wazua Sat, Sep 20, 2025

7 Pages<1234>»
SCOM at Kshs. 4
#21 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 1:05:12 PM

Oh, if only I could short naked Safaricom...

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...You nuts!smile
the deal
#22 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 1:19:46 PM

@Guru i said below '4 bob'...anyways i sold KPLC to continue buying KQ i believe the price will continue to dip as the share has gone EX-DIV...
peter79292
#23 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 1:20:02 PM

@Vitu, am talking about Indian Companies like Triton, Car track and the other one that was competing with DSTV, among others.

Here check this links about Bharti Airtel LtdShame on you Shame on you

http://www.cn-c114.net/576/a544805.html

http://www.cn-c114.net/576/a532275.html

Safcom is a Kenyan company and it's here to stay.
#24 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 1:22:40 PM

peter79292 wrote:
@Vitu, am talking about Indian Companies like Triton, Car track and the other one that was competing with DSTV, among others.

Here check this links about Bharti Airtel LtdShame on you Shame on you

http://www.cn-c114.net/576/a544805.html

http://www.cn-c114.net/576/a532275.html

Safcom is a Kenyan company and it's here to stay.
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Triton & Car Track were Kenyan firms...

As far as Safaricom is concerned... well, seems you are a shareholder but I am sorry to say that as long as Zain-Airtel & YU-Essar keep it up, the profits at Safaricom will suffer!

Nobody has said Safaricom will collapse lakini I see 3.50 by Sep 2011 coz of intense competition from Zain-Airtel & YU-Essar in Voice + Data competition from Zuku & Orange...

Even M-Pesa will see competition from Zap, Yu Cash & Orange Money...
#25 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 2:19:59 PM

the deal wrote:
I'm watching Scom with a hawks eyes at below 4 bob i will definitely go in and average down...the price wars can not be sustained....

Price war can't be sustained, soon everyone will die except our holy beloved Safcon...

Safcon back at 6/=, its a KENYAN company mazee...we have 40% shares....those British dont exist...

I believe Hallelujah I believe....the universe rotates around the Earth!
#26 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 2:34:24 PM

the deal wrote:
I'm watching Scom with a hawks eyes at below 4 bob i will definitely go in and average down...the price wars can not be sustained....

Price war can't be sustained, soon everyone will die except our holy beloved Safcon...

Safcon back at 6/=, its a KENYAN company mazee...we have 40% shares....those British dont exist...

I believe Hallelujah I believe....the universe rotates around the Earth!

I think there needs to be more economics taught in schools because someone saying that the price wars can't be sustained is bordering on ignorant....
sheep
#27 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 3:12:27 PM

I needs to come to around a p/e of 10....right now its at 11.7...with the dividends it doesnt look so bad....its now officially a slow growth stock.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Pablo
#28 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 4:02:15 PM

Theyve stopped with immediate effect all recruitment. What will be their next step?
#29 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 4:11:48 PM

Pablo wrote:
Theyve stopped with immediate effect all recruitment. What will be their next step?

Retrenchement during the months of Oct, Nov, Dec...

Shareholder value, peculiar habits....
#30 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 4:50:18 PM

Safaricom might just make a huge loss in the near future. Voice revenue may drop from 60B to an optimistic 40B. That writes off the entire 20B profit made last year, ceteris paribus. Bolt!!
#31 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 4:51:37 PM

Pablo wrote:

That looks like the most likely outcome. And I have friends and family working for them. Worrying. On the one hand I don't like being exploited by companies charging way too much and making supernatural profits and on the other I don't want my family and friends to lose jobs.
#32 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:27:14 PM

Lesson:

Do not be emotional about stocks.
#33 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 5:34:30 PM

Elder wrote:
Pablo wrote:

That looks like the most likely outcome. And I have friends and family working for them. Worrying. On the one hand I don't like being exploited by companies charging way too much and making supernatural profits and on the other I don't want my family and friends to lose jobs.

I agree 100%. But where do we balance between crazy profits and job losses? This is a terrible situation.
PKoli
#34 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 6:01:53 PM

I do not know what other cards MJ has. Me thinks all the service providers are bleeding and they might just strike a deal, where they may increase the prices upwards, oil industry-like
#35 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 6:33:49 PM

Orange said voice is dead,voice cant die alone the company follows suit.
#36 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 7:03:59 PM

@pkoli, there is no need to form a cartel (by the way bharti and others were forced to meet and raise 'permanent' costs just friday this week in india), apart from the share price and profits sliding by half, safcom has everything to gain by slushing cost further. Let him give a profit warning, reassure shareholders and slush tarrifs to 1.50/- on a promotional offer and watch the other guy bleed to death. If he lets it continue to survive through a deal, it could turn round on us in future. I say strike when the iron is hot. I have seen the september 15 figures and zain gained dot and are now in a major loss position, meanwhile bharti has lost 15% market share in Africa to Vodafone. With their 10bill usd loan for zain africa and their fast eroding profits in india, zain kenya is doing its swan dance.
Meru Holiness
#37 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 7:26:17 PM

The jamaas at Airtel are very, very smart!

Instead of paying Tens of Millions maybe even 100mn+ to ad agencies or advertisers like ScanGroup or Nation Media... they have gained Kenyans attention & loyalty by CUTTING prices!

Kenyans were fed up of seeing another name (KenCell - Celtel - Zain - Airtel) but thanks to the 3/- offer people KNOW about Airtel. The media reports it all the time. Even if Zain-Airtel were to change names, people dont care! They want the 3/- offer!
the deal
#38 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 7:44:29 PM

@Much Know nice strategy...MJ should issue a profit warning & slash calling rates to all networks to 1.50 bob...hahahahahaha i'm sure a few executives @ Zain will go bald...
#39 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 8:08:42 PM

the deal wrote:
@Much Know nice strategy...MJ should issue a profit warning & slash calling rates to all networks to 1.50 bob...hahahahahaha i'm sure a few executives @ Zain will go bald...

If he does such a thing, the share will be trading at 1 bob. You will be buying your nephews and nieces sweets and the little kids will be telling you eagerly, ''Unko, si ungetununulia tu shares za Safaricom''
#40 Posted : Monday, September 27, 2010 8:10:46 PM

@pkoli, there is no need to form a cartel (by the way bharti and others were forced to meet and raise 'permanent' costs just friday this week in india), apart from the share price and profits sliding by half, safcom has everything to gain by slushing cost further. Let him give a profit warning, reassure shareholders and slush tarrifs to 1.50/- on a promotional offer and watch the other guy bleed to death. If he lets it continue to survive through a deal, it could turn round on us in future. I say strike when the iron is hot. I have seen the september 15 figures and zain gained dot and are now in a major loss position, meanwhile bharti has lost 15% market share in Africa to Vodafone. With their 10bill usd loan for zain africa and their fast eroding profits in india, zain kenya is doing its swan dance.

Share those Sept figures with us