Market
Pennywise
Cheapest fuel stations in Nairobi
Rank: Member Joined: 8/4/2008 Posts: 205 Location: Nairobi
VituVingiSana wrote:MaichBlack wrote:jawz1 wrote:that said the aim of this thread is to reward the stations which keep prices fair and to snub the guzzlers who are out to exploit us. Fuel prices have not changed that drastically on the international markets! I totally agree with you. Wazuans, lets snub all the petrol stations exploiting us and also encourage all our colleagues, relatives, neighbours, friends, enemies etc. to do the same. Even if it is a 50 cents difference, go to the next one. If most of us vote with our feet [or wheels for that matter], the competition will start by stations lowering a shilling here, a shilling there and before we know it we will have a Zain - Safcom type price war. Sisi ndio tumeharibu hawa makafiri!!! I am a KenolKobil shareholder but this guys are the worst! Wanauza mafuta ni kama wameeka powerfoam plus na steroids za gari. Bure kabisa. Maybe they use powerfoam? I thought you had a choice? Then go elsewhere... why complain when you can vote with your feet? BTW, KK is the only independent I know that does independent tests to check that their dealers are not playing around with the quality of the fuel... yaani, they keep an eye on their dealers too... @VVS; yet the same KK has the highest prices in the market. I don't want to provoke a Safaricom/Zain firestorm on a fuel price thread but using your support for Zain for bringing down prices despite Safcom's various additive services, I'll avoid KK for now and use other pocket friendly alternatives. BTW, any link or documents to verify the independent surveyors report of KK stations or is it a KK marketing strategy? "When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
Fuel going for 93 national oil corporation. better avoid KK though in equity is it a best buy now? while awaitimg a rebound. The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
Can't believe it!.....Just fueled at 96 from the only station which has fuel near me....Hell!!.....and i understand the idiots are making a cool 12 bob as the government watches....No need to complain anyway.There was once a Mr.Mwirichia who heads ERC and he came up with a pricing formula modeled on a similar one used in SA.....He nyef nyefd about a deadline,which was later extended and that's the last thing we heard about it.....This country is run by idiots who cannot even justify why they earn from taxpayers.....ABK! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,354 Location: Nairobi
jawz1 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:MaichBlack wrote:jawz1 wrote:that said the aim of this thread is to reward the stations which keep prices fair and to snub the guzzlers who are out to exploit us. Fuel prices have not changed that drastically on the international markets! I totally agree with you. Wazuans, lets snub all the petrol stations exploiting us and also encourage all our colleagues, relatives, neighbours, friends, enemies etc. to do the same. Even if it is a 50 cents difference, go to the next one. If most of us vote with our feet [or wheels for that matter], the competition will start by stations lowering a shilling here, a shilling there and before we know it we will have a Zain - Safcom type price war. Sisi ndio tumeharibu hawa makafiri!!! I am a KenolKobil shareholder but this guys are the worst! Wanauza mafuta ni kama wameeka powerfoam plus na steroids za gari. Bure kabisa. Maybe they use powerfoam? I thought you had a choice? Then go elsewhere... why complain when you can vote with your feet? BTW, KK is the only independent I know that does independent tests to check that their dealers are not playing around with the quality of the fuel... yaani, they keep an eye on their dealers too... @VVS; yet the same KK has the highest prices in the market. I don't want to provoke a Safaricom/Zain firestorm on a fuel price thread but using your support for Zain for bringing down prices despite Safcom's various additive services, I'll avoid KK for now and use other pocket friendly alternatives. BTW, any link or documents to verify the independent surveyors report of KK stations or is it a KK marketing strategy? Free choice... do what you want... LOL... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Njung'e wrote:Can't believe it!.....Just fueled at 96 from the only station which has fuel near me....Hell!!.....and i understand the idiots are making a cool 12 bob as the government watches....No need to complain anyway.There was once a Mr.Mwirichia who heads ERC and he came up with a pricing formula modeled on a similar one used in SA.....He nyef nyefd about a deadline,which was later extended and that's the last thing we heard about it.....This country is run by idiots who cannot even justify why they earn from taxpayers.....ABK! Well... if nyoike would come clean on who is hogging ullage at KPC (forcing OMCs to use road transport) might help unwind the mystery... and lower prices... Gulf Energy... kuna kitu... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
@Njunge, I recall and remember this move prompted Shell to reduce the pump prices to 76 when the others were at 80s. IHO: 1. Its amazing that most people in this blog will shout against price control of essential commodities and cry loudest when things get where they are at the pump. The effect of high fuel prices on the overall economic performance cannot be gainsaid. 2. I find it ridiculous that we can celebrate price control of phone call tariff through CCK but not think the same of fuel prices. 3. The very people in government who should take measures to ensure consumers are not exploited, why? they are interested parties in oil companies. As for MPs and ministers, they get free fuel and so they don't feel it when we yap yap. Bure kabisa. 4. I suspect that the Mwirichia pricing formula should be reintroduced.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
Njung'e wrote:Can't believe it!.....Just fueled at 96 from the only station which has fuel near me....Hell!!.....and i understand the idiots are making a cool 12 bob as the government watches....No need to complain anyway.There was once a Mr.Mwirichia who heads ERC and he came up with a pricing formula modeled on a similar one used in SA.....He nyef nyefd about a deadline,which was later extended and that's the last thing we heard about it.....This country is run by idiots who cannot even justify why they earn from taxpayers.....ABK! You better believe it coz that's how much I have been paying for my fuel for the past one week. It's reached a stage where I do to a petrol station and I don't want to check at the rates anymore. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
@rahatupu - CCK does not regulate prices to consumers but sets the MAXIMUM INTERCONNECTION charges... As for fuel/petrol... Thanks to the idiots/crooks at MoE the process of importing fuel is becoming a monopoly... an inefficient one at that too. It favors the lousy/inefficient NOCK & some firms that seem to have a monopoly on imports... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 8/4/2008 Posts: 205 Location: Nairobi
Looks like the more Nyoike pleads the faster the pump prices rise...grrrr 100shs per liter next week; takers anyone? "When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
jawz1 wrote:@VVS; yet the same KK has the highest prices in the market. I don't want to provoke a Safaricom/Zain firestorm on a fuel price thread but using your support for Zain for bringing down prices despite Safcom's various additive services, I'll avoid KK for now and use other pocket friendly alternatives. BTW, any link or documents to verify the independent surveyors report of KK stations or is it a KK marketing strategy? @jawz1 - I couldn't have said it better! On all Safaricom threads, @vvs shouts at the top of his voice in support of Zain and their low charges despite all the additives by safaricom. Reading this thread, one cannot believe this is the same @vvs!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Market
Pennywise
Cheapest fuel stations in Nairobi