wazua Sun, Nov 16, 2025

3 Pages<123
Safaricom share consolidation vs Tariff wars
#41 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 12:00:28 PM

@mjuaji; join us on the faNtaSEy Market; you will get 500k which you can put in SCOM and see how it works out...
Bettertry
#42 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 12:14:12 PM

The way l c it there r 3 options to this counter, 1) Advocate for CMA to amend the Rs & Rs to allow for share consolidation, 2) Have safcon mngt become more innovative & creative in their products & services which will in turn increase the value of this share albeit gradually, 3) Current & potential shareholders decide whether they're in this counter for growth or income and "forever" hold their peace.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
mjuaji wa stocks
#43 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 12:38:34 PM

@mukiha....i did have good cash which i invested in MSC at 3.50 and 3.80....i sold all my holdings at 7.10/= Did i make money?

I then bought crowm berger at 29 which rose to 45/= Did i make money?

I then bought williamson tea at 215 which went up to 249/= Did i make money?

Now; if i had some extra cash at the moment as you say...i would buy safcom.....yes i would...

But i find better bargains at the moment.....equity and co-op bank....targeting to sell just before or after announcement next jan 2011...end year esults....that is how i make money....
I will then come and see where safcom will be by then!! Then i will consider.

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#44 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 12:52:51 PM

Ndemo says KRA will lose Kshs 10B in taxes due to the on going price war.....Hmmmm!
komera
#45 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 12:57:18 PM

njunge..bur that cash will be used somewhere else coz its wat the ordinary mwananchi is saving. simple economic calcs my pal plus twill beta the lyf of many. we need the cost of living 2 keep on coming down for this country to archive its target of becoming a middle income economy. and we all agree that communication bites a big percentage in our expences
#46 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 1:05:11 PM

komera wrote:
njunge..bur that cash will be used somewhere else coz its wat the ordinary mwananchi is saving. simple economic calcs my pal plus twill beta the lyf of many. we need the cost of living 2 keep on coming down for this country to archive its target of becoming a middle income economy. and we all agree that communication bites a big percentage in our expences

This may not be the right thread, but @komera; is it the cost of living that we need to bring down or the income levels that we need to push up?
#47 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 1:07:25 PM

We dont want laws which are one sided,the law that allows a split is the same law supposed to allow consolidation.and brokers form a pool of shares less than 100
#48 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 1:48:45 PM

Ndemo says KRA will lose Kshs 10B in taxes due to the on going price war.....Hmmmm!
Bure kabisa! That cash 'saved' in my pocket is going towards higher data use... Plus the higher cost of petrol (which is taxed at 40%)...
komera
#49 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 1:56:00 PM

njunge..rem usage cost in most operators haas come down by 50% loosely translated money saved = money gained = increase in disposable income. what would you prefer for gava to increase theie collection or for you to save and have cash to spend somewhere else.
#50 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 2:19:18 PM

Hiyo ndio maisha ya shares, it will not always be UP, Up, Up or we start crying consolidation, there is nothing to weep about here.
hisah
#51 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 2:28:10 PM

If KRA could look at boosting efficiency and stopping corruption, they wouldn't be looking at this small 10B haircut. By the way, calling prices could also go lower if the same KRA was to lower the airtime excise duty from 10% to 5%. Frankly speaking I've never understood why it exists in the first place. Operators pay VAT and excise = 26% on any airtime revenue. That would automatically leave more money in the pockets to boost savings and consumer spending plus reduce the inflation index. Everyone wins except KRA ofcourse smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#52 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 2:32:35 PM

Am sure we have a point here and a law is needed to solve a problem.sample this...right now i have k-re 72,kcb 16,cfc 83,sasini 56 and kengen 8... i have tried to sell in vain
#53 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 6:49:18 PM

Hiyo ndio maisha ya shares, it will not always be UP, Up, Up or we start crying consolidation, there is nothing to weep about here.

@much know do you remember when safcom announced 21billion PBT there was little or no reaction on the share price upwards....

The 10billion share float is disastrous because it makes supply fly in from all directions at any given time.... Now what happens if G.O.K decides to issue another 10billion shares to the public....

This is the only company that deserves a consolidation....
#54 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 7:57:42 PM

When safcom announced 21b profit,the share dropped to a low of 5.10 ...from 5.60-5.70 ...very stupid indeed.