wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Leather seats
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:05:18 PM

Need help

1. Where can i get leather seats at reasonable prices (and how much is it for a set?).... I think Nakumatt they go for 200k when they have one of those big sales!!!

2. Where can i get stuff to maintain leather?

3. By the way, what do you good kenyans do with your old seats when you need to change? Donate? Sell off? especially when still in good shape.

4. has anyone heard to these "leather" seats from nigeria? hahaha Well, i know we can get "anything" from Nija but, anyone heard? when i heard of it, which was 2 years back, it was the air hostesses and "hosters" who were in this business....
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:39:11 PM

Good people, help a needy sista here...
kizee1
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:44:26 PM

chek out odds and ends...and i think fair deal furniture
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:50:16 PM

Saidieni mama, I have no clue on leather seats, though I have really thought of these for the bijuti...How expe?
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:55:00 PM

Saidieni mama, I have no clue on leather seats, though I have really thought of these for the bijuti...How expe?

Ebu waambie wanisaidie..... want for the house. not for the car. And if you have some info for the car, you can also tell us.... anything leather but for me most important is seats za nyumbani.... can an average kenyan afford these seats?

@kizee
Those guys will rip my pockets open... just like Nakumatt
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 2:06:49 PM

Need help

1. Where can i get leather seats at reasonable prices (and how much is it for a set?).... I think Nakumatt they go for 200k when they have one of those big sales!!!

3. By the way, what do you good kenyans do with your old seats when you need to change? Donate? Sell off? especially when still in good shape.

4. has anyone heard to these "leather" seats from nigeria? hahaha Well, i know we can get "anything" from Nija but, anyone heard? when i heard of it, which was 2 years back, it was the air hostesses and "hosters" who were in this business....

1. Expats leaving Kenya, guys upgrading or refurnishing.

2. Nakumatt

3. Send them back home otherwise just donate. The pleasure you get from giving them to someone who needs them is much more than any money you can make reselling them.

4. Nigerian leather seats? Do they come covered in black ink/paint and with a special chemical that you need to buy in order to make them legal-tender seats?
kizee1
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 2:20:51 PM

wendz

i wudnt be shopping for furniture around now if i were u..ngojea sales usually around juneish hivi, i bot leathers seats at odds for 150k
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:21:37 PM

kizee1 wrote:
wendz

i wudnt be shopping for furniture around now if i were u..ngojea sales usually around juneish hivi, i bot leathers seats at odds for 150k

@Kizee.... Thanks... but you mean i have to wait till June?

@elder
LOL..... nataka mpya but without being ripped off.... sio ma 200k.... Naweza kupata pahali na 100k or so? kwani where do these nairobian middle class buy their leather seats?
kizee1
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:24:01 PM

wendz..we r naring xmas time everytg is overpriced! alternatively u cud ask a pal in dubz to huk u up and send thru a container
My 2 cents
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:38:29 PM

What color are you looking for?
mjuaji wa stocks
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:48:25 PM

Need help

Sorry wendz....

1. Seems all your babies are grown up...otherwise ngoja wapate wembe.....hiyo ingine ni story smile smile smile smile smile

2. When thinking of leather seats; it is easier to make them frm a carpenter though utangoja kiasi....uzuri ni kwamba you can choose thy own design....i see some people goodle the best designs....take to fundi na kumwambia nataka hii design.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly then the fundi quotes the price inclusive of all leather material.....you agree....pay deposit then tell you when to pick......To me this a cheaper and better option coz you are guaranteed kile kimewekwa ndani!

3. On old seats.....kwani wendz hujasikia ....trade-in smile smile smile ....hata za seats kuna trade-in.......therefore you can decide to trade in.....

4. There is a fundi who does a good job and can recommend you see him and see his job....ukipenda sawa.....

I hope hii itakusaidia......he also at times accept trade-ins.
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:52:20 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
What color are you looking for?

i will err on whitePray smile
sihingwa
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 4:01:11 PM

Need help

1. There are local carpenters who make these seats. Befriend the sales person at the sales outlet and at a 'small fee', they will point at the source of their furniture you could save more than half. I have done this before

3. Old seats can be sold to used furniture dealers (at almost throw away price) Better hand them down to a friend or rela who is starting house

4. Have seen a lot of leather seats sold open air across Nigeria...just like our 'Jua kali' carpenters. I wonder if you would want to go that route!!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 4:23:37 PM

Along outering(Mutindwa) they sell those synthetic leather ones.YOu can ask them for real leather quotation.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 5:14:07 PM

selah wrote:
Along outering(Mutindwa) they sell those synthetic leather ones.YOu can ask them for real leather quotation.

Pleather seats! Applause Applause Applause
#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 6:17:29 PM

so anyone with contacts..... and do the do as good a finishing as those in nakumatt?
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 7:02:14 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
1. Seems all your babies are grown up...otherwise ngoja wapate wembe.....hiyo ingine ni story smile smile smile smile smile

By the way, what is it with kids and leather seats? If you have kawaida [non-leather] seats, chances are that they will never be cut up. Leathers seats on the other hand is a totally different story. It's like the scream to the tois "cut me up! cut me up! woiyee!!'. Leather seats and tois just don't mix. Anyone who can explain this phenomenon?

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
2. When thinking of leather seats; it is easier to make them frm a carpenter though utangoja kiasi....uzuri ni kwamba you can choose thy own design....i see some people goodle the best designs....take to fundi na kumwambia nataka hii design.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly then the fundi quotes the price inclusive of all leather material.....you agree....pay deposit then tell you when to pick......To me this a cheaper and better option coz you are guaranteed kile kimewekwa ndani

Weeee mjuaji!!! Don't mislead our sister.

@wendz - Avoid carpenters like the plague. It is the shortest route to Mathare or Kamiti!!! I'm telling you the kind of seats you will get - after paying the deposit and topping it up a number of times... You will either go nuts or kill the dude! Most probably both. Get ready made seats, if you like them, pay and go your way. That's free advice.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 7:42:39 PM

@wendz - Avoid carpenters like the plague. It is the shortest route to Mathare or Kamiti!!! I'm telling the kind of seats you will get - after paying the deposit and topping it up a number of times... You will either go nuts or kill the dude! Most probably both. Get ready made seats, if you like them, pay and go your way. That's free advice.

Totally agree with this. If you were to ever buy from a carpenter you should buy ready made seats which means that you buy exactly what you see.

I learnt it the hard way years back when I thought I was wise in going with my designs to a carpenter to whom I was referred to by a friend of mine. He finished them on time alright but when I went to collect them I could not just see my seats.

Only to discover that the reason I could not see them was because my seats were the seats relaxing on his workshop floor staring back at me defiantly. And to imagine I had laughed when I arrived at the workshop wondering what people would ever order or buy such type of seats. They were the ugliest seats I had ever seen in my life and I had seen quite a number then.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 7:51:11 PM

@elder
LOL..... nataka mpya but without being ripped off.... sio ma 200k.... Naweza kupata pahali na 100k or so? kwani where do these nairobian middle class buy their leather seats?

I wish you luck but I don't think you can get good quality leather seats in Kenya for less than 200k. If you get any for 100k please tell me if there are more stock as I know a couple of guys who may also want. Maybe you should find out the possibility of importing them or something. They may be cheaper that way.
Mkimwa
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 8:50:01 PM

Those seats that cost 250K at Nakumatt cost 30K in Guanzhou, or Kuala Lampur. I know somebody who furnished their house completely for 250K from China - seats, beds, dining table, e.t.c, and good stuff for that matter.

Get like minded people, who want to get leather seats, pay for a container, get someone who goes to China often, and there, you will get your seats @ 70K.