wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Leather seats
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 8:52:47 PM

@Wendz - What are your feelings on buying auctioned items? Personally I wouldn't buy auctioned goods coz I'd feel like I am benefiting from the misfortunes of a fellow Kenyan. If you are okay with auctioned items, you can visit Ngara area - there are several outlets dealing in auctioned goods - and see what they have. I understand you can even make an order. Just talk to a couple of them, tell them exactly what you need, leave them your number and when they get the item they give you a buzz.

An alternative route is to buy from expatriates leaving the country. Most of them either give away their house hold goods or sell them for a song. All you have to do is to visit a number of malls - Sarit, Westgate/Ukay, Village Market, Yaya etc. and you'll see some 'Expatriate Leaving' ads. You'll have to put in some woman hours but there is less guilt involved than the auctioned goods route.

In both case the seats are obviously not new but for new ones you'll definitely cough up in excess of 200k. Don't forget the quality of leather differs. For best quality we are talking the neighbourhood of 300k. Kazi kwako.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 10:35:21 PM

@ Wendz, upo ama umelala?

1. i agree with @MaichBlack, for good leather seats you need at least 300k.

2. Forget about Nakumatt - what they sell is fake/synthetic. Ask me, i have been a victim.

3. If you get a good fundi, then my advice is that you buy genuine leather and let him do the rest. Good night

mjuaji wa stocks
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:21:43 AM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
1. Seems all your babies are grown up...otherwise ngoja wapate wembe.....hiyo ingine ni story smile smile smile smile smile

By the way, what is it with kids and leather seats? If you have kawaida [non-leather] seats, chances are that they will never be cut up. Leathers seats on the other hand is a totally different story. It's like the scream to the tois "cut me up! cut me up! woiyee!!'. Leather seats and tois just don't mix. Anyone who can explain this phenomenon?

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
2. When thinking of leather seats; it is easier to make them frm a carpenter though utangoja kiasi....uzuri ni kwamba you can choose thy own design....i see some people goodle the best designs....take to fundi na kumwambia nataka hii design.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly then the fundi quotes the price inclusive of all leather material.....you agree....pay deposit then tell you when to
pick......To me this a cheaper and better option coz you are guaranteed kile kimewekwa ndani

Weeee mjuaji!!! Don't mislead our sister.

@wendz - Avoid carpenters like the plague. It is the shortest route to Mathare or Kamiti!!! I'm telling you the kind of seats you will get - after paying the deposit and topping it up a number of times... You will either go nuts or kill the dude! Most probably both. Get ready made seats, if you like them, pay and go your way. That's free advice.

Depends on which carpenter you go to.

If you go to a village carpenter ....basi utakipata smile smile smile

Ama kwani hizo za nakumatt simeundwa na machine? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I bet a carpenter / carpentry workshop has been contracted somewhere
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#24 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:33:54 AM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
Depends on which carpenter you go to.

If you go to a village carpenter ....basi utakipata smile smile smile

I bet you have never heard "Fundi mzuri tu ni Kinyozi". For a barber, he shaves you, you pay and go your way. I guess the same applies to hair stylists/saloonists.

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
Ama kwani hizo za nakumatt simeundwa na machine? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I bet a carpenter / carpentry workshop has been contracted somewhere

There is even no comparison here. This is a business-to-business deal. For one, most businesses pay the supplier or manufacturer after delivery. This forces the supplier/manufacture to behave. Secondly, in B2B deals, agreements have to be signed with very specific [and punitive] penalties for anyone who does not follow the agreement to the letter. And in any case, Nakumatt doesn't buy their furniture from individual carpenters. They buy from companies [which employ carpenters].

I suggest you try supplying anything to any major supermarket and then report back here.
muendoz
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:35:45 AM

Mkimwa wrote:
Those seats that cost 250K at Nakumatt cost 30K in Guanzhou, or Kuala Lampur. I know somebody who furnished their house completely for 250K from China - seats, beds, dining table, e.t.c, and good stuff for that matter.

Get like minded people, who want to get leather seats, pay for a container, get someone who goes to China often, and there, you will get your seats @ 70K.

I am also interested in getting new sofas. How many are we so far?
I reward myself with beer!
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:49:04 AM

Elder wrote:

@wendz - Avoid carpenters like the plague. It is the shortest route to Mathare or Kamiti!!! I'm telling the kind of seats you will get - after paying the deposit and topping it up a number of times... You will either go nuts or kill the dude! Most probably both. Get ready made seats, if you like them, pay and go your way. That's free advice.

Totally agree with this. If you were to ever buy from a carpenter you should buy ready made seats which means that you buy exactly what you see.

I learnt it the hard way years back when I thought I was wise in going with my designs to a carpenter to whom I was referred to by a friend of mine. He finished them on time alright but when I went to collect them I could not just see my seats.

Only to discover that the reason I could not see them was because my seats were the seats relaxing on his workshop floor staring back at me defiantly. And to imagine I had laughed when I arrived at the workshop wondering what people would ever order or buy such type of seats. They were the ugliest seats I had ever seen in my life and I had seen quite a number then.

Trust me, that makes two victims.... i did the same blunder way back when i was buying my first seat..... Went to this fundi, chose the material, put the deposit and agreed when i will collect... Knowing fundis, i went two days earlier to just make sure that things are going just fine... he was almost finishing up and i was pretty impressed! And of course, happily paid up the deposit so that when i come, its taking and schuuuuup! gone! no hassles...

When the day to collect came, the dude was not there, the seats were not there..... i enquired, i was told oooh, oooh! oooh, oooh! I told the workers to tell him to go collect the seat and i would be coming back right the next day to pick my seats.. The next day, i kept my promised and showed up. Was the guy there? you guessed right. Where the seats there? no trophy for that one either! do i have a hired car for the second day? mmmmmh! And true, was headed to both mathare and ....eeeh... almost kamiti! i threw one hell of a tantrum.... and I took the next ready sofa - the colors, design, the finish ooooiii mwathani.... you'd have thought it was made for a Halloween witch!

@mjuaji wa stock....

Maichblack has a point.... Hii mambo ya fundi........ needs the strong in heart, body and spirit.....

@vinii

Yeah, yesterday i passed Nakumatt and true the "leather" seat that i found there was going for 250k.... There was one for 160 or 180k there that wasnt soo bad but didnt look like real leather though... I was almost thinking may be i have lost my sense of cognizance of the leather quality... How did yours fair?
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:06:23 AM

@vinii

Yeah, yesterday i passed Nakumatt and true the "leather" seat that i found there was going for 250k.... There was one for 160 or 180k there that wasnt soo bad but didnt look like real leather though... I was almost thinking may be i have lost my sense of cognizance of the leather quality... How did yours fair?

I spent 250K and have only been with the seats for about 3 years - they look terrible and can't wait to dispose them!ABK..I feel i was conned...the stuff looked great when new - can be quite deceiving..my advice - never, never, never buy furniture from Nakumatt or any supermarket for that matter....
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:12:29 AM

@vinii

Pole.... i feel you... thats not an amount you want to spend for something that will last that short a time. i tend to agree with you... the quality of these supermarket items are very useless... i mentioned to my colleague about the search of some furniture and the first thing he said, do no go anywhere near nakumatt.... apparently, he bought a dining table with 6 seats.... the son moves 1, 2, and by the third whirl in the dining room, a chair's "leg" is broken..... I mean, what quality is that... he was telling me that they no longer use the dining table coz only two seats are intact.... and thats less than three years too.... The fall kidogo like this and a leg is gone!!

@all
I think in this country we are just ripped off... the guys who supply us with things supply substandard items and ridiculously high prices... Not worth it! For 250k, one should be able to get top notch kind of furniture..... lakini wapi?
dasany
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:21:22 AM

Please avoid the nakumatt "leather seats"......
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:32:53 AM

@Wendz

You can also check out Furnitureland, their leather seats appear to be superior...but then you have to triple your budget..
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:48:27 AM

Try Furniturepalace on Mombasa road. They even have a website. Italian design made in Italy or USA. Can cost upto 550k.

Are you putting it up for your sitting room? Leather can be cold
Sasha
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 11:30:06 AM

@Wendz: I suggest you explore Mkimwa's advice. Furnished my house with a total of 65K. White leather plus, matching poofs and coffee table! That was back in 2006!

I was approached by some like minded people, we identified our choices and sent a frequenter there to handle the logistics. 2 months and we had our furniture.
Pablo
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 11:53:24 AM

Met this guy at the Homes expo. Had a stand there and all he does is logistics from china. Note that china has good stuff and useless crap our traders bring the useless crap.

For 250k you can fly there buy good seats, ship them and fly back.

I intend to use this guy to bring me kitchen and bathroom stuff for my house and from my initial communication with him he seems to know what he is doing.

They are China Solutions Intl with offices in NBI, Guangzhou & Yiwu. Their pilot line is 0733 123895.
Pablo
#34 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 11:55:26 AM

#35 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 11:57:07 AM

Sasha wrote:
@Wendz: I suggest you explore Mkimwa's advice. Furnished my house with a total of 65K. White leather plus, matching poofs and coffee table! That was back in 2006!

I was approached by some like minded people, we identified our choices and sent a frequenter there to handle the logistics. 2 months and we had our furniture.

Thanks gal. do you know which firm she bought from? How is your leather so far? What's the total taxes payable - in percentage form?

@Pablo
Thanks bro. will give them a shout. You could also inbox me the companies you would be sourcing from i see if they deal with seat. Do they do the clearing and freight to NBO? Dont want hassles with KRA and Agents... they can send you to M & K..(mathare & Kamiti)
Pablo
#36 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 12:31:54 PM

I am sure they can reccomend the seat suppliers if you give specs of the seats you want i.e genuine leather, white etc.

Taxes? Last I heard Eldoret airport used to charge at USD 2 per KG of WHATEVER it is.
Sasha
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 12:43:48 PM

@Wendz: Ditto Pablo! You can organise with the wariahs in Eastleigh and they will charge you something close to what Pablo has said.

If you choose to ship them, 25% duty, 16% VAT plus port and shipping charges. This is as far as I know!
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:27:30 PM

Sasha wrote:
@Wendz: Ditto Pablo! You can organise with the wariahs in Eastleigh and they will charge you something close to what Pablo has said.

If you choose to ship them, 25% duty, 16% VAT plus port and shipping charges. This is as far as I know!

Great! Wazua is very resourceful, i tell you!

Ok.... contacts za wariah nani ako nazo? Where can i get them?
#39 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 2:00:21 PM

There are a number of wariah companies that deal with this kind of stuff located at the old KBS parking bay/station in Eastleigh. You can pay them a visit or I can get you a number from a receipt I have lying somewhere in the house. Very efficient fellows - they handle everything - you just go to collect your stuff in Eastleigh.
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 2:05:05 PM

There are a number of wariah companies that deal with this kind of stuff located at the old KBS parking bay/station in Eastleigh. You can pay them a visit or I can get you a number from a receipt I have lying somewhere in the house. Very efficient fellows - they handle everything - you just go to collect your stuff in Eastleigh.

Ok. Thanks alot. You could give me the number even tomorrow then i could give them a call before showing up there.....