wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Deleting went, now editing gone
#1 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 4:50:47 PM

@Wazua,

Why arent we allowed to edit our posts that we have earlier posted? Initially, someone would be able to delete. Then that was removed. Then we would edit..... that now is no longer there..... ama its only on my comp?
#2 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 4:54:46 PM

Sometimes wazua seem to have dictatorial tendencies.....at the very least they should be informing members on the intended changes!!!!
#3 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 5:05:56 PM

?????....hii ni nini sasa?
wazua
#4 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 5:10:32 PM

Dear @Wendz,

Delete feature proved problematic when members complained, in at least 3 circumstances, that the original post in a thread was deleted or all the posts made by a user when challenged.

Edit feature is available. However the system generally allows editing posts made within the last couple of hours or so.

@McReggae, we were seriously dissuaded of dictatorial tendencies in the aftermath of Nov 30 2009, if you recall smile

Enjoy your Friday.
The Wazua tribe

Pierce
#5 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 5:13:33 PM

Kwani one could delete other peoples' postings??

I thought we were asking to be allowed to delete what oneself has posted!
#6 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 5:18:21 PM

wazua wrote:
Dear @Wendz,

Delete feature proved problematic when members complained, in at least 3 circumstances, that the original post in a thread was deleted or all the posts made by a user when challenged.

Edit feature is available. However the system generally allows editing posts made within the last couple of hours or so.

@McReggae, we were seriously dissuaded of dictatorial tendencies in the aftermath of Nov 30 2009, if you recall smile

Enjoy your Friday.
The Wazua tribe

And who configures the system? Cant it be configured that someone can change/amend something after a day/a week/a month...?
#7 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 5:44:10 PM

wazua wrote:
Dear @Wendz,
...........Edit feature is available. However the system generally allows editing posts made within the last couple of hours or so......
The Wazua tribe

I think it would be good to allow us to only edit or delete a post that has not been responded to by other members.
mwanahisa
#8 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 6:23:10 PM

I think Mukiha has a fair point. It makes sense to allow one to DELETE a post ONLY before others have commented on it. That way subsequent comments (commenting on post no longer in existence) do not look misplaced.

On the other hand, the window for editing should be extended perhaps to a day or two. This will allow a little time for buyer's remorse.

I think we all need to get the underlying message. Post only that which you can live with!
mozenrat
#9 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:50:04 PM

It makes sense to prevent peeps from deleting posts that have already been responded to... I remember accidentally deleting something I'd posted... Even today that thread reads weirdly..
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 16, 2010 10:46:26 AM

@All - I agree with the fact that the deleting and editing needs to be controlled. I once responded to a fellow who subsequently deleted his post - actually 'edited' - by deleting the content and replacing with a smiley. Good thing I had 'quoted' his earlier post. My post would have looked extremely weird with his missing and some wazuans would have wondered what I have been smoking. I have also responded to a fellow who subsequently edits his post and takes a totally opposite stand from the one he had taken earlier. A person reading his modified post and my original response totally gets confused!

Having said that, I also agree with the wazuans who are of the opinion that any member should be allowed to edit or delete his/her post subject to the fulfillment of certain conditions. @Wazua, kindly explore this and come up with a hybrid system. The technology is definitely there. Over to you.

#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 19, 2010 10:42:46 AM

@wazua, allow editing for only the first 2 seconds, whoever post in an hurry or post some juicy stuff then want to change his/her mind belongs to kenyanlist.com and not wazua.
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

wasee
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 19, 2010 11:37:08 AM

Wazua should allow editing or deleting post that have not been commented or quoted. i think that is an important feature.