wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

Nelson Muguku R.I.P
#21 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:31:38 PM

President Jomo Kenyatta loved boiled eggs for breakfast. But one morning he was disappointed and refused to eat. Why? Suddenly, the eggs were dramatically smaller. The President summoned the housekeeper, Mrs Mwathi, to the breakfast table to explain the matter. She said the old supplier had been stopped because his tender had expired. A new supplier had already been engaged.

Stunned, the President asked who the old supplier was and whom he was now selling eggs to. It was Nelson Muguku of Kikuyu Estates Settlement Scheme, Sigona, and he was probably selling to one of the big city hotels, Mrs Mwathi explained. "So quality eggs will now be available in hotels and not at the State House?" President Kenyatta retorted. "We cannot get good eggs here simply because the supplier has no government tender?" The President ordered the State House chief of staff to have that contract restored at once.

"I have come from far" says the humble millionaire. "The road has not been easy. Nothing comes easy in life. I am what I am because of hard work and God's blessing."

Muguku had been trained as a carpenter at Thika Technical School. His childhood "big dream" was to own a bicycle. He bought one with his first Sh220 salary as a teacher at Kapenguria Intermediate School in 1954. From his salary Then his dream grew. "I now wanted a car."

He nearly bought one in 1956, but a brutally honest mzungu colleague refused to sell his Hillman saloon to Muguku because his salary was too low to maintain a car. "The man was brutally honest. The annual increase for an untrained teacher was Sh5. I was in the wrong career. If I was to make it in life, I had to quit teaching."

"When I told the principal I was going away, he said I was crazy to leave a stable job for something I had not even started." With only a bicycle and scanty furniture, the ambitious young bachelor left Kabianga by train for his Rukubi home in Kikuyu.

His parents, Njoroge and Wambui, too, thought their first-born child had gone mad. "My father told me he had 200 chickens and all had died in an epidemic. 'You think yours will survive?' my father posed. I said 'yes'!"

"I had Sh3,000 to start me off. I built a simple poultry house and bought 100 layer chicks. My father loaned me money to buy the feeds.''

http://www.mashada.com/forums/130951-post1.html

Pastor M
#22 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:42:33 PM

R.I.P
mwanahisa
#23 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 2:18:42 PM

Rest in Peace, Bwana Nelson Muguku Njoroge. You saw promise where few did and exercised patience for as long as it took. Fare thee well!
move
#24 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 2:34:13 PM

R.I.P
Expanding the pie
gadj
#25 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 2:56:27 PM

I will eat a cock today in memory of this man. RIP
XSK
#26 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 3:02:35 PM

RIP. You were a living legend.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
karqui
#27 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 3:14:23 PM

RIP, His story states clearly that with confidence you can do anything you set out to do.
sky5
#28 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 6:27:56 PM

This man lived simple accomplished much! Bravo and RIP.
Wa_ithaka
#29 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 8:17:15 PM

RIP. Muthuri wa bata
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
slammers
#30 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 9:48:04 PM

rip sir u are great