wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

The uganda securities exchange...
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 12:12:28 AM

This is the best performing bourse in africa...its worth some attention.with the oil discovery,it is set to do even better.i once bought cfc stanbic uganda and made 100% killing...iam set to enter it in a big way ..please tell me which other counters are good there.
charming soul
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 1:21:13 AM

mlennyma wrote:
This is the best performing bourse in africa...its worth some attention.with the oil discovery,it is set to do even better.i once bought cfc stanbic uganda and made 100% killing...iam set to enter it in a big way ..please tell me which other counters are good there.

Hardly any transactions with the exception of Stanbic Uganda..

I was Interested in BOBU, BATU,DFCU & NEW VISION but cant seem to get any...

Any idea of any broker transacting in Tanzanian shares????
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 1:28:05 AM

mlennyma wrote:

Not in US$ terms. 1600 to 2250 in 3 years. Even in KES terms from 24 to 28. So many gains lost when UGX depreciated...
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 2:55:13 AM

mlennyma wrote:

I love when guys talk about the useless USE....

Has anyone ever thought why the USE and the NSE are first and second in africa...
Because more than half of the companies on the USE are on the NSE so i don't know why one even looks there...

So the counters i personally like on the USE are
KCB
Jubilee
Equity
KQ
BAT
EABL Laughing out loudly

The rest are just too expensive and Illiquid for my liking...
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 8:34:59 AM

So the uganda.s.e is just a photocopy of our nse plus afew!you say?
kyukkamba
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 9:08:26 AM

mlennyma wrote:
This is the best performing bourse in africa....i once bought cfc stanbic uganda and made 100% killing....

Everybody made a killing from Stanbic...and if u bought them from ipo and still are holding u'll be over 200% not considering the dividends already received......It's like KenGen IPO. Lakini the rest of the shares not showing any cool performance...just normal...hiyo petroli labda they are still drinking....wakimaliza we'll see a change...smile
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
young
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 12:53:08 PM

USE is a market for the future.

Most counters are not liquid because an average ugandan wants to hold to his / her share certificate as a treasure rather than demobilizing .It is a mentality over there.

Besides they do not believe in selling shares so shares are not available on offer.

Govt of Ug also have to de-invest in some listed firms by offering some shares to the investing public in the form of IPO.

With more enlightenment, the situation will change in the near future.

The few tradable shares are from Stanbic, and made-in-kenya counters like KCB, Equity etc.

What is happening now in USE is what NSE investors suffered in the 90s.

They (Uganda) will get there.

Tanzania bourse is also the same.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 1:03:26 PM

@young - On Uganda... I agree BUT the Tanzanians are very 'nationalistic' and this is NOT a compliment!

Tanzania could do much more with a larger population & huge resources... but Ugandans are better "East Africans" despite museveni's idiocies...
young
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 1:21:44 PM

@VVS,
On tanzania my judgement is hinged on low traded volume and replication of made-in-kenya counters just like Uganda.

But for Uganda if Kenyan are wonderful people to foreigners then ugandans are wonder wonderful. I have been there with my family.

I wonder why Ugandans regards Kenyans as oppressors and hostile big brother especially at the boarders ? I believe you know better.

On M7 (Museveni), take my word for it it is an era that will come to an end one day. Afterall Mzee Kenyatta came and left, Moi came and left, Mzee MK will soon leave, ditto for M7.
Is the dreaded Idi Amin Dada still ruling Uganda?

M7 emergence in 1986 was a child of necessity for Ugandan nation, but the child has become a pain in the neck. Tough times never last but tough people do.

Kenyans should not sit on the fence because of M7, this is the time to take position .
I see a lot of opportunities in Uganda.
EAC will surely come to fruition.

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
young
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 1:23:23 PM

@VVS,
On tanzania my judgement is hinged on low traded volume and replication of made-in-kenya counters just like Uganda.

But for Uganda if Kenyan are wonderful people to foreigners then ugandans are wonderfully wonderful. I have been there with my family.

I wonder why Ugandan regards Kenyans as oppressors and hostile big brother especially at the boarders ? I believe you know better.

On M7 (Museveni), take my word for it it is an era that will come to an end one day. Afterall Mzee Kenyatta came and left, Moi came and left, Mzee MK will soon leave, ditto for M7.
Is the dreaded Idi Amin Dada still ruling Uganda?

M7 emergence in 1986 was a child of necessity for Ugandan nation, but the child has become a pain in the neck. Tough times never last but tough people do.

Kenyans should not sit on the fence because of M7, this is the time to take position .
I see a lot of opportunities in Uganda.
EAC will surely come to fruition.

The rate foreigners troop to Uganda makes me to believe Kenyans do not see what the rest of the world is seing. They are only seing a mortal dictator M7. Hope it will not be too late for Kenyans to benefit from emerging opportunities in neighbouring Uganda

#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 1:27:40 PM

@young - I made a trip to DSE to see if I could invest as a KENYAN/EAST AFRICAN but they make it very hard. You can only invest in a handful of shares & even these were over-priced! I invested ZERO in Tanzania.

Uganda was welcoming to me. I could (& did) invest in most Ugandan counters. Many Kenyans have shares in Stanbic Uganda.

I found Ugandans are smart & welcoming. Well, in Entebbe & Kampala anyway. At the border, it may be different since the Kenyan customs & immigration folks are corrupt.
JabaBoeku
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 1:56:30 PM

@VVS, I totally concur with you. UG people and even the business culture offers a way-better investing-climate than Tz. Not withstanding the lack-of-liquidity on USE stocks (those that are not NSE cross-listed), which I believe will gradually pass with time.
+ With the automation of their exchange, the USE will slowly improve with time....or maybe OIL will suddenly boost it? Who knows?
young
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 3:28:44 PM

Sorry I caused the digration,
I think we should focus on the subject matter USE and de-emphasize DSE. Thanks
young
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 4:44:40 PM

With extremely low trading volumes I wonder how Uganda stock brokers cope !!!
murenj
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 5:06:13 PM

so how do we get hold of some oil money? none of the ugandan listed companies are in oil per se. banking, hospitality, transport, real estate, and manufacturing sectors will benefit from the trickle down effect. will kenol/kobil join the scrambble for the blak stuff?i have a feeling that i do not need to set foot in uganda to benefit from the oil boom, but i may be wrong.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 6:33:40 PM

When i would go to my broker in uganda most times i'd be the only client for 20minutes straight and if there's ever a client they're most probably trading on the NSE.... That Market is too too dry for my liking....

young
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 8:10:09 PM

Volume traded in USE would have improved this year if de-mobilization of share certificates and opening accounts with CDSC were fully embraced as expected.

The enthusiasm is not just there, the pearl of Africa citizens do not bother about stock market.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 8:24:58 PM

young wrote:
The enthusiasm is not just there, the pearl of Africa citizens do not bother about stock market.

@young one thing about ugandans is that only invest in things they can hold, touch feel....

Thats part of the reason they hold on to their share certificates
young
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 06, 2010 11:03:22 PM

@Guru267 You are absolutely right, you know Ugandans more than most of us in this forum.

In addition I seem to see a general apathy towards stock investment due to total ignorance.
When I was there with my wife / biz partner and children last december I interacted with not less that three middle class elites, but suprisingly they were innocently ignorant about stock investment. Of the three the first is a lecturer in Makere University, the second a banker with Crane Bank and the third an entrepreneur who owns a cyber cafe in kampala road. Their concensus about stock market were that :-
(i) Why waste your money to buy shares of a company, they use your money to get richer

(ii) Share trading is not profitable in anyway because at the end you will loose your money.

(iii) Share investment is for the super rich.
a small retail investor have no chance of suceeding, as one needs tons of money to start.

I hope these negative and unjustifiable perceptions will ease out in the nearest future

I am optimistic that there will be positive changes of an average ugandan perception of the stock market in future. Uganda will get there.

It was stock market that brought me to Kenya (2004)this forum (2007), and stocks / property in Uganda (2009).
PKoli
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 07, 2010 12:28:23 PM

young wrote:

Volume traded in USE would have improved this year if de-mobilization of share certificates and opening accounts with CDSC were fully embraced as expected.

A lot of education requires to be done in the country. I attended one AGM this year and many shareholders were saying the certificate is good since it does not let one sell easily.

Me thinks the only way to make the markets vibrant is by having a unified exchange. The agressiveness of the Kenyans will push all the other markets up and also carry along the slow (conservative) shareholders!