wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

120,000 what to invest in
richsisco
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 6:31:35 PM

d'oh! d'oh!
I have 120,000 in cash. I want to invest in business because shares are long term investments.
Do i erect a pub? msee What about the liquor license?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 7:11:21 PM

120k is pocket change and hardly enough to bring up a pub
qw25041985
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 7:24:08 PM

Hehehe. Ati pocket change. Miss guru. Please stop flossin.
Anyway I am an ethical investor ,so u already knw my answer.
Invest in shares. Buy banking stocks as they'll surge as we head to yrs end.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 7:32:12 PM

A changaa den will do... The fortune at the bottom of the pyramid
mkonomtupu
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 7:48:06 PM

Get nine other people with 120,000 cash and you can have a decent pub with a liqour licence. Otherwise 120,000 on a pub maybe a grocery shop but i admire your determination.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 8:05:49 PM

richsisco wrote:
d'oh! d'oh!
I have 120,000 in cash. I want to invest in business because shares are long term investments.

Yes you can. Open a Senator pub or Changaa pub since it's been legalised.

#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 9:54:18 PM

Guys are right here,120k in the rough kenyan business enviroment is nothing,you can get one room at kayole or dandora and do something like grocery but never think of anywhere near the serious shopping centers.
ProverB
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 8:43:34 AM

richsisco wrote:
d'oh! d'oh!

whatever you did to get the 120K? keep doing it...come back when may be it's tripple that. otherwise.. stick with stocks.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
erifloss
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 9:20:06 AM

Do stocks. Investing is all about skills and patience. I plunged into this crazy world with only 10k in 2007 and as they say wine gets better with time....
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
X13united
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 10:04:52 AM

My 3 cent to this b a millionaire quick. Join us in the nse. Seat back n wait 4 safcom at sh4. One more thing, take your time.
gogeta
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 10:13:04 AM

A pub in Nairobi and its environs may be a bit hard to start with 120k. May be a small thingie na huko shags.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
emlyn ngwiri
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:13:54 PM

why not try unit trusts; the management is left to the professionals and the profit is acquired for you?
The Merchant
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:33:23 PM

Get into the markets my friend. If you are not into trading then do what you love. It sounds to me like you want to open a pub because you believe pubs make money? Their margins are not very high and with your initial capital you could get tired easily. Join us in the financial markets, we are waiting for you.
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:45:01 PM

i have made 50% in stocks in less than 6 months. Can any trade beat this? Other than piracy of course!
groupielove
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 3:45:30 PM

Your idea is good but you are ltd in terms of capital. Consider this: a small home pub in the hood will require the following:
Rent @ 15,000 + 2months Deposit = 45,000
Elec + water Deposit = 4,000
Liqour + trade licence = 15,000
Health licence (workers+premises)= 6,000
Contructing a cheap counter = 30,000
Furnitures (tables,seats,stools)= 45,000
TV screen (without DSTV connection)= 26,000
Music entertainment = 15,000

All this totals up to 186k. This excludes the stock, painting and any rennovations, goodwill if any and marketing (like nyama choma for introduction).
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 3:56:24 PM

Become a shylock and start with me
slykat
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 4:10:41 PM

guru267 wrote:
120k is pocket change and hardly enough to bring up a pub

Guru wewe, wacha kujitoa marks na hubris... there probably was a time it wasn't pocket change for you. If it always were, next you will tell him to buy cake with it.

Achievement is relative and must be encouraged especially in a continent where few can dream of earning that in a year, let alone setting it aside. I like the line above; whatever you did to set that aside keep doing it while you draw up a biz plan.
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 4:12:46 PM

kyt wrote:
i have made 50% in stocks in less than 6 months. Can any trade beat this? Other than piracy of course!

How do you guys do this for some of us who've given up on stocks? I struggle with which shares to buy (i'm sure economists/financiers in this forum have a way to analyze ROIs for companies before they invest)....is there a website where i can easily monitor changes in the NSE? Because Dyer & Blair sina imani nao, ni statements tu ndio wanatuma...
Fundaah
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 6:08:48 PM

120K is alot of money.

Due to my religious inclination...I wont advise you to open a pub.....Infact I encourage people to stop drinking.....smile smile smile smile smile But ....here are some Ideas for you....

1.Start small business in one of Nairobis slums.Eg cooking Mandazis and supplying them in Kiosks, shops and supermarkets in the slum. I know A guy who started so and now he has a car.He infact started with less than 20K.

2.With decentralisation about to happen due to the new constitution Start a business e.g selling plastic utensils, basins , buckets etc in upcountry trading centre.
establish a good relationship with suppliers and you will get credit terms with them in due course.

3.If you are a man start Buying cattle cows ,sheep & goats and selling then during market days.

4.Get a stall in Gikomba Market and start a second hand cloth business.

5.Buy a blender (2-3K) start selling Juice in densely populated areas such as slums .Combine with a popcorn machine about 20k Juakali model.

6.Get connection in slums ....look for someone selling a plot there be careful not to be conned.....build mabati houses and you become a landlord......No sweat though risky.

120k ni nyingi sana if you are a hustler .All the best .

There are so many ideas .
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 6:40:53 PM

@ non, scbk, was 202, exit 305. Thats it april to august 5th. 50% bas hakuna jambo ingine.