Investor
Stocks
KENOL/KOBIL
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,261 Location: Nairobi
cnn wrote:And people castigated KK.I hope the morons at ERC now see that this protected money sucker is no good for this economy.Let the marketers import their own products from the most efficient/cheapest source! or better burn the damn refinery. I have come across too many idiots who supported the ERC/KPRL position... I have given up trying to convince them!!! Let the actions speak... & they have! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
KPRL just like KK is not a NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION. There is nothing wrong with such a decision, businesses have to make a profit to survive. History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
@BGL, you still dont see it,do you?
cnn wrote:@BGL, you still dont see it,do you? See what! A barrel of oil is 158.984 litres.... do the maths. But, in Kenya greed is the name of the game. Even before jan 2011 you will how they do their adjustments. History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
BGL wrote:cnn wrote:@BGL, you still dont see it,do you? See what! A barrel of oil is 158.984 litres.... do the maths. But, in Kenya greed is the name of the game. Even before jan 2011 you will how they do their adjustments. @BGL is blind... Let us try to explain... 1) KK competes against other firms (Shell, NOCK, Total, etc) 2) Consumers have a choice of NOT buying from KK. You can buy from others. 3) KPRL has no competition in Kenya coz it is has a MONOPOLY in Kenya 4) The Govt forces OMCs to use inefficient KPRL. The lower of 1.6mn MT/year OR 70% of Kenya's crude imports must be processed thru KPRL. So using (4) as a hammer, KPRL then uses its position as (3) to screw us over... If you do not get this simplified version... I don't know what to do... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Forget KK this is going to hurt the entire nation. Just after recording impressive GDP growth in 2010, we'll start 2011 on a negative. And what regulations are these that Kenya has put on importing Oil that are messing Uganda? BBI will solve it :)
VituVingiSana wrote:BGL wrote:cnn wrote:@BGL, you still dont see it,do you? See what! A barrel of oil is 158.984 litres.... do the maths. But, in Kenya greed is the name of the game. Even before jan 2011 you will how they do their adjustments. @BGL is blind... Let us try to explain... 1) KK competes against other firms (Shell, NOCK, Total, etc) 2) Consumers have a choice of NOT buying from KK. You can buy from others. 3) KPRL has no competition in Kenya coz it is has a MONOPOLY in Kenya 4) The Govt forces OMCs to use inefficient KPRL. The lower of 1.6mn MT/year OR 70% of Kenya's crude imports must be processed thru KPRL. So using (4) as a hammer, KPRL then uses its position as (3) to screw us over... If you do not get this simplified version... I don't know what to do... I like simplicity because free info should not be complex. Just calculate for me the expected increment PER LITER factoring in the proposed adjustment. For your info a barrel of oil is approximately 158.984 liters. Avoid rhetorical questions and just answer the question. History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
BGL wrote:cnn wrote:@BGL, you still dont see it,do you? See what! A barrel of oil is 158.984 litres.... do the maths. But, in Kenya greed is the name of the game. Even before jan 2011 you will how they do their adjustments. I was told that they normally raise the pump price before because they are expected to pay on purchase and need to have the money before hand unlike before when they could take on credit. They factor in (through estimate) the new price, tax and profit. If you ask me, I think it's bull crap but since there exists that window, they exploit it to the maximum. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
These increments by KPRL are way above the inflation adjusted rate which amounts to fleecing for a company dealing with essential products... They are probably jealous of KPLC But on a serious not KPRL should try and improve its efficiency instead of raising prices.... Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Pipeline loses bid to contest Sh4.6b award to KenolKobil. Will the share respond? www.businessdailyafrica....6/-/ilpw97z/-/index.htmlGOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Another chance for a price swoon. Perfect. Maybe this time I'll get my 8/- price.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah wrote:Another chance for a price swoon. Perfect. Maybe this time I'll get my 8/- price. How so??? Umesoma nini??? In this case, it is KK who is on a ROLL... Coz KPC can't appeal the decision!!! I am not sure what the other issues are lakini this is awesome news! For me! And cnn & guru & those who own KK... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
hisah wrote:Another chance for a price swoon. Perfect. Maybe this time I'll get my 8/- price. @hisah, you lost your chance for 8/= a long time ago. Now I guess it will be a cold day in hell for the price to "dream" of anything approaching 8. @VVS, it does appear that KPL has not completely exhausted its legal options, but they are DWINDLING FAST.
@VVS, Man - you are a phenomenon. You must be bristling with energy - blogging at 2.44 a.m. (I see your location is Nairobi unless you were travelling). Do you ever sleep? Wazua owes you big!
mwanahisa wrote:@VVS, Man - you are a phenomenon. You must be bristling with energy - blogging at 2.44 a.m. (I see your location is Nairobi unless you were travelling). Do you ever sleep? Wazua owes you big! The best analysis is done at night! I sleep in the afternoon! LOLest... Old college habit of last minute papers! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
So what are the expectations for today's price?
i think the price must rally now... whats holding it back??? if it doesnt i'll collect some money and buy in Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,192 Location: nairobi
Ukasuba wa gava,pay the money or sell kpc to kenol k "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
@VVS looks like i'll be joining you shortly in this counter... the market is seriously underpricing it on many metrics... it looks like i'm going to sell a small part of my KPLC holding becuase if one does the math this current restructuring does not bode well for someone who bought the stock @120 because it actually makes one average up while the share price will average down after the rights issue... i'll start small in KK and see what the market has to offer me in this counter before i look to raise my stake... Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
guru, kwani where did the UNGA money go?  GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Investor
Stocks