wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

10 Pages«<34567>»
Cheapest fuel stations in Nairobi
groupielove
#41 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 3:29:55 PM

I usually fuel in different parts of the town but the cheapest stations are either in Outering road or Kangundo road - umoja area. Outering shell and oil libya just after baba dogo on your way to thika rd is 90.99. In umoja area u can get around 92/ltr
OhBoy!
#42 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 4:13:14 PM

A difference of a shilling, two or three DOESN'T make much of a difference especially if one is fueling less than 10 liters!!!

Need i explain???

#43 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 8:00:12 PM

OhBoy! wrote:
A difference of a shilling, two or three DOESN'T make much of a difference especially if one is fueling less than 10 liters!!!

Need i explain???

No, you don't need to explain because you don't get the point in the first place. If you sell at a shilling more and you get almost zero customers, you'll definitely reduce your prices by 1/=. The neighbouring fuel station will realize it has lost it's competitive advantage and lower their prices by 1/=. You will consequently reduce your prices again and the neighbouring petrol station does the same. This is replicated by all fuel stations and before we know it, fuel is retailing at what can be termed as the optimal/fair price.

As long as we continue fueling at petrol stations that are selling fuel at 98.4/= while the next station is selling at 90/=, why would they want to reduce their prices. Look at the bigger picture my friend. Not the 1/=.
#44 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 8:18:04 PM

jawz1 wrote:
that said the aim of this thread is to reward the stations which keep prices fair and to snub the guzzlers who are out to exploit us. Fuel prices have not changed that drastically on the international markets!

I totally agree with you. Wazuans, lets snub all the petrol stations exploiting us and also encourage all our colleagues, relatives, neighbours, friends, enemies etc. to do the same. Even if it is a 50 cents difference, go to the next one.

If most of us vote with our feet [or wheels for that matter], the competition will start by stations lowering a shilling here, a shilling there and before we know it we will have a Zain - Safcom type price war. Sisi ndio tumeharibu hawa makafiri!!! I am a KenolKobil shareholder but this guys are the worst! Wanauza mafuta ni kama wameeka powerfoam plus na steroids za gari. Bure kabisa.

Maybe they use powerfoam? Laughing out loudly
I thought you had a choice? Then go elsewhere... why complain when you can vote with your feet?
BTW, KK is the only independent I know that does independent tests to check that their dealers are not playing around with the quality of the fuel... yaani, they keep an eye on their dealers too...
#45 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 8:22:18 PM

There is more than price... Apple sells phones & computers yet charge 30% more... So what is the 'trick'? Service?

Same with flying or mechanics or phone calls!!!!

Zain & YU (IMHO) were the cheapest (in the days of 6/- vuka) yet Safaricom dominated... Even when Zain went to 3/-... I doubt they have captured more than 20% of the market...

BTW, I use Zain/Airtel... since the vuka days...
#46 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 9:25:34 PM

There is more than price... Apple sells phones & computers yet charge 30% more... So what is the 'trick'? Service?

Did you just compare fuel to computers and phones? Computers and phones have different specs? Enlighten me on the different specs of fuel please. And don't give me that Diesel Plus business and such stuff.
#47 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 9:59:41 PM

Did you just compare fuel to computers and phones? Computers and phones have different specs? Enlighten me on the different specs of fuel please. And don't give me that Diesel Plus business and such stuff.
Whether you believe it or not... [I don't really care]... there are differences in quality & additives for fuels...

BTW, most fuels esp petrol has a 'freshness' factor too...
#48 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:15:28 AM

consumer loyalty is of great importance esp in commodity markets like phones and electronics. when it comes to fuel we tend to generally fuel in a couple of stations (unless you buy special products like shell V-power)
in this case price is of essance because fuel prices are highly elastic. this is to mean, a small change in price will to a great deal affect the demand of the product.
#49 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 2:57:11 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/5nmxs4z/-/index.html
jawz1
#50 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 8:32:16 AM

OhBoy! wrote:

Need i explain???

No, you don't need to explain because you don't get the point in the first place. If you sell at a shilling more and you get almost zero customers, you'll definitely reduce your prices by 1/=. The neighbouring fuel station will realize it has lost it's competitive advantage and lower their prices by 1/=. You will consequently reduce your prices again and the neighbouring petrol station does the same. This is replicated by all fuel stations and before we know it, fuel is retailing at what can be termed as the optimal/fair price.

As long as we continue fueling at petrol stations that are selling fuel at 98.4/= while the next station is selling at 90/=, why would they want to reduce their prices. Look at the bigger picture my friend. Not the 1/=.

@MaichBlack, you really knocked it out of the park on this one! Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
That's the best argument for us to keep abreast of the prices which unfortunately keep rising each week Sad

@OhBoy! I fuel 15-20litres each week so getting fuel at 92 instead of 99shs per liter makes a huge difference. It's all about trying to make some savings at the budget level; employers aren't raising transport allowances and consumer advocacy and protection in Kenya was a stillbirth...
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
10 Pages«<34567>»