wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

To Bury or Cremate?
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 10:22:23 AM

I think its time we embraced cremation. Most africans are so anti-cremation that you think they would feel pain when the process is happening.

It saves the environment - from trees to land. burying turning a once useful land to totally useless..

One can still be remembered depending on what the family does with the ash. They could opt (which would be the best idea) to plant a tree, put the ash in the whole and nurture it.... they will remember the person by look of that tree and in any case, the "person" will "beautify" their lives with the leaves... A stone/wooden cross? every one runs away from the grave.... Once can sit under a tree and think of their loved one without other people thinking he/she is thinking of "following" them.

Reduces on burial costs - monetary and time wise.

No family fights on where the person will be buried (if a guy didnt organise his life before departure)... the wives/families can share the ash.

Its covered in the bible so no worry that it is a 'satanic/weird' ritual.....

And many more...........................

What's your take?
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 10:34:10 AM

Bury. There is a constant reminder of the person, name,lifetime on the grave stone. Hiyo mti will be cut at some point especially with people who do not know the person.But this is quite debatable...wengine wanasemaje?

Do you have the bible reference?
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 10:48:31 AM

Bury. There is a constant reminder of the person, name,lifetime on the grave stone. Hiyo mti will be cut at some point especially with people who do not know the person.But this is quite debatable...wengine wanasemaje?

Ash to ash... just like soil to soil..... i suppose.

Si kwa hiyo mti you can write a plaque? aaai... and if people dont you know really, what business do they have remembering you? they wont value it even if it is glaring at them.... The important thing about "remembering" is the "memories" that the people will have... if they have no memories of you (may be you died in 1863... what's the use of keeping the grave there? Unless you were so instrumental to the lives of those you left behind that they pass to generations... Kama hujawacha any memories, just go with the wind... they will forget you, whether the grave is right next to their door or at a corner of the shamba somewhere... but thats my thinking....
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 10:52:48 AM

I think its time we embraced cremation. Most africans are so anti-cremation that you think they would feel pain when the process is happening.

It saves the environment - from trees to land. burying turning a once useful land to totally useless..

One can still be remembered depending on what the family does with the ash. They could opt (which would be the best idea) to plant a tree, put the ash in the whole and nurture it.... they will remember the person by look of that tree and in any case, the "person" will "beautify" their lives with the leaves... A stone/wooden cross? every one runs away from the grave.... Once can sit under a tree and think of their loved one without other people thinking he/she is thinking of "following" them.

Reduces on burial costs - monetary and time wise.

No family fights on where the person will be buried (if a guy didnt organise his life before departure)... the wives/families can share the ash.

Its covered in the bible so no worry that it is a 'satanic/weird' ritual.....

And many more...........................

What's your take?

Enyewe, a tombstone is quite a turn off. Not that graves should be unmarked. A low lying slab of concrete (that unless tended to will be overgrown with grass) will do, not some constructed thing as if its a literal high table of concrete!

Why not plant a tree at the grave? Most likely its only your siblings or children who will care about you when you are gone.
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 10:57:25 AM

I think there's nothing wrong with cremation.I heard that some communities would throw their dead to the wild to be feasted by hyenas.The body is just a house for our spirit.As someone said we are spiritual beings in a human body.Thus when you die its the house that dies not you.Wewe unaendelea kuishi.But @Wendz,where in the bible do we find cremation?
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:05:53 AM

Ash to ash... just like soil to soil..... i suppose.

Si kwa hiyo mti you can write a plaque? aaai... and if people dont you know really, what business do they have remembering you? they wont value it even if it is glaring at them.... The important thing about "remembering" is the "memories" that the people will have... if they have no memories of you (may be you died in 1863... what's the use of keeping the grave there? Unless you were so instrumental to the lives of those you left behind that they pass to generations... Kama hujawacha any memories, just go with the wind... they will forget you, whether the grave is right next to their door or at a corner of the shamba somewhere... but thats my thinking....

A 6x6 ft plot is is very little to ask when I am dead.
There is nothing in the bible that says Ashes to Ashes.only dust to dust .

But actually the bible says at Genesis3:19b " for dust thou art, and unto dust shalt thou return."(KJ) no mention of ashes. Further, other bible text mention ground, earth, and dust that man returns to at death.
sheep
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:18:46 AM

cremation is very noble...your ashes can be stored in a glass jar for remembrance or scattered around your farm,sea,river etc....very cost effective..no coffin transport costs and crocodile tears of friends and relatives.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:23:39 AM

@kadonye

If the bible doesnt say that, then my priest and many others make it up when saying those funeral prayers.... They say it all the time.

@sheep.... there we have it! and with the mordern day cremation.... it is just the clean way to go... well, may be by the time we are gone this technology wont be here... but..... i think its the best send off.

By the way, did you know the skin takes over 10 years to decompose completely, bones take hundreds of years and the hair not at all? You dont want to scare children some 100 years from now when they accidentally pull up your skull from the farm.....
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:34:35 AM

Watch this video... nothing gross or scary.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-ynU6aTzac
My 2 cents
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 12:14:44 PM

Cremate and save your loved one the hassle of travel, harambees etc. Do the environment a favour, cremation need no trees to be cut for the coffin, does not need land space. I look at all the land under Langata cemetry and think, what a waste? It should be turned into a recreational park.
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 1:24:08 PM

creamate PAP !! Lakini it will be a setback to some communities which view funerals as some kind of feasting ceremony - a grand way to send the dead to the next world....some guys in shags who capitalise on funerals will suddenly lose clout..
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 1:37:07 PM

I was listening to Njoya yesterday (on tv) and he made a lot of sense about why we should cremate in Kenya. His question was where are we going to bury 40m Kenyans if we don't cremate? This country will be full of graves and can you imagine the amount of good timber that will be wasted in coffins?

This coffin maneno doesn't make sense they should be reused since they are only for show and will only exist in photos and videos like wedding dresses.

#13 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:34:43 PM

I was listening to Njoya yesterday (on tv) and he made a lot of sense about why we should cremate in Kenya. His question was where are we going to bury 40m Kenyans if we don't cremate? This country will be full of graves and can you imagine the amount of good timber that will be wasted in coffins?

This coffin maneno doesn't make sense they should be reused since they are only for show and will only exist in photos and videos like wedding dresses.

I didnt even know this was on tv yesterday.... Just thought what a waste of such a prime piece when i passed the cemetery near the Bunyala road roundabout... and i wonder who came up with the idea - thought long time ago... By the way, who are they? is it a special cemetery or it was for everyone? seems pretty well tended though.
mjuaji wa stocks
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:35:46 PM

@kadonye

If the bible doesnt say that, then my priest and many others make it up when saying those funeral prayers.... They say it all the time.

@sheep.... there we have it! and with the mordern day cremation.... it is just the clean way to go... well, may be by the time we are gone this technology wont be here... but..... i think its the best send off.

By the way, did you know the skin takes over 10 years to decompose completely, bones take hundreds of years and the hair not at all? You dont want to scare children some 100 years from now when they accidentally pull up your skull from the farm.....

You need to know your God......through the bible more than what thr priest just says or tells you!!

Have a personal relationship with Him

The bible is your manual......read and understand.....God himself will help you do so.

We go to church because we are commanded.....in Hebrews not to forsake the gathering together of the saints.

I will not support cremation....coz death and the grave are referred to severally......

Probably where you are sitted now is a grave.....but ya zama za kale!!

I find more of a ritual ..... than a burial!!!

Hiyo harufu mtaifanyia????

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#15 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:47:32 PM

I didnt even know this was on tv yesterday.... Just thought what a waste of such a prime piece when i passed the cemetery near the Bunyala road roundabout... and i wonder who came up with the idea - thought long time ago... By the way, who are they? is it a special cemetery or it was for everyone? seems pretty well tended though.

Hayo ni makaburi ya wanajeshi wazungu.
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:53:29 PM

mwenza wrote:

Hayo ni makaburi ya wanajeshi wazungu.

Sasa ona.... and we cant dig them up and put up a sky scrapper? kwanza hao wanajeshi ni wale wale walikuwa wananyanyasa watu wakati wa ukoloni...
slammers
#17 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 4:15:10 PM

kaburi zibaki
Ja-Kom
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 4:47:26 PM

The Bible doesn't give instructions on how a body should be handled after death. In the cultures of Bible times, burial in a tomb, cave, or in the ground was the common way to dispose of a human body.
Today, obeying the laws of the land regarding corpses is always a significant consideration.Then there is the question of burial vs. cremation. Neither is commanded in the Bible, but neither is prohibited. In the end, it is best to leave that decision to the family of the deceased.

Whatever method is used to dispose of a body is not nearly as important as the truth that the body is no longer housing the person who has died. Paul describes our bodies as “tents” that are temporary abodes. “Now we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands” (2 Corinthians 5:1). When Jesus returns, Christians will be raised to life and our bodies will be transformed to glorified, eternal bodies. “So will it be with the resurrection of the dead. The body that is sown is perishable, it is raised imperishable; it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory; it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power” (1 Corinthians 15:42-43).
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
bepari
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 5:15:34 PM

cremation all the way. the bible says we'll be judged for what we did while alive,and maybe we need to differentiate between the jewish culture and the gospel. the jews buried their dead on the same day(which i think is great) but we dont and we are christians. Thats the easy part,the hard part is convincing my kinsmen who have a certain attachment to the grave and tombstones.
Did anyone catch 'DEAD IN DISTRESS' on NTV.
if you aint livin on the edge,you are taking too much space....
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 5:27:33 PM

With all this hype, start a well known cremation center and charge...