wazua Tue, Sep 23, 2025

17 Pages«<678910>»
Updates on the fantasy market
#141 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 10:38:07 AM

@mukiha - The ARPU for Safaricom has dropped like a rock... I am sure Zain-Airtel is losing even more cash but it is not listed in Kenya...

So an investment perspective... those who own Safaricom should expect a haircut as ARPU + profits drop... IMHO...
#142 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 10:39:05 AM

mukiha wrote:
My reaction to the price war was different.

I used to have a virtually dormant SCOM line that was for MPESA only.

When the war started, I found myself using it a lot... to call SCOM numbers

Even after factoring in the reduced rates, I have effectively increased my spend on SCOM line and reduced that on ZAIN.

I don't know how many other people have done the same.

BEFORE THE WAR: I used ZAIN almost exclusively for all calls

AFTER THE WAR: I use SCOM to call SCOM numbers and ZAIN for other calls

@mukiha did you triple your spend on safcon because thats the same amount the call rate dropped??

So unless you went from spending 200 per day to spending 600 safcon is losing out...
#143 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 10:59:49 AM

guru267 wrote:

So unless you went from spending 200 per day to spending 600 safcon is losing out...

What kind of logic is this???
Meru Holiness
#144 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 11:45:43 AM

@guru267;

I was just wondering if there were many others who reacted like I did....

Sure enough the revenue will go down; but may be not as bad as expected...because of people like me....

I think Zain will be the bigger loser in all this
#145 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 11:46:46 AM

guru267 wrote:

What kind of logic is this???

Sorry i wrote this post fresh from the sack...

Logic was lacking a bit
#146 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 11:53:16 AM

mukiha wrote:
I think Zain will be the bigger loser in all this

@mukiha this is what we should realize that you and the other well off guys are probably sticking with safcon...

But lets look at the bulk of the mobile owners who are the not so well off... (University students, mama mbogas, Juakali guys) these guys are vukaing like crazy to yu and Zain....

Then don't forget there are also the sonkos like @VVS and I who understand logic and have also vukad....

Let me just ask... Are you also one of the people who think safcon is a buy???
#147 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 12:18:20 PM

@mukiha - Zain-Airtel is not traded locally. So in my mind, it matters little even if Zain-Airtel loses cash!

Overall, it is much, much cheaper for me to call vs 6 months ago!
#148 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 12:19:42 PM

@guru;
To answer your first question: my average spend on SCOM went up from about sh20 per quarter (yes! 3 months, to keep the line active) to about sh100 per month. That's a 15-fold jump!

What gives you the idea that I am "well-off"? Is it because I have been on Zain all these years? In case you didn't know, Kencell-Celtel-Zain have always been cheaper that SCOM!! In fact this is the first time that SCOM-to-SCOM calls have become cheaper than ZAIN-to-SCOM.... but that is a debate that has been tackled thoroughly in other threads.

Is SCOM a buy or a sell? For me it's a sell...and I placed the order this morning to liquidate my full holding...
#149 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 6:26:22 PM

Every topic will be reduced to odm and pnu i.e safcom and zain....zain is not a kenyan listed company so to hell 4get it.
#150 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 7:28:51 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Every topic will be reduced to odm and pnu i.e safcom and zain....zain is not a kenyan listed company so to hell 4get it.
Lakini, my cash is real & Kenyan... and I would rather give it to Zain-Airtel who have saved me the money than Safaricom who will screw me just coz they can!

If Zain-Airtel had not introduced 3/- of-network, safaricom would still charge 12/- off-network!
#151 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 7:35:13 PM

Safcom just sliding like a sick monkey down a coconut palm tree. Hakuna kitu ya kushikilia...
#152 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 8:19:14 PM

mlennyma wrote:

Zain cannot be forgotten because it DIRECTLY affects the performance of safaricom
Aguytrying
#153 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 8:22:40 PM

On the mover board you'll notice ppl who've jumped 60 places +. crown berger inafanya kazi.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#154 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 9:28:57 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
On the mover board you'll notice ppl who've jumped 60 places +. crown berger inafanya kazi.

guru, you bought crown yesterday and sold today. Applause Now that's what I call fast money
#155 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 1:14:03 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

guru, you bought crown yesterday and sold today. Applause Now that's what I call fast money

Laughing out loudly i need to get back into the top 10...
Aguytrying
#156 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 1:57:13 AM

Im waiting to sell crown at 39 point something. Hopefully kesho, fingers crossed.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Kesh!
#157 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 1:57:14 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

looking at one who did 70+ though OCH let me down today.
Insurgent
#158 Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2010 4:35:12 PM

Wazua, y is My 2 Cents hitting 536838 while he has sold most of his shares at a loss and adding the many transaxtion commissions, his total should eb as misserable as mine if not worse. Does he workd for you?

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

My 2 cents
#159 Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2010 4:37:22 PM

Insurgent wrote:
Wazua, y is My 2 Cents hitting 536838 while he has sold most of his shares at a loss and adding the many transaxtion commissions, his total should eb as misserable as mine if not worse. Does he workd for you?

Why you hating on me? Do the math properly and you will realise my net worth is correctly 536k

Meza wembe!!!
Insurgent
#160 Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2010 4:41:01 PM

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.