wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

33 Pages«<7891011>»
KQ in 2010-11 (Boom, Bust or Blah)
#161 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 7:15:50 PM

@mwanahisa is right. The price is NOT at 24/-... but 47/- so there is good news in-built. The question is what is expected for next year?

I, like many others, have been bullish on earnings [I have no inside info] but the news reports that KQ needed a new/additional plane for NBO-MBA flights, additional planes/embraers leased, new destinations (Luanda, Muscat, Juba, etc), World Cup, etc meant 1H looked better vs last year...
mwanahisa
#162 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 7:20:21 PM

Assuming that the increase will not have been factored prior to the announcement. Tripling of KQ's 2009-10 H1 PAT takes it to Kshs 2.58B in 2010-11 or Half Year EPS of Kshs 5.6.

If we assume a neutral or positive outlook statement and that the profits have arisen out of operations, folks would start postulating full year EPS of Kshs 9 after discounting some risk in H2. KQ is an airline after all.

Historically, KQ has generally traded at a foward PE of 10 or therabouts. Theoretical price could then be headed back to Kshs 90+.

I trust that this is a hypothetical situation. I am fairly certain that KQ cannot achieve this feat in this Half, unless of course you are referring to the Operating Profits which were a miserly 160 million. I expect this to go up by a factor of more than 10!!!
#163 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 7:47:45 PM

KQ will increase frequencies to Hong Kong & Guangzhou from Oct 2010 to daily using 777s...

http://www.facebook.com/...a/posts/153402864680851

Also daily flights to Naijaland using larger 777s...
#164 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 10:58:10 PM

Daily to China and Naija means much better utilization of crew as they don't have to stay for days in Lagos or China waiting for a plane to bring back to Nrb.
Meanwhile I believe KQ goes xd on Friday - should we expect a price drop?
the deal
#165 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:19:45 AM

IATA projects the highest growth in passenger numbers in 2010 will come from the fast East & Africa...nice move KQ...now Boeing deliver those planes....
#166 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:24:29 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Daily to China and Naija means much better utilization of crew as they don't have to stay for days in Lagos or China waiting for a plane to bring back to Nrb.
Meanwhile I believe KQ goes xd on Friday - should we expect a price drop?
Well, the dividend is 1/- so it matters little if it drops 1/- after it is xd...

I wish I could go for the AGM lakini it is a whole day affair!
ProverB
#167 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 8:35:46 AM

mwanahisa wrote:

I trust that this is a hypothetical situation. I am fairly certain that KQ cannot achieve this feat in this Half, unless of course you are referring to the Operating Profits which were a miserly 160 million. I expect this to go up by a factor of more than 10!!!

how do you propose the above to be achieved?.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Pierce
#168 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 9:05:08 AM

KQ going xd will not affect the share price. The low dividend payout is actually the 'cause' of the current low price.

Having said that, the possibility I have propositioned is not factored into the current share price.

Let's await 4th of Nov.
#169 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 10:58:59 AM

IATA now predicts profit boom in the airline industry...source ntv
ProverB
#170 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 12:40:23 PM

Pierce wrote:
KQ going xd will not affect the share price. The low dividend payout is actually the 'cause' of the current low price.

but dividend payout has forever been low how could it be the reason for the current low price of the KQ share??.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
mwanahisa
#171 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 12:55:40 PM

ProverB wrote:
mwanahisa wrote:

how do you propose the above to be achieved?.

Full Year 2009-10 Operating Profit stood at Kshs 1.839 B, while H1 2009-10 was Kshs 160 M. Ergo, H2 Operating Profit must have been Kshs 1.679 B. Replicate that in 2010-11 and you have your factor of 10x. Given the better operating environment in H1 2010-11, we would expect better.

See quote from Q1 2010-11 KQ's operating performance:

Uptake of total production at 1,892m revenue passenger kilometres represents a 9% growth compared to last year while the total passenger tally, which closed on 666,658 increased by 4%. The growth underpins increased long haul customer travel made possible by better economic environment. The resulting average cabin factor improved from last year’s level of 61.6% to 67.2%.

Now, send out your BUY order!!! Buy me a beer someday if you make good on this.....hahaha.. I can buy you one if the bet turns otherwise.
#172 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 8:59:47 PM

I agree with @mwanahisa that the Operating Profits for 1H 2010-11 will be very good with the increase in traffic. The recent international/Africa KQ flight I took was FULL... yaani, 100% full...
the deal
#173 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 10:41:09 PM

I will add more KQ after my exit from KPLC i believe this is the stock to watch in the 4th QTR of 2010..
oswaf
#174 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 11:32:35 PM

i bought 5000 of kq last year nov @ 24 and it hit 60 by jan. I'll be buying more when it hits 45 then wait for jan.
#175 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 11:50:41 PM

This stock is about to create millionares
PKoli
#176 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 1:14:17 PM

mlennyma wrote:
This stock is about to create millionares

Are you predicting the stock to rise to 100 and above
#177 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 1:45:45 PM

Not really 100 but you will have good pocket money and some savings
#178 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 8:07:46 PM

Thinking back on my last flight on KQ (intra-African) & the 737-800 was FULL... If they have similar flights over most of Africa (the most profitable section) then they are on a roll!!!

I can't speak to the share price but I think the 1H 2010-11 PAT will be good & the Operating Profit will be spectacular vs last year!
Horton
#179 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 11:30:45 AM

Thinking back on my last flight on KQ (intra-African) & the 737-800 was FULL... If they have similar flights over most of Africa (the most profitable section) then they are on a roll!!!

I can't speak to the share price but I think the 1H 2010-11 PAT will be good & the Operating Profit will be spectacular vs last year!

yeah loads are pretty good esp out of the wild west at the moment...came in from freetown the other day, full house. Was in Benin yesteray half loads, again not bad for the new sector....

2 weeks ago, operated nbo-mct-dxb... that route is really doing well. We had to offload 400kgs of cargo as we were too heavy for take off. Most pax were destined for MCT, rally good for a new route
#180 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 12:08:26 PM

@horton, do you mean they had loaded the cargo then offloaded it? Or they never loaded it in the first place? If the former, the cargo manager should be fired as loading an aircraft is really basic math. He cost me the shareholder lost earnings as time was wasted and the craft delayed. Given the tight turn around times KQ has on its craft, that means a knock on effect on delayed connections for passengers resulting in needless accommodation costs.