wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

@MUREJ
#21 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:11:40 PM

Njung'e[b wrote:
]"Nyamu ya ruguru"[/b] literally means "Beast from the West".It's derogatory in all sense and that is why anyone who can claim to have seen the inside of a class should never use this words...The Jengs have theirs such as Kawango for Wangas,Jarabuon for Okuyos,The Lunjes have Omunyolo (?) for Luos and Musebe (?) for Okuyos.....there are far much more friendlier names if you must refer to whomever by what pleases his/her kinsmen.I wouldn't mind,Mundu/Njamba,Boiyo,Ero,Mogaka,Omwami,Jarateng/Jaduong/Omera,Wase,Murume,Wakuo,King'ei,Shuaib/Shuaiba.....and such!..smile hah!

Huh! Njung'e. I almost thought it meant ' The thing of Waruguru', but now i know better. watu waheshimu wengine.
#22 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:12:54 PM

Elder wrote:
"Nyamu ya ruguru" literally means "Beast from the West".It's derogatory in all sense and that is why anyone who can claim to have seen the inside of a class should never use this words...The Jengs have theirs such as Kawango for Wangas,Jarabuon for Okuyos,The Lunjes have Omunyolo (?) for Luos and Musebe (?) for Okuyos.....there are far much more friendlier names if you must refer to whomever by what pleases his/her kinsmen.I wouldn't mind,Mundu/Njamba,Boiyo,Ero,Mogaka,Omwami,Jarateng/Jaduong/Omera,Wase,Murume,Wakuo,King'ei,Shuaib/Shuaiba.....and such!..smile hah!

I thought the Beast from the West was that dude called Big Pin or Big Ben.

@Elder, huyo ni Beast from the eastsmile .

So, "Nyamu ya ruguru" is kyuk? The derogatory name calling will sure have an effect...

The absence of war is not peace, peace comes through justice....you still have to fear for this country
#23 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:55:33 PM

@Willing,
Cheeky you...!!...If it must,the the name would be ,Drool "Kanyamu ka Waruguru"....a totally different meaning,i.e (Waruguru' aeroplane)Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly
#24 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 6:07:38 PM

@Willing,
Cheeky you...!!...If it must,the the name would be ,Drool "Kanyamu ka Waruguru"....a totally different meaning,i.e (Waruguru' aeroplane)Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly

Aiii. Guka? Waruguru is female. No? Now imagine waruguru having an aeroplane and demanding to land!!! Sasa hii ni mambo gani? Very serious! I thought she should be having an airport. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#25 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 6:14:54 PM

@Maich,
In context..and it's true that Waruguru ought to have an airport.Willin' got it so wrong and he knows tunyamu is for boys....the girls had (I don't know if they still have),ndurume (tu-turume)....Anxious Ngai!...and i am damn sure there is no male name such as Ruguru,or is theresmile
#26 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 6:18:09 PM

@Willing,

Aiii. Guka? Waruguru is female. No? Now imagine warugu having an aeroplane and demand to land!!! Sasa hii ni mambo gani? Very serious! I thought she should be having an airport. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

another topic taking the aeroplane direction...but i'm lost in all the waruguru talk
murenj
#27 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 9:21:03 PM

nice exposition @guka.
#28 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 10:26:14 PM

Meanwhile Murej aka Murenj aka Dr Njeru M has started another thread, this time on Luos.You must be enjoying attention murenj!
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 9:22:18 AM

I thought Murenj was from the lakeside?
murenj
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 28, 2010 10:49:13 AM

it appears that kalenjins have learnt to live with their tribal sensitivities without resorting to name calling whenever they are pointed out. this, to me is a sign of maturity.
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 10:59:10 AM

@ Wendz & Kandonye I thought Murenj is from greatrift. I would call him Cheruiyot.
murenj
#32 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:01:38 AM

It seems that the jengs are the most intollerant lot followed by the ukuyu then the kaleos