wazua Fri, Jul 18, 2025

Banks 3Q Results
mkonomtupu
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:37:34 PM

The KCB Group maintained its profitability momentum for 2010 with a 23% growth in profit before tax as at September 30, 2010.

Profit before tax increased from KShs5.3 billion over the same period in 2009 to KShs6.5 billion in 2010.

Group Chairman, Mr. Peter Muthoka, released the bank’s trading results for the third quarter of this year which showed a double-digit growth on all key business indicators.

“We are satisfied with the ongoing growth momentum of the business and are confident we shall achieve our target for the year,” said Mr. Muthoka.

Commenting on the results, KCB Group Chief Executive, Dr. Martin Oduor-Otieno, attributed the performance to good growth in the bank’s key revenue lines owing to aggressive marketing of the bank’s products and services.

“We registered good growth in net interest income at 34% (from KShs10.9 billion to KShs14.6 billion), foreign exchange income at 47% (from KShs1.5 billion to KShs2.2 billion) and fees and commissions at 18% (from KShs3.96 billion to KShs4.68 billion). The drop in other income relates to one-off write back of amounts previously written off but reversed during 2009,” said Oduor-Otieno
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:38:36 PM

cnn wrote:
On the reporting front KCB go first today.

WHAT!!!! dude youn better not be joking.... I'll be waiting at 3 Pray Pray
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:43:31 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
The KCB Group maintained its profitability momentum for 2010 with a 23% growth in profit before tax as at September 30, 2010.

Profit before tax increased from KShs5.3 billion over the same period in 2009 to KShs6.5 billion in 2010.

Group Chairman, Mr. Peter Muthoka, released the bank’s trading results for the third quarter of this year which showed a double-digit growth on all key business indicators.

“We are satisfied with the ongoing growth momentum of the business and are confident we shall achieve our target for the year,” said Mr. Muthoka.

Commenting on the results, KCB Group Chief Executive, Dr. Martin Oduor-Otieno, attributed the performance to good growth in the bank’s key revenue lines owing to aggressive marketing of the bank’s products and services.

“We registered good growth in net interest income at 34% (from KShs10.9 billion to KShs14.6 billion), foreign exchange income at 47% (from KShs1.5 billion to KShs2.2 billion) and fees and commissions at 18% (from KShs3.96 billion to KShs4.68 billion). The drop in other income relates to one-off write back of amounts previously written off but reversed during 2009,” said Oduor-Otieno

Is this for real??? Please provide the link
Surealligator
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:51:29 PM

guru267 wrote:
Bugatti wrote:
Guys when could the results of NIC and BBK be released? And at what prices could they rally upto.I have held at these counters for 2 yrs till now am tired.Any info i will appreciate

BBK will announce nothing special so the price will probably remain stable

@guru267

BBK is expected to show improved profits by financial yr end through an extra ordinary item {they are divesting in custodial business} of 3.5 billion or so. Am not sure if it will be included in the 3Q.

@Bugatti Veyron

Did you know Bugatti veyron super sport is the fastest standard production car on land? 431 Kmh. Price, 240 million kenya money.

Now, if I were you, I would not divest from BBK untill they release their financial yr report.

On the other hand, NIC is a keeps share.

I will touch Kengen only when I know where the 25 billion is at this moment and what interest it is earning. If less than 12.5, then shareholders are in trouble for the next 2yrs. Otherwise, the company must pay the 12.5% to bond holders for the next so many yrs whether the funds are utilized or not. They will tell you the money was consumed by drought or other expenses while the truth is they are using their profits to cover for the bond interest shortfall. Can you prove otherwise? no.

Centum don't touch till towards end of 2013. Among the board of directors, their is one who is not ethical especially if past behaviour is anything to go by. He has already sold a considerable chunk of his shares in the company less than a yr ago. He is known to salivate when he sees young girls. So, anything can happen. i.e., they told you that when everyone is getting into real estate, head the other way. When everyone is talking and getting into the stockmarket {you here about it even from the makanga on baba ndogo route}, you should be exiting. Centum is getting into real estate when everybody else is doing the same. NSSF is getting in, HF, S&L, and a myriad of other housing development companies including tatu city and gated community villages etc.

Mumias, get out at 12 if you can, unless they say Tarda project is starting by December. Equity, hold on and forget you ever bought the shares, your son or daughter might require the dividends for high school and university.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
PKoli
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:51:29 PM

cnn wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
cnn wrote:

Saa ngapi?

Should have been after the close,but from Rich and Mystocks i see there is already material information affecting KCB.

What that means is that the trading on the stock is suspended the moment that info is released. we wait for tomorrow
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:56:34 PM

PKoli wrote:
cnn wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
cnn wrote:

Saa ngapi?

Should have been after the close,but from Rich and Mystocks i see there is already material information affecting KCB.

What that means is that the trading on the stock is suspended the moment that info is released. we wait for tomorrow

For some reason I like the results alot!!! I cant believe they have been suspended...

Sawa tuone kesho
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 3:08:16 PM

23% is average growth (compared to the crazy results most banks look set to post.) But it's in the current quarter that KCB will get to utilise the 12.5 billion raised. guru, stock already started to go down. Kwani watu walikuwa wanangoja 40%? On another point, I hear Equity Uganda has now broken even
Bugatti
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 4:29:58 PM

@Surealligator-Thankx for the info.Lemmi wait then and see.Thats why i like this forum so much.Critically i'd rather never say die but Not to dispose at a loss.By the way i have been a keen reader in the forum even before it was changed from Stocks Kenya to Wazua.Keep up.Wacha niendelee kungoja nikiumia polepole hadi siku ile i will Break Even
Bugatti
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 4:37:44 PM

Surealligator-Also google Bugatti Vyron Vs Jetfighter and see how the Car performs.One of the fastest car on earth if am not wrong.Top gear was testing the speed of the car against the Jet fighter.!! Boss if its speed then thats speed
Wa_ithaka
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 6:12:37 PM

kcb 23% up! Buy! puy! buy!
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 6:30:55 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause KCB has the highest dividend yield in my pesa nane portfolio Applause Applause Applause capital gain not good though
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 6:52:30 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
kcb 23% up! Buy! puy! buy!

Are you related to eric nyamu?