wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

The missing link? Please help...
#1 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 12:22:30 PM

Anyone in the know please... i need some advice

My old man jointly bought a piece of land with an old pal of his, mzee Maina. They received a consent letter but before they got the transfer letters and title deed, the seller went missing. For many years, they tried to trace him with no success. However, the split up the piece but ours is not in use!

Recently, I visited mzee Maina and noted his is playing on extra time, sorry to say! Now, I fear his many sons from two wives could start playing dirty games with me as soon as the mzee is out of the picture.

The consent letter is in custody of mzee maina though I have a copy of the same.

For caution, what can I do?
#2 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 12:27:07 PM

Your next stop should have been at an attorney's office right now!.... May be get to sign all the documents necessary to make sure you are sorted before...eeerr...

May be put up a kasmall house and even "give" someone to stay there and start small time utilisation of the land.... hata kama ni planting trees and all that... might put idle minds off wandering if you have use of it....
#3 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 12:30:27 PM

You have been a member since:: 8/24/2009
Your next stop should have been at an attorney's office right now!.... May be get to sign all the documents necessary to make sure you are sorted before...eeerr...

May be put up a kasmall house and even "give" someone to stay there and start small time utilisation of the land.... hata kama ni planting trees and all that... might put idle minds off wandering if you have use of it....

If the guy has already moved a few feet in what is "yours",it gets complicated! I have an issue with someone on such a matter...and trying to get government to sort it has not been fruitful 2 sermons down the line.

Sort this issue out now!
#4 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 12:45:28 PM

If the guy has already moved a few feet in what is "yours",it gets complicated! I have an issue with someone on such a matter...and trying to get government to sort it has not been fruitful 2 sermons down the line.

Sort this issue out now!

Kudos guys...

@Wendz, next stop was at the chief office (and they want to send them home!) and he advised we sign an agreement letter with mzee maina in his presence. I thought this might disturb the calm waters and thus am exploring more options... in the meantime I have allowed someone to do some small time farming.

@nostoppingthis, at least the shamba is fenced.
#5 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 12:54:43 PM

Be careful that you dont give adverse possession to them.If for 12 years you dont remind them that it's yours,it might become theirs