wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Re-selling DSTV by hacking it?
#21 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:16:24 AM

Sasha,
I wonder why everybody here believes that it is only the warias going this business!!! You may not have tyour facts right on this one. One decoder can only be tuned to one channel at a time, the multiplexer only makes it possible for this one channel to be distributed to different people. The warias arrested in eastlands the other day were doing this thing at a very small scale, there are people who have connected more than 1000 households and you cant say Multichoice do not have this info when they give these people the 'DISH' to give to every connected household!!!!
#22 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:29:36 AM

be careful, multichoice might start demanding that only one person can watch one tv connected to one decoder! just like microsoft. but i believe in sharing. so if your neighbour has not dstv but you have, please share with him. invite him to watch with you.

but just dont ask for payment. that is crossing the lineSickquot;
Sasha
#23 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:39:43 AM

@McReggae: I have not disputed that point that one decoder can only be tuned to one channel at a time, and this channel is distributed to different people via the multiplexer. There we are in agreement.

I have seen first hand what they do. I did a feasibility study for some investors who wanted to start a pay tv service. I was able to visit one of their control centres. Very many decoders, very many wires, and a number of multiplexers.

Multichoice do have the info. They know this is going on. But as I said, they cannot restrict an individual from sharing his connection. The guys in South C have filled the bouquet they offer with Somali and Hindi channels from FTA signals which are not illegal to distribute. They then add about 4 or 5 DSTV channels and more during the weekend for the EPL games. Of course they have their insider at Multichoice who informs them whenever there is a drive to weed out the redistributors. I don't have the background of the Eastleigh guys, but I'm told that Multichoice were able to show that these guys were charging some monthly fee for the redistribution. If Multichoice can do that (i.e. prove that the redistribution is at a fee), then all those redistributing will be in for a rude shock!

Agreed on not only warias do this business. I understand the 'sonko' of the South C/Nairobi West biashara is a ....... Odoyo!
#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:47:52 AM

Like @subzero am also confused after reading the above posts.........IS IT LEGAL OR NOT? Mimi sina 800K fine ya kulipa.
anasazi
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 11:34:24 AM

I know of some people in South B that give some kind of decoder.... This decoder is not the kawaida one we know. And then they have a small device, which they put outside. Someone please enlighten on this technology.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
Digitali
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 11:39:58 AM

@Sasha. I agree with you totally on the first point. Most of the guys doing the distribution are doing it illegally. They avoid payig the required licence fees and probably paying a higher fee to DSTV to be allowed to distribute the signals. When you look a the bottm of the pyramid approach, this could probably earn multichoice more than what they are currently by reaching to the masses at an affordable cost.

We have seen Safaricons approach when they first entered the market, they put us all in a box and guys like Zain concentrated on the high end market but now have changed the tact and are trying to get us out of that box. What happens in the process? we all benefit from the wars!

This is happening soon than expected in the TV enetertinment industry with the Digital TV Migration and cable TV. Many players are alligning themseves to benefit from the platform and soon we will be spoilt for choice! Pay channels will soon be affordabe to all Kenyans just the way now almost everybody can afford a phone. Can you imagine Scratching a Bamba 50 bought from your local kiosk to pay for some pay channels right in the comfort of your living room!

www.godigitalnow.net
bird_man
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 11:52:11 AM

@Digitali,cant wait!
@Sasha,you seem to know quite alot in this area thanks.Question,why is it taking so long for anyone to offer the cheaper services?Something that legally costs around 1k for some reasonable channels?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Sasha
#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 12:25:15 PM

@bird_man: The biggest hindrance to cheaper services is the high cost of license fees. You have to pay the service provider e.g. Sky TV for EPL, MNET for MNET Magic and its affiliated channels. For example, for Discovery Channel, the license fees are in the region of Kshs 8 million per quarter. For one Supersport Channel, the fee is about Kshs 11 million per quarter. These are figures as at November 2008. The Zuku guys will tell you they pay about USD 645,000/- for one years license of Zee TV another channel I forget.

When GTV came in, they were paying Sky TV about Kshs 80 million per quarter for all football channels. They were unable to match these license payments to revenues from subscribers and eventually became insolvent!

To be successful, a service provider must be willing to suffer for a long time (>5 years) to be able to make profits. They also have to grow the subscriber very quickly to benefit from discounts. I understand the license fees go down if you increase subscriber base.
gadj
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 1:28:24 PM

In India where this bharti(Zain) fellows come from cable TV is distributed by cablewallas who are assigned a particular region to distribute pay Tv at a small fee(500/= per month). You can access all manner of channels, someday this concept will be accepted in Kenya so as the mwananchi can view other channels apart from vioja and the rest.
Capri
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:47:31 PM

Sasha wrote:

Multichoice have been unable to clamp down on these practices because they cannot restrict an individual from sharing his connection.

Does this mean if you hook up a second TV to a decoder then there is no problem ? Recall somebody saying that that too was illegal unless you had dualview or something.. and multichoice could sense the signal split....
Sasha
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 11:40:55 AM

@Capri: It is not illegal to hook up 2 TVs to one decoder. It is futile if the decoder is not dualview or if you don't have a splitter. For dualview you can watch two different channels from the same decoder. A splitter allows you to share the decoder, but only one channel at a time. And multichoice have no way of knowing that you have connected their decoder to 2 TVs in your house!

Did anyone see an article on DN yesterday about the triple play being touted by Wananchi Group. They are talking about Voice, Video and Internet at Kshs 1000/- per month. Free calls all day, 1MB internet and about 250 PPV channels! Dreams!
The Merchant
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 3:39:30 PM

mwenza, some are sanctioned by multichoice where the distributors even give the dish (dstv magazine) to all the subscribers!!!!!

Can please let me know how one gets into this business? You sound like you know quite a bit. It looks like it has potential.d'oh!
subzero
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 9:51:47 AM

These guys used to use on Decoder and split into the around 16 channels.

But i hear Dstv were able to change something on their side such that their software does not work,

now they have to do one channel per decoder, which is not making any business sense for them, nor their 'customers'
wanyuru
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 11:02:19 AM

Wazua is amazing. Good stuff guys.Applause

Heard about a waria in Eastlands who charges a one off fee of 35K for the premium package. Installs a dish in your back yard and uses a modem (orange) to 'tap' all the channels.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 11:31:45 AM

I think there are other decorders and providers out there other than hizi za multichoice, making it harder for Multichoice to nab these crooks. Like Eutelsat that has most, if not all of the DSTV channels. Zile cable zinapitia Eastlands, one can confuse them for telephone cables. Premium channels, pap!
StatMeister
#36 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 11:44:23 AM

mwenza wrote:
Like @subzero am also confused after reading the above posts.........IS IT LEGAL OR NOT? Mimi sina 800K fine ya kulipa.

Dont read too much, its legal to share DSTV where no commercial interest (arbitrage) exists, e.g. home watching.

But it is definitely illegal to distribute especially if it can be demonstrated that either: DSTV services were subscribed for with the intention of commercial redistribution, or under any circumstances, such a redistribution yields redistribution revenues exceeding the price paid for by the subscriber (as in pay 6k, distribute for 20k)
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#37 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 11:48:50 AM

I still think DSTV is run by a bunch of greedy capitalists! And they bill in dollars! Sad

If they really wanted to, most households in Kenya would be having a legal DSTV connection at an affordable price.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 12:11:36 PM

How do the distributors who charge a K and also give out the 'DISH' from DSTV do it.......sometimes it is insider bizz!!!!
livie
#39 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 12:49:22 PM

what about dstv-ready buildings coming up...?

do they pay ffor each and every house because they are usually subsidized....lower than official rates.
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#40 Posted : Tuesday, October 04, 2011 1:00:29 PM

jguru wrote:
I still think DSTV is run by a bunch of greedy capitalists! And they bill in dollars! Sad

If they really wanted to, most households in Kenya would be having a legal DSTV connection at an affordable price.

I think you would be surprised to note that KBC actually owns 50% of the Kenyan DSTV. In other words, it is our own govt fleecing us!