wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

De-listing safaricom
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:41:23 PM

I have quietly thought about this share and concluded that it has brought more mis-fortunes than fortunes in the nse.the best way would be for the management to apply to de-list like unilever tea did,pay share holders like 10bob per share and look for strategic partners.do you buy my idea?
Wa_ithaka
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:50:55 PM

Waaapi? Sareholders need to learn to how to do proper research before investing. Otherwise, they must learn to put up with the pain.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
mozenrat
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:52:51 PM

Misfortunes for who?? Give reasons..

For me.. This stock ranks second only to CFC for having made me money on the NSE....

Are you saying that you have made losses from it.. I'm sure that's true for any stock... It means YOU made poor decisions. From management perspective, listing it gives the company opportunities for raising capital (via rights etc) and to ride on the loyalty of some (not all) shareholders as customers..

Just give us a list of 10 good reasons why it should be delisted.. and don't tell us shareholder stupidity.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:12:38 PM

The listing of safcom was flawed from the word go,there was mobitelea,people were cheated to take loans to buy the share and they cry even today,refunds were held by citibank for years,this share will always pull down the nse and scare potential investors.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:15:19 PM

Contribute your ideas softly please dont eat me am not edible
annsal
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:44:19 PM

lol @mlennyma
God loves a Trier!
kyukkamba
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:55:04 PM

mozenrat wrote:
Misfortunes for who?? Give reasons..

For me.. This stock ranks second only to CFC for having made me money on the NSE....

Umesoma hapo juu vile MozenRat amesema? Try to undertstand how he's doing it and u'll never want it to be delisted...
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 4:00:37 PM

mlennyma wrote:
The listing of safcom was flawed from the word go,there was mobitelea,people were cheated to take loans to buy the share and they cry even today,refunds were held by citibank for years,this share will always pull down the nse and scare potential investors.
LOL... So you think it is not a great buy but want 10/- for it? Kwani, Vodafone are daft? They can buy shares on the open market from 4.50 to 6/-... why would they pay 10/-?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 4:57:40 PM

mlennyma, 1. No one was cheated to take loans to buy Safaricom. Ni tamaa ya pesa nane. 2.Safaricom ikidelistiwa, Eveready itafanywa?
sheep
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 5:02:47 PM

yenyewe this stock taught me a lesson Ill never forget...bought loads at 5.80-4.20...nearly got a heart attack afterwards
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 5:12:50 PM

This is one counter where savvy investors have made a killing unfortunately it was at the expense of the opportunist, get rich quick, common mwananchi. Sorry to say but I think wananchi saw SCOM as the ultimate pyramid scheme.
Personally, I love SCOM because it's a guaranteed money maker if you know what you're doing.

#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 6:22:16 PM

Sheep thanks for making my day. tuko pamoja
mozenrat
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 6:28:22 PM

Hata kama wewe si edible.. give us facts..

mlennyma wrote:

Mobitelea and Vodaphone Plc owned shares in Vodafone Kenya not in Safcom... and they gained that ownership long before Safcom was listed.. so how is that particular issue related to the listing of Safcom shares...

People took loans even to buy Kengen... That's their stupidity.. What does it have to do with the listing? Are you saying it wouldn't have been listed if they hadn't taken loans?

So Citibank held back refunds. That's either the fault of the Govt (which screwed up the sale of ITS shares in Safcom) or Citibank. How would de-listing help?

Jaribu tena kaka/dada
mozenrat
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 6:36:20 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mlennyma, 2.Safaricom ikidelistiwa, Eveready itafanywa?

kyukkamba
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 6:57:51 PM

... Personally, I love SCOM because it's a guaranteed money maker if you know what you're doing.

2012 si utulambishe hiyo asali kidogooosmile
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
CapitalMarketsGeek
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 7:50:58 PM

Anyone who cares to study IPOs would have seen it clearly, its is a repeatitive phenomeno for over 60 yrs..... after a period of IPO underpricing follows a period of IPO overpricing..following this, Safaricom IPO was overpriced and is now trading at its market value, what Scom need to do is to buy back a junk of its shares and leavarage it with debt, in short, take loans and buy back it share. Its not their best interest to dislist and they need not to!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 8:06:25 PM

CapitalMarketsGeek wrote:
Anyone who cares to study IPOs would have seen it clearly, its is a repeatitive phenomeno for over 60 yrs..... after a period of IPO underpricing follows a period of IPO overpricing..following this, Safaricom IPO was overpriced and is now trading at its market value, what Scom need to do is to buy back a junk of its shares and leavarage it with debt, in short, take loans and buy back it share. Its not their best interest to dislist and they need not to!
It is daft for Safaricom to buy back shares at 'fair' or 'over-valued'... Only makes sense to buy back shares if they are under-valued!
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 9:30:35 PM

i think anyone who wanted to make money in safaricom did so. I have safaricom shares n do not regret buying with any one bit. I am holding them till kingdom come. Those who thought safaricom will do a kengen am sorry, u forget the shares in safaricom are 20 times more those in kengen. So u will have to wait a little longer, a whole lot longer.
Gatheuzi
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:09:09 PM

Me too I got my fair share of Scom chums having got in at 3.45 and out at 5.40 in 6 months. I will wait for it at 3ish and make my comback...oops God willing.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:40:01 PM

Am not convinced that safcom's time is over. This fall is an overreaction.