wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

KPLC RESTRUCTURING-HOW WOULD U DO IT?
Kausha
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:38:00 AM

VVS

Have you ever been to an accounting class. We have spent the past few days trying to tell you the obvious. The 14B is horribly confusing you suggesting you may not have very good knowledge of a balance sheet which isn't a crime and with all due respect to you.

What we are saying is KPLC is creating 100m shares in the company and giving them to one shareholder in exchange for capital which they already used 5 years ago. The company's value doesn't change unless you are suggesting it has been trading at a massive discount with the pref conversion in mind which i don't believe is the case due to the low level of sophistication of our market. Now you have a loaf of bread which previously was divided 79m times. We are now saying we need to divide the loaf 179m times which is almost 3 times as the earlier case. What do you think will happen? Will the loaf become bigger or will the slices become smaller.

Key lessons for you. Any conversion into ordinary shares involving prefs or debt always has a dilutive effect. The tricks are how big the conversion is relative to existing shares and whether there are any cash flows accruing back to ordinary shareholders from converting. This gimmick is a favorite tool of PE companies and corporate financiers.

As mentioned earlier PE's of utilities are normally low because utilities grow at very slow paces and dividend payout is normally small due to need to support future capex,working capital and debt. 8.50/40 is a fifth. A fifth of 18bob is 3.5bob. Don't expect an increased dividend payout from KPLC.

Your smart option,keep your chums and wait for rights,government won't take up theirs otherwise you are definately going to leave your shirt in the soko when you buy at 160 per share.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:34:00 PM

@kausha - LOL... I have already bought them...

Now... The conversion is all on the balance sheet... just a movement from one section to another... From preferred capital to ordinary capital...

The shares issued to GoK are NOT free... (there may be a dilution factor... that I admit... not as serious as you make it out to be)

Let's use your analogy of a loaf of bread. Say the NAV (Ordinary Shares & associated funds) is the mkate. And enough for 80 sandwiches... but without butter/cheese,etc... yaani 2 plain slices of boflo (sigh... my high school days!)

The preferred shares is the CHEESE...

When the pref shares are converted into ordinary shares... intermingle (at a ratio TBD later)... I will assume the conversion at 140/- (7 preferred to 1 ordinary)...

So now I have a sandwich WITH cheese (instead of just plain bread).

So even if I create 180 sandwiches (from the original 80)... I get 'smaller' sandwiches but with cheese... so worth 'more'...

All-in-all... I end up with more (smaller) sandwiches but 'worth' more...

Of course,there are a bunch of assumptions here but no way do we go to 65/-... I wish we could enter into a forward agreement on this... Or a short sale for you...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Kausha
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:01:00 PM

We may not get to 65 due to sentimentalists like you but we will dip below 80 bob for sure,on a straight logic basis we should end up at 67. GoK is getting those shares for the prefs,they basically pay nothing. But those same shares rank parri passu with yours of 160 bob which assume 79m shares in issue for a 12B company. Add another 100m shares not paid for in practical terms and spread the 12B cheer across the 180m share and tell me whether you purchase today makes sense...You sound like the chaps who would buy cables at 700 coz a split had been announced.......we will revive this thread once the dilution takes place. For now i rest my case.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 9:42:00 PM

@Kausha - I tried to explain why I think it is a good buy but I have failed... sawa... we will wait...

You say 67 AFTER the gov't gets its 'converted' shares (BUT before the split/bonus).... I say nope...

I wish we could place some cash somewhere...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
omega
#25 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 9:21:07 PM

#26 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 12:21:47 AM

@omega - BDA article is not the full story... just theories... unless they have inside information. KPLC's AGM coming up soon. Perhaps we will know more then...
stocksmaster
#27 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 10:08:12 AM

10 Months since i posted this, and KPLC is yet to decide on how to restructure................

With a 10B rights issue in the offing, and with the majority shareholder sitting out of the rights, i think it would be prudent to wait for the rights as the entry point to KPLC.

Happy hunting.
#28 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 10:55:33 AM

stocksmaster wrote:
10 Months since i posted this, and KPLC is yet to decide on how to restructure................

With a 10B rights issue in the offing, and with the majority shareholder sitting out of the rights, i think it would be prudent to wait for the rights as the entry point to KPLC.

Happy hunting.

The majority share holder is sitting out of the rights because they are increasing their stake through their conversion not because of the price...

So thinking the time of the rights is a good entry point is being too cautious.
stocksmaster
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 07, 2010 11:38:26 AM

Seems my prediction of almost a year ago was not far off the mark (see post No.1).

Looking at the restructuring, the GoK will end up with almost 108M shares out of 155M Pre split.

Post split = 864M shares which qualify for 864/1240 x 490M = 340M rights.

Assuming the rights are at a Price of Ksh 20, then the floating (unsubscribed for) rights from the GoK will be almost 70% of the rights (Ksh 7 Billion out of Ksh 10B).

With this amount of 'free float', all i need is a very small holding in KPLC (maybe just buy 100 rights and apply for whatever quantity i fancy).

Post split, post rights, this share should be trading at the Ksh 24 - 27 range (at a P/E of about 12 - 13). Approximately 20% to 30% gain post rights for those who will only have entered at the time of the rights.

To me the rights represent a more strategic entry point into KPLC as they will be in plenty (almost like an IPO) and will be offered at a discount to the prevailing market price.

Happy hunting
mwanahisa
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 07, 2010 11:52:01 AM

After what has happened to the KCB share price - a meteoric rise in the price from 17 to 22.50 as of today in 2 short months, I am not too sure.

Besides, our market is showing us that it is still awash in cash. 7 Billion is no longer the scary figure that it used to be. Housing Finance has just quickly collected that figure at the lowest corporate bond rate in years.

If there's a nice discount on the rights price and at 20 I would say there is ,we will kill each other to get to those rights.
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 07, 2010 12:25:44 PM

Reading through the entire thread for a second time, am left wondering why somebody was advocating for a thinkers room. The exchange between @VVS and @Kausha is an excellent piece by thinkers!

So now between @VVS and @Kausha who is smiling?.......Supposing @VVS sold his shares bought at 160/=, for 240/=?

@Kausha now that most of the previously unknown parameters are out, what say you?