wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

A PROPOSITION FOR WAZUA TEAM
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 6:03:47 PM

@ Wazua,

I have a proposition:

I reckon that all of the topics discussed here in this forum are classified either as:

Bonds, Culture, Economy, Health, Ideas, investing, Legal, Life, Marketing, Offshore, Pennywise, People, Politics, Stocks, property, Review, Stocks and Sports...

I have some other issue/discussion which cannot fall in any of the categories above which i think the members would really appreciate if it could be introduced.

This is an issue related to construction industry. I believe in this forum we have Architects, Electrical Engineers, Mechanical Engineers, Civil/Structural Engineers and Quantity Surveyors all who have participated in one way or the other in some form of construction and have different experiences and challenges that they may have encountered in the cause of their professional dispensation and they would wish to share with other members.

Also, we have other stakeholders in this industry who have been involved in construction, be it developing or executing the actual construction who have stories and advise to give or ask.

I am therefore requesting you to introduce the the category "Construction". I believe its presence will go along way to enhance our construction industry knowledge and demystifying the construction itself.

Anybody else in the house with me?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 6:41:21 PM

Isn't this under "Prperty"? ama haujaridhika nayo?
Baratang
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 6:54:30 PM

Come to think of it. I was involved in a construction where a construction company was to construct some culverts. However instead of the contractor using the 1:2:4 concrete mix as indicated by the tender specifications, he used the 1:3:6 so that he could use less cement and maximise on profit. Of course the rest is history.

This @ nostoppingthis to the best of my knowledge cannot be placed under "Property" category.

I think Kaigangio has a valid request.
Conquestador
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 7:31:01 PM

Construction of ....airports?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 9:19:55 PM

As technical guy l absolutely second Kainganjio!!!!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 9:50:52 PM

@ Wazua, I don't see merit in the suggestion - accountants, house wives, teachers, pilots etc etc can all justify to have their space .....even 'Thinkers' wanted to treated as a special group Lakini Ng'o !!
mjuaji wa stocks
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 10:49:55 AM

@kaigangio....wewe pana jali....weka title construction.....then tuta-contribute smile smile smile smile
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Pablo
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:46:42 PM

I am with Kaigangio on this.
All you guys in Wazua or elsewhere, whether an accountant house wife etc will want your own abode.

It would be good to have all these posts at one place where one can read all from one point. Its better than having someone post thier thread in Investments others in stocks etc.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 2:13:49 PM

i think what wazua has provided is the best. it has broken even. we cant have all the 'sectors' represented here.
segemia
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 2:33:08 PM

Personally, being in this industry I am with Kaiganjo on his/her proposal. You see ladies and gentlemen, each and every one of us live in a product of construction and like Pablo says everyone would like his/her own. It is therefore very essential for us to know the basic rules of construction which we are never taught in schools. Like Kaiganjo said we have engineers and architects in this forum who are very knowledgeable in this field but keep the experience to themselves just because there is no category or forum for which their ideas or challenges could be posted.

Wazua please consider this proposal.

holycow
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 7:17:08 PM

After selling shares, one would probably need to build a house. An example in mind is where one purchases a plot having black cotton soil or unsuitable soils. Other areas are choice of materials and project cost estimation.
Anyway, seems folks here are not interested in Pro bono.
slammers
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 7:20:28 PM

i also throw my weight for us to have this forum
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 7:48:48 PM

Me thinks this is good for everyone. there are so many times that we want to get information regarding construction but sometimes you find you do not have anyone to ask.... and again, if there is a forum dedicated for this, you are assured that your question will be picked by someone with experience in what you are asking or an expert in that field... If we look at the bigger picture, we shall appreciate
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:36:36 AM

Hi all,

The construction industry is quite expansive and is not just restricted to residential and commercial houses...there are other areas directly covered by it like Dams construction, Bridges construction, Roads construction etc. Each of these requires unique expertise and have their own distinct challenges due to their very nature and complexity.

Nobody has ever posted anything on actual Construction challenges and experiences here in wazua, except for general real estate issues which to me are quite different from construction.

@ vinii,

I will ask you a question....if i went to a hardware to buy cement, i would buy Bamburi or East African Portland cement and i would not touch Nyumba cement even though it is cheaper than the former two..Why? mystries of construction no. 1

@ sober,

I will ask you a question....If you were to construct a maisonette and you are to reinforce the first floor slab by steel reinforcement, you will spend about 40% more by using plain reinforcement compared to the twisted type yet the price is the same...Why is that? mystries of construction no. 2

@ conquestador,

A question for you...We have more than 7 different kinds of sands that the dealers sell to us in Kenya today. which sand would you use for the plastering purposes? mysteries of construction no. 3

@ Wazua Team

A question for you too..If you are constructing a small fish pond or swimming pool, how would you know that you have bought a genuine waterproofing cement and not a fake one bearing in mind that about 90% of volume in sales are fake? mysteries of construction no. 4

All in all i believe there are so many issues related to construction that have never been raised or addressed here in wazua forum and the above examples are just but a very small number...i think as long as we will not have this category we will still be left with very many of our construction questions and challenges unanswered.

#15 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 3:44:05 PM

Kaiganjio, you have put your case so very well, it's upon Wazuans and Wazua to react!!!!!
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 10:23:46 PM

it might not necessarily be named construction, but we need a section to discuss technical issues.. especially technological issues..
#17 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 9:05:54 AM

kenmac wrote:
it might not necessarily be named construction, but we need a section to discuss technical issues.. especially technological issues..

Applause Applause Applause @Kenmac, i totally agree with you - a broader technical segment is a better direction to take...maybe within this broad segment we can have some 'mini segments' including 'construction'. Food for thought @ Wazua.

#18 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 9:41:39 AM

@wazua, in case you decide to create this section and separate matters construction, kindly do not forget to include the thread "Questions4architect" in it...it was/is very informative...
#19 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 3:12:38 PM

Kwani Wazua, when are you going to comment in this thread????
Mtu Biz
#20 Posted : Friday, October 01, 2010 5:50:28 PM

Technical Section works for me. It should cover construction of anything from a house to a Local Area Network.

Sola Scriptura