Investor
Stocks
KENOL/KOBIL
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,261 Location: Nairobi
BGL wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:BGL wrote: KenoKobil had factored the award in its 2010 revenues, which it hoped would boost its balance sheet if awarded in its favour.
@BGL - Please stop lying to us. I am sure KK did NOT factor in the award in its P&L ('revenues') nor its Balance Sheet as of June 2010. If you prove me wrong, I will eat humble pie. If you cannot prove me wrong, I would advise you to tell your corrupt friends at MoE, KPC, KPA, KPRL to get ready for their arses to be handed to them! OOOH MR VITU VINGI SANA... you do not need to eat humble pie. I will buy you lunch Lunch at the Serena (remember Anyan'g Nyong'o) after reading this statement dated...till the end. Mind you it is from a journalist but from Segman himself. Make no mistake, the appeal came to soon though his intentions are very clear and especially from the last sentence. Allons-y
27 Jan 2010 Notice to Shareholders: 2nd Half 2009 Earnings Update and Final KPC Arbitration Ruling We publish our financial results twice in every Financial year. For the 2009 Financial year, in August 27th 2009, we published our half year results which showed that we had not achieved our targets as at that time and cautioned that if the trend continued the company was headed for a substantial reduction in its profits. Accordingly, we issued a profit warning as required by regulation. However, we also added that Management was more bullish on 2nd half of the year and that management was strongly optimistic about the future of the Group’s profitability. We are pleased to inform the Shareholders that out optimism has been proved right. We expect the underlying financial results for the year 2009 to be strong and surpass our earlier expectations due to a number of reasons, among them, a very strong 2nd half performance across the Group particularly in Kenya operation, strong performance of subsidiaries outside Kenya throughout the year, considerable improvement in cost of Financing of the Group trading activities, improvement and recovery in most of the business segments particularly in 3rd and 4th quarter 2009, gain from disposal of non-performing and non-core assets, reduction in provision for bad debts of commercial customer and in distribution costs. Furthermore, management wishes to confirm that on 10th of December 2009 a Final Award in the matter between Kenya Pipeline Company Limited and KenolKobil Limited (formerly Kenya Oil Company / Kobil Petroleum Limited) was made. In previous financial statements, management has on several occasions reported to the shareholders that the inefficient management of the pipeline has been a major constraint to the company’s performance. Following the award in Arbitral proceedings between the company and KPC, management is optimistic that in compliance with the Award, there will be an improvement in the services offered by KPC and this should be a major boost in improved performance and earnings of the company. There is also a financial aspect to this Award which is being challenged. If the Award is upheld, it will contribute significantly to the future earnings of the company. Yours sincerely Jacob I. Segman Acting Chairman and Group Managing Director ------------------------------------------ LOL... I will be very happy if you buy me lunch! At the Serena is just icing on the cake! You made my case for me... I quote "There is also a financial aspect to this Award which is being challenged. If the Award is upheld, it will contribute significantly to the future earnings of the company" therefore until the Appeal is heard & determined, & if KPC loses the Appeal, the award cannot be reflected in KK's results! So KK has NOT (& cannot) included it in the reported Results (last was 1H 2010). Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@BGL, you are shooting yourself in the foot by citing a statement that clearly indicates that KK did NOT include the arbitration award in its financials. VVS is indeed correct and I hope you shall honour your lunch deal.@VVS enjoy!
Believe you me, had that award been included the KK share price would really have shot up. EPS would have been like 4x of what it was in 2009.
What does this line mean ''There is also a financial aspect to this Award which is being challenged. If the Award is upheld, it will contribute significantly to the future earnings of the company'' The appeal was so swift and dimmed the hopes but it was not thrown away. You should ask JIS how soon future is, it could be 2010-1-2-3-4-∞ History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
BGL wrote:What does this line mean ''There is also a financial aspect to this Award which is being challenged. If the Award is upheld, it will contribute significantly to the future earnings of the company''
The appeal was so swift and dimmed the hopes but it was not thrown away. You should ask JIS how soon future is, it could be 2010-1-2-3-4-∞ OK, you are confusing me... 1) So do you agree that the 4bn award was NOT factored into 2010 earnings or Balance Sheet released to date? [30 June 2010] 2) If yes, to (1)... my lunch? 3) JS said "future earnings of the company" which he/I/you know is undefined as to the timeframe except it is in the future not current. In Kenya such appeals can take 1-3 years... So now back to (2)... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@BGL, @VVS,
VituVingiSana wrote:BGL wrote:What does this line mean ''There is also a financial aspect to this Award which is being challenged. If the Award is upheld, it will contribute significantly to the future earnings of the company''
The appeal was so swift and dimmed the hopes but it was not thrown away. You should ask JIS how soon future is, it could be 2010-1-2-3-4-∞ OK, you are confusing me... 1) So do you agree that the 4bn award was NOT factored into 2010 earnings or Balance Sheet released to date? [30 June 2010] 2) If yes, to (1)... my lunch? 3) JS said "future earnings of the company" which he/I/you know is undefined as to the timeframe except it is in the future not current. In Kenya such appeals can take 1-3 years... So now back to (2)... Sure! The 4.6bn was not factored in 2010 earnings. May be or maybe not it will be factored if the award is maintained...subject for another day. Let me check my agenda for the Lunch... I have a tight work schedule History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
BGL wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:BGL wrote:What does this line mean ''There is also a financial aspect to this Award which is being challenged. If the Award is upheld, it will contribute significantly to the future earnings of the company''
The appeal was so swift and dimmed the hopes but it was not thrown away. You should ask JIS how soon future is, it could be 2010-1-2-3-4-∞ OK, you are confusing me... 1) So do you agree that the 4bn award was NOT factored into 2010 earnings or Balance Sheet released to date? [30 June 2010] 2) If yes, to (1)... my lunch? 3) JS said "future earnings of the company" which he/I/you know is undefined as to the timeframe except it is in the future not current. In Kenya such appeals can take 1-3 years... So now back to (2)... Sure! The 4.6bn was not factored in 2010 earnings. May be or maybe not it will be factored if the award is maintained...subject for another day. Let me check my agenda for the Lunch... I have a tight work schedule Ahhh... I am registered with Zap & will register with M-Pesa if need be... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: New-farer Joined: 7/29/2010 Posts: 12 Location: Mombasa
Guys...just want to ask a simple question...is KK a good buy now? Thinking in terms of high risk also brings in high returns?
@ VVS Lunch for real is much better, not unless you want to remain anonymous. I can give my viruses (I am a virologist) a break.... just go to the archive and read my posts to see what i research on. History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
BGL wrote:@ VVS
Lunch for real is much better, not unless you want to remain anonymous. I can give my viruses (I am a virologist) a break.... just go to the archive and read my posts to see what i research on. Hmmm... the Anon status is beneficial in its own way! LOL... If I decide to come out into the open I will let you know... and collect! Awesome profession! Private Sector or UoN? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:BGL wrote:@ VVS
Lunch for real is much better, not unless you want to remain anonymous. I can give my viruses (I am a virologist) a break.... just go to the archive and read my posts to see what i research on. Hmmm... the Anon status is beneficial in its own way! LOL... If I decide to come out into the open I will let you know... and collect! Awesome profession! Private Sector or UoN? Private sector 100% History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
VVS, if you meet Bwana Nyong'o at Serena, tell him he really made us laugh when he made that crazy statement about Safaricom being ''sold cheaply'' since ''even KQ was sold for 10 bob'' GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
@vvs, when at the Serena, ask for the most expensive item - I need good TPS dividends.
LOL... Kenyans! See how @GG is already looking ahead... using @BGL's pockets! As for nyongo - the less said the better - he increasingly sounds like an idiot... I respect Private Sector folks coz we put our own money on the line! nyongo has not been in the Private Sector for ages! Once he got into politics, he started getting NGO & Civil Society handouts & now the goverment freebies! What does he know about 'work'? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@all... Wat was the deciding factor in including kk in the index?
volumes and stability in the price, reaction to news. all these is in comparison to EA cables. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
good stuff buddy. i also learned something new. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
Hah... KPRL tells Kenyans to bend over http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/9vecpz/-/index.html
See why I support KK??? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
And people castigated KK.I hope the morons at ERC now see that this protected money sucker is no good for this economy.Let the marketers import their own products from the most efficient/cheapest source! or better burn the damn refinery.
Investor
Stocks
KENOL/KOBIL