Culture
Why do they kill?
Have you noticed how many murders are reported these days where a man has killed his family? or a family member has killed another? What's happening with us people? why would a man want to kill his wife and children? Why not just leave her? Or if he has to kill, why not kill himself? And why kill the children to get back at her? The kids are innocent....... Who understands this madness? do they just wake up one day and just kill or is it something they have been contemplating for a while? What signs should one look out for in a spouse who can do such a heinous act? Do they give forewarning? if someone threatens that they can kill, should they be taken seriously or is it just bluff? Should it be reported to the police? Knowing our police force, would that increase the chances of him/her becoming more aggressive? Its questions that keep nagging me and i dont seem to understand....and the incidences are becoming way too many..... And not just in kenya. http://www.malawivoice.com/latest-news/y/
Can anyone who has some background/experience with psychology of killers enlighten us.
Simple. Women are becoming intollerable. A man is a proud animal, n his ego must never be touched! Many women dont knw this, and thats when the aggressive animal in him takes over (akin to releasing a caged dangerous animal) n shit hits the fan...Again, a good no. Of men cant control this animal once it comes out... TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Kwanza bibi yako akiwa mwanachama wa kamwerethu ......wewe kwisha!! IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Agreed very concerning. I've been told that it's a clear symptom of depression resulting in irrational behaviour. I remember on another thread http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.as...ts&m=95737#post95737 I queried why it seems to affect so many children these days. However, depression seems to be rampant in Kenya society today. So the clear things to look out for in depression: http://www.helpguide.org...diagnosis_treatment.htm
We are trained how to treat sickness... and little on prevention.... mental health, as a major function.... of the overall health status of an individual... is really examined... until we tear our clothes from our bodies.... or the tyres of cars.... well administered psychology prevents... a visit to the psychiatrist.... sadly we do not think we are ill... until we drop dead.... many of us are walking madmen..... with elaborate release valves.... like alcohol..... pornography.... road rage.... violence.... multiple and never ending sexual relations... all these are signs... thus... look for the trained hand... to release that tension...... stress.... anguish... before the mind erupts... with pangas.... and more death.... I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
@Wendz...I would try and answer You asked do they just wake up one day and just kill or is it something they have been contemplating for a while? What signs should one look out for in a spouse who can do such a heinous act? Do they give forewarning? Yes there are sign a murderer is like suicidal they keep saying their intention infact there is lady in our church whom we advised to separate because the hubby keeps telling her that one of them will go to morgue and the other one to prison.Also animal cruelty when having sex and if the person abuses drugs kama bangi etc
@Simonkabz.....true, i know we arent angels.... my only question is, why doenst he just walk away and leave her, divorce, separate, get married to someone else?
@muganda & TRS - But is this depression carried on for years and years? Even when the family seems to be doing better than they were earlier? We used to hear of these with the poor members of the community, but it is creeping in to the middle class and the rich. Problem is, if someone doesnt believe they are sick, are they really going to accept to go for help? Just like the way the mad men/women insist they arent sick...
@pastor i hear you loud and clear. I think sometimes there is this thing that keeps telling you that they spoke out of anger and they will come back to their senses when they cool down. There was this case, actually two, where a lady had separated with the husband and the husband was given visitation rights. One of the times he picked the kids (I think the lady lived in Umoja/mutindwa) they never came back.. he killed them and killed himself and left a note written in their blood.... some men are not able to take rejection very kindly/calmly.
@Wendz if you hear anyone saying I will kill,or he says nitajiua that should awaken your alarms...In my counseling to young people about dating and courtship I advise them if you have a partner (man or woman) who is over possesive,slaps you,and abuses in your dating think of a way you can terminate that relationship.
Rank: User Joined: 6/27/2008 Posts: 709 Location: Velayat-e Faryab
@Wendz Men from Western parts of the country have a tendency of letting their relatives know about their predicament through the media. The best way for them, according to an associate from the area, is to do nation shocking vituko so that all relatives are informed at the same time na unawacha sifa hata kama ni mbaya. Prior to the act, the men usually sound a warning especially the veiled type. Women in most cases tend to ignore such warnings by continuing to do what prompted the threat in the first place. That is why you find women who continue living in an abusive marriage continue to do the same mistakes (from the man's perspective) and the man continues to rain terror on her. Why the children are dispatched also is cauze the man believes the woman is obdurate courtesy of the children as he can do nothing to her. She is the caretaker of the children and thus she believes the man cannot do without her. The man thus has an ingrained disdain for the children. He also knows that when the children grow up and know daddy killed mummy, then he will surely be in real and imagined trouble. If you know of someone who is facing such a crisis, send him/her to our facility at Mbagathi Way. Our current concern is with the reducing population of children in Central Kenya. What many ppl..... let me start a thread on the same. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
HOPE THIS HELPS (C&P) "Lack of empathy and lack of remorse, are often seen in offenders of deviant crimes. Lacking empathy, offenders are able to view their victims as objects, to use and throw away as they please, not unlike a piece of garbage. By viewing the victim in this manner, offenders also seem to lack remorse for their actions, which protects them from feeling guilt. It should be noted that psychopaths can and do express feelings of empathy, remorse and guilt without actually experiencing the associated feelings. In other words, psychopaths can state that they feel sorry for their actions, or seemingly empathize for the victims, yet actually feel nothing. To the psychopath, these are simply words they have learned from others that describe the appropriate feelings, but are only used to gain a future victim's trust or to minimize punishment. ‘psychopathic offenders may be viewed as aggressive narcissists that commit offenses to restore or further build upon their own sense of being dominant, powerful, or otherwise better than their victims.’ Other indicators of psychopathy include a parasitic lifestyle and the use of superficial charm to succeed in these ventures. Although psychopaths have difficulties with relationships, they are more than willing to put on their "mask" for criminal activities that require them to be charming or demonstrate a sense of caring. Again, this is an act; one that can change very quickly because psychopaths lack the behavioral controls over sudden feelings of rage. This can lead to violence on the part of the psychopath, who does not think of the consequences of his actions. Psychopathy is a enduring pattern of behavior. The first signs of psychopathy may be seen in childhood with early behavior problems, juvenile delinquency, and lack of long-term life goals or planning. This can and does continue into adulthood where many will meet the criteria for Antisocial Personality Disorder (ASPD) as indicated in DSM-IV (1994). Antisocial personality disorder and psychopathy have several similar criteria, yet they are not the same." http://www.deviantcrimes.com/psychopathology.htm
Rank: Member Joined: 1/16/2010 Posts: 672 Location: nairobi
The truth is .....when men move away from God ....all this evil creep in.....but funny enough....people seek for cure elsewhere than in God himself.... I dont see a difference in the following An unfaithful partner who knowing all the risks....moves around....get HIV and infect the partner....both live suffering because of one! A robber who enters to a house ....robs; rapes and kills his victims who have not even resisted Instead of taking the merchandise and go. A man who rapes a minor…even 2 yrs olds..and subject the innocent to a life-long of trouble coming to self realization as to why someone could do this. In all these; we see men who have no heart for a human being…..beasts in which the human nature has been replaced by a nature indescribable…a satanic nature,….a demonic nature… This simply describes the emptiness ….. the absence of God. The answer lies in going back to God!!! Kama sivyo….ngojeni…mengi yaja…..for in the last days….wickedness shall increase! God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!
Can anyone who has some background/experience with psychology of killers enlighten us.
Case study one Mukovelo He was married with 7 kids. As he struggled to feed them, issues were coming up. While disciplining his fifth, he noticed that a neighbour consistently showed up to ask him stop visiting cruelity on the children. At times, the wife would say, “Mbona unachapa hawa watoto na siwako” When this persisted, he would slap the wife for mocking him about the children. In one serious situation, Mukovelo was arrested by the local chief after the wife accused him of not bringing enough food for the whole family. Mukovelo was beaten senseless by the chiefs APs and warned never to touch the children again. The became courageous now that she had the chiefs support and could now tell her man off. Mukovelo became a man under siege. He started noticing the stark different physical appearance of a number of his kids. Just to be sure, he decided to tell his wife that he has left for Nairobi to buy some spare-parts for his car. However, he never went very far from home. That night, he returned to his compound unnoticed and watched his house from a strategic spot. Sure enough, a man from the village showed up and your guess is as good as mine. The plane landed at the airport without much ado. “Ha!”, it dawned on Mukovelo, “Kumbe I have always thought I have a dear one lakini ni Mraya!”. The next day, he showed up, said he had not gotten the spare-parts and that was that. In his mind, he started filling in the jig-puzzle. On a desolate Sunday, Mukovelo woke up with one resolution, “Wacha wasome hi shida yangu kwa gazeti”. He waited for the wife to go to church, called the oldest child. He had prepared a panga for the occasion. On entering, the child was scythed down with one swoop of the panga. Another was called and the other three, much younger, were attacked outside near the avocado tree. Mukovelo then went to his neighbour’s place, asked him to come along to his house. “Huyu neighbour huja ninapompiga Shisanya na wanafanana sana.. No wonder he comes to the aid of the boy when he screams”. Neighbour thinks , why not, Shisanya might be feeling ill and I might assist. On peeping inside the house, a panga blow brings him down into a heap. The culprit is now in full swing, riding the furry with a vengeance. He runs to the kachief and says things have gone out of kilter at his house. The chief, on smelling blood calls his tu APs and runs after Mukovesh. The chief is shown into the house and on putting his head into house, a panga blow almost splits his head into two. Some more blows on his back leave deep cuts. He manages to escape with Mukovelo in hot pursuit. The APs have also taken to their heels with the smell of murder pervading the air. The chief lives to tell the story. The mother of his children gets wind of happenings at home and rushes home only to find her dear husband waiting to dispatch her to the ether world. Only two of the seven children survived cause they were visiting with their aunt at the time. When he was brought to Nairobi for …., he still was asking for time to go and finish the other two kids. Mukovelo was a distant uncle to me. And you still ask why men a murdering the whole family. It’s not smoking JAH food. Ngoma shia aka are worse than the devil himself. Pole if the truth offends someone here. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/13/2010 Posts: 869 Location: Nairobi
@ 2 cents, allow me to use your name My 2 cents on the issue.. I hear a lot of blame on women. Whereas some things may be true in some cases, women are not totally to blame for this vice. I am not a feminist but i think we have it all wrong there. Everyone is responsible for their actions. Secondly, we feed our children and ourselves with violent and weird scenes on TV (24, prison break, ghost whisperers), why, i pray, will people not turn violent?? My take is that we should up our morality. That will solve a lot. Nothing comes easy, if we want this to end, we must invest in our children. Part (note, Part) of that comes because of what we allow them to watch. There is also mental illness that can go un-diagnosed for long or extended periods of stress/too much stress. All said and done, these killers are our brothers, sisters, children.. we can help stop this. ....above all, to stand.
Ms Mkenya wrote:@ 2 cents, allow me to use your name My 2 cents on the issue.. I hear a lot of blame on women. Whereas some things may be true in some cases, women are not totally to blame for this vice. I am not a feminist but i think we have it all wrong there. Everyone is responsible for their actions. Secondly, we feed our children and ourselves with violent and weird scenes on TV (24, prison break, ghost whisperers), why, i pray, will people not turn violent?? My take is that we should up our morality. That will solve a lot. Nothing comes easy, if we want this to end, we must invest in our children. Part (note, Part) of that comes because of what we allow them to watch. There is also mental illness that can go un-diagnosed for long or extended periods of stress/too much stress. All said and done, these killers are our brothers, sisters, children.. we can help stop this. @Ms Mkenya TV kitu gani? Look at the census again. Western/Nyanza region had one TV to 20,000 ppl. In otherwords, if this homestead has a TV, you need to travel 100km before you find another homestead with a TV (I've magnified the figures in order to drive the message home properly). Radio, the ration is 4 radios to one person, ie., in a homestead, the three sons each has a radio and mzee also has his old radio and a monogram (radio ya kinanda) if the family has an iron roof on their heads. So, hi prison break wanaionea wapi? Anyway, the chief mentioned above actually had two children with Mukovelo's wife. That is why he gave the family's matters a first priority. For Mukovelo to have added one plus one and known the answer means he was smart. What recourse do you give such a family man. Remember, in those areas, you must go through the chief if you have serious family issues. No courts, no lawyers, no legal representation etc. The chief is the alfa and omega. Use of the panga has always been seen as beastly. Mukovelo would have preferred a machine gun to execute his heinous crime as it would have been more efficient. But because he used a panga, he is looked upon as being extremely evil. Heard of those guys in America who walk into a college and spray crowds with bullets? Some of these guys are as young as your son. For them, they have access to a gun. That is the difference. NB: The chief is a man, not a woman, the neighbour was aman, Mukovelo was a man. In the scene, we had only one woman. Am not blaming women? The woman did not wield or brandish a panga. @Wendz I was expecting you back here blazing like never before. Kwani what happened. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Surealligator wrote: @Wendz
I was expecting you back here blazing like never before. Kwani what happened.
Because when i put up those questions, i was not trying to challenge the reasons why but to understand the minds behind this....
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
I must say that this thread has created a good forum on an issue that has puzzled me as well. Several people have raised th issue of mental illness as the main cause. My question is, is mental illness a new phenomenon? Why are these killings taking place more than in the past? Have people just started using drugs? Drugs have been there since i can remember. Why is the african american community also greatly affected by this vice. I have heard enough stories of these guys killing their girlfriends and baby mommas and even their girlfriends mothers. What is the main force behind this sudden thirst to kill? Is there anything we're overlooking. Have women all of a sudden become so intolerable? I don't buy that explanation( about the women ). Does increasing poverty or maybe hiv have anything to do with this? Hata mimi nimewezwa na mambo haya
@Shak, Surealligator has a very valid point if we think it through. Most of these incidences are about a man felling caged and unable to get out. Normally, in such a case, he would rather die with those who were caging him. Let it not be lost here that, the most of these cases start with madharua ndogo ndogo nyumbani and the most likely trigger is realising that your WIFE is sharing out your airport. I do not think there is anything more humiliating to a man than that. If you have heard the song 'coward of the county' then you may understand what I am saying. @Wendz, i agree that it is logical to walk away but logic does not count then. Moreover, she is the one who is living at your house and you are bringing up watoto wa jirani. The Jirani knows but you dont? The king of the area (Chief) is also in on it.... Very few men would do better than mukovelo. It is just the savage man in us. By the way, I am not blaming women, i am trying to show you why and how it happens I Think Therefore I Am
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
@ bwenyenye, your argument is still one sided. It's still about blaming the woman. I heard this argument that these murders especially in western kenya have to do with the brothers who want access to the late brothers wealth whose wife and family he has inherited. Since he has no love for the woman and kids that aren't his and is only following customs and traditions, he sees it fit to eliminate them and access the wealth left behind
Shak wrote:@ bwenyenye, your argument is still one sided. It's still about blaming the woman. I heard this argument that these murders especially in western kenya have to do with the brothers who want access to the late brothers wealth whose wife and family he has inherited. Since he has no love for the woman and kids that aren't his and is only following customs and traditions, he sees it fit to eliminate them and access the wealth left behind @Shak You are now alleging we men from Western and Nyanza zones have nothing between our ears. We kill our brother's wife and children in order to inherit wealth? Hello! How do you enjoy the wealth when you are in prison for life for multiple murder? For how long will JAMINE MUKOVERO be in for Murdering eight people before he enjoys the wealth left behind? By the way, most of these guys have nothing to talk of as wealth. Hope this remains a discussion to enlighten and not mislead. Individuals have a right to be one sided so that opponents can emerge to advocate for the other side. I still have an issue of claiming the men have gone insane because of drugs or stress. Depending on what you mean by madness, there is the actual madness where brain wiring goes haywire and you start running around naked. But the one a man wakes up one morning, ananoa panga as if he is going to cut down a few trees and with precision chops heads of specific people, that is not madness. It is called furry of a hundred demons. This guy has sat down, reasoned for a long time and decided that whatever the repercussions, lazima nifunze mtu furani ama watufurani somo la kiimla. On Chambers Rd, this guy woke up and wanted some juice instead of tea to nurse a hangover. The mama was like, "Go back where they gave you the hang over and order them to mend it for you". Rephrase it in swahili and you get the scenario. So, the guy ordered the woman out. He threw her things out and asked her to pick anything else she fancied, and go kabisa. They had three kids and the mama was like, "Or I need are my three kids". Mzee was like, "Hallo,you came here without kids, go back where you came from without kids". "Unafikiri hapa kuna mtoto wako? Hawa wote wana baba zao". Mzee rushed in for a njora and we interceded. Was the mzee insane? Okay, I agree, there is something called momentary insanity caused by kuchemka. By the way, that guy who said, "Leo utajua marenge ni mboga", is brother in law. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Culture
Why do they kill?