wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

Motor Bike
Djinn
#11 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 5:59:00 AM

@Sigigiri and Poggie - any word on 250 off roads for sale? I may want to consider this insanity since I can't seem to resume cycling and need a similar thrill smile And I am used to the road rash anyway (though falling from a racing bike and a motorbike are not quite the same thing)

BTW an idea - content will be king in 2009-2010 - why don't the two of you join forces and set up a portal/website about mo-bikes - you can get advert revenue from bike distributors,spare dealers,motorsport associations,google,buyers/sellers classifieds,etc - all you need to is generate the basic content - articles,safety tips,etc etc. I know in Uganda people are totally nuts abt bikes... Just an idea - everyone is about to get connected.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
kiuki
#12 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 6:35:00 AM

a freind has put up for sale his 2008 black suzuki 900cc,its a serious cruiser.. done hardly 4000km,going for 1m negotiable.

penye wazee hapaharibiki neno
#13 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 10:52:00 AM

@singiriri your knowledge of bikes is impressive. I should buy you two of whatever you take. It seems that you can talk for hours about bikes.

@poggie,You too seem alot interested in these rides. I like the way you make it look like some stitches in your skull were kitu kidogo. You must be obsessed with mobikes.

This is my consolation theory that it is not that Mobikes are dangerous but that the riders cause harm to themselves invevitably due to speeding maybe due to the young age! I'm I right ?
#14 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 11:05:00 AM

@bwenyenye

Go for the bike! and i envy you. I love bikes and i had that weird 'craving' to own one some years back... but usual disagreements on how much 'madness' to expose the kid to got my plans shelved....

Am now looking for a quad bike. anyone who knows where i can get - and not the ones in nakumatt (too chinese). I dont mind a secondhand yamaha,honda,apache - anyone with info where someone can get this and price ranges?

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

#15 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 11:26:00 AM

@wendz thanks for the cheer!

I have had his dream for a while. It had lapsed until once when watching Natgeo I saw these guys travelling from Southafrica to Egypt by road on two mobikes and some 4X4s... Since then,the desire to do this is overwhelming. and guess what,I will do it maybe for the World cup. Anyone out there willing?

@singiriri,when you talk about a trail bike,is that the one that looks like a horse( a bigger version of those 125cc of KPLC)? Is that the best for 'hitting the road' or is it ' chasing the sunset'
Sigiriri
#16 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 12:29:00 PM

Trail is the one you are calling bigger version of the 125cc KPLC version. Those are best for off-the-road riding. Can do you loads of good on tarmac too,but are designed for 'beating a trail' if you watched the Natgeo thing,you know what am talking about.

If u wanna throw a round or two,am strictly alvaro coz bikes and alcohol,you got to be really careful trying to mix those.

I have had a couple of scrapes,but nothing that stopped me riding on to wherever! Right now,I really need a proper helmet,but getting the XT drained me fully,so riding with a chinese one until further notice. @Poggie,any hints on good helmets at fair prices? What about a yamaha Jacket - leather?

On bikes and cars,I can go on and on. Bikes r a favorite topic of mine anyway.

@Wendz,say what would your budget be,I bot my bike from London and shipped in myself,maybe ukifikisha pesa,I can hook you up! Yamaha have built a quad with the same efi 660cc engine as the Yamaha XT660 bike! It's called Raptor,check it up..

Baraka za Mungu ni za Ajabu
KenSaf
#17 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 12:48:00 PM

@Wendz..check your inbox

'There are plenty more fish in the sea,I just don't have a very effective net'
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
JkMwatha
#18 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 2:53:00 PM

@Wendz- are you looking for road legal quad bikes? ..... ama you'll be riding in your shaake.... those sides of Ndeiya?

http://www.apachequads.com/offers-clearance.php
http://www.autotrader.co...g/quad-centre-bikes.jsp
http://www.quadbikesales...s-home/road-legal-quads

Djagame
#19 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 3:42:00 PM

@all SK Bikers club ndio hii

@Sigigiri for your biker gear try these guys

http://www.bikes-kaishak...de%20-%20Catalogue.html

The gear is in the link below but same guys as above

http://bikez4kenya-koe.blogspot.com/

'If you are not living on the edge,you are taking up too much space'
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 08, 2009 5:18:00 AM

@Kensaf
By the way,will go to see the one you forwarded with a colleague

@sigiriri
give me specs i make an offer - did you buy yours new or second hand?... By the way,do you pay for duty on them when importing? whats the percentage duty - roughly? Do i need registration if i want to have for off-road?

@JKmwatha
ni ya ndeiya kurora ngombe cia mathaai initially and most importantly for kijana. But will need to get a road legal later for myself after i see how things go. Possible to get a second hand well maintained one - what is the range? Seen the ones in the website and they look great!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.