wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

Why do people sing gospel songs when drunk?
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 2:45:56 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Phombe ni kitu ya ajabu. He couldn't even pronounce the name of the liquor we had kunywad.. He would say Gibleys...Pray

There was a buddy of mine in old days when Chaka Chaka's "Thank you mister DJ for playing my song..." was a hit....and when "bombed",he would belt it out loudly thus:

"Thank you Mr. Gideon for killing my son...."
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 2:57:16 PM

stupid guts was what i used to get from alcohol, like one morning, our guzzler run out of fuel and we could not figure out what was, we were on our way to citrus from town and we had to pass-by koinange just like any other lonely married guys, the car stopped, my cuzo thought we have arrived and he convinced me so, we were facing central police,saw a group of pple outside and thought ndani kumejaa,NO drinks from outside, so it was only wise to finish what we had. somehow the car alarm misbehaved, we shouted and danced to our favorite gospel tunes backed by one man guitor aka the car alarm. then we got arrested..thats the part i want to add to my selective memory.
doubtfire
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 5:01:08 PM

pole brother mrefu

those are the effects of changaaSad
doubtfire
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 5:05:20 PM

i believe people feel that when drunk,they have wronged God and thus try to repent by Singing gospel.and when people are drunk the chugs style,the mind works until the door of their house thats why they sleep on the door.no wonder some can't even identify their children by names.
ikkebra
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 5:23:30 PM

Damn memories!!!! now i have a craving for phombesmile
misdemeanour
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 5:59:30 PM

i think these are just songs in people's subconscious that they normally can not and will not sing out loud in their sobriety, once the sobriety is interfered with wanafunguka mbaya...
Am paid in Kshs.
bepari
#27 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 1:19:27 AM

My drinking buddy says 'kuna mungu wa walevi na watoto';ever woken up and wondered how you got home? the praises are in order,atleast for us the partakers. my favourite am told is 'e muoyo Jesu e muoyo'.
if you aint livin on the edge,you are taking too much space....
#28 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:24:53 AM

Why is it that a drunk can walk from town to Kayole at 2 AM without being knocked down by a car or mugged. Even dogs hazina vita na wewe.....
Cardinal
#29 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:29:08 AM

Why is it that a drunk can walk from town to Kayole at 2 AM without being knocked down by a car or mugged. Even dogs hazina vita na wewe.....

Quite interesting..

I think people sing when drunk to reconcile with God.They have a gut feeling , that all is not well and therefore sing.
kichwangumu
#30 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 10:00:02 AM

This is a very interesting topic to read on a friday morning.