with the claimant ? Or will the other party start looking for me. Anyone?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
caesar
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2009 9:00:00 PM

I will find out from him his company.

Lack of good regulations on insurance companies,enforcement of capital requirements hurt citizens and stall business development.

Is there a website for the public that rates the strength of Insurance companies and brokerages per year?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 12:07:00 PM

Caesar,the insurance cover,as am sure you are aware,merely provides the insured with an indemnity in case of an accident. The insured is still the liable party and in fact the insured would sued in her name and any amount found for is to be paid by the her. In most cases the insurance company will take over the conduct of the matter and instruct its own lawyers and when any amount is found for the plaintiff they pay.

If they refuse to pay then the plaintiff can either go after the insured or go to court for an order holding the insurance company liable for the judgement amount. Of course if the insurance company is no longer there then they the plaintiff shall go after the insured.

http://s4.gladiatus.com/game/c.php?uid=201640
Douvante
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 12:58:00 PM

My car got hit from behind sometime in 2007,we followed the right procedure,it was repaired but apparently the insurers of the car that hit me refused toi pay my insurance and now they want to sue them for the costs incurred,they have presented me with an affidavit to sign as the plaitiff.

I have been to court and i hate to go through the procedures and am thinking of not signing it to avoid all this hussle.Is it a crime or am i obliged to sign it? is it a must if i dont want to be involved with a court case? cant the insurance company declare it a bad debt and write it off?

Everything happens for a reason.
caesar
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:23:00 PM

The owner should not be liable if they had insurance. If they are why buy insurance in the same place.

An insurance company should only refuse to pay for liabilities not covered in the policy with clients.

If the insurance company fails the Re-insurance company should take the tab

You may have no idea how many businesses in Kenya have failed because of liabilities and lack of dependable insurance companies.

There are many enterprenuers in Kenya with great ideas. it is the systems we have inplace and lack of swift,visionary leadership to meet the needs of the people
iswaz
#9 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2009 1:05:00 PM

i understand that people are suffering due to unscrupulous insurance. i am an agent in insurance.if anybody needs consultancy just get in touch with me.i don't charge my services.

honesty is the best policy. trust should be the virtue