wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Re-selling DSTV by hacking it?
subzero
#1 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 1:53:47 PM

more and more oftenly these days, am hearing people who live in neighbourhoods where their neighbours are re-selling dstv to them.

i would like someone to educate us on how it works,

It sounds sophisticated to me coz they give you all available channels for even Ksh 1,000 or less! and that includes all supersports. or a few channels for as low as 350,

This mainly being done by somalis.

They allow their 'subscribers' to change various channels as they wish

are they using multiple decoders? are they hacking dstv?
doubtfire
#2 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 2:08:42 PM

subzero

i used to enjoy such service accessing 9 channels until this friday.i would change the channels through my TV remote.i dont know what the do but i was using it until i believe the dstv team traced the guy.for this i was pating 750 per month.

am looking for another supplier and i have 3 offers at the moment
#3 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 3:24:43 PM

subzero,
The number of channells shown is normally equivalent to the number of decoders one has installed, this way each each user can switch between those channells from the conmfort of his sitting room.
#4 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 3:29:32 PM

Watu walipe Dstv huko multichoice waachane na hizo za woria. Getting stolen signal from the somalis is abetting theft. Let us not encourage theft in Wazua.
#5 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 3:42:44 PM

mwenza, some are sanctioned by multichoice where the distributors even give the dish (dstv magazine) to all the subscribers!!!!!
#6 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 3:49:05 PM

Damn big loss. I pay for Sidedish yangu at N*a*o Highrise 1,000/- each month for the works. Now if that is disconnected the cost to me goes to 6K+
#7 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 3:57:27 PM

mwenza, some are sanctioned by multichoice where the distributors even give the dish (dstv magazine) to all the subscribers!!!!!

Can somebody else confirm this post. Otherwise i will now start making money like crazy.........Didnt know have been sitting on a gold mine like a fool.
Olu
#8 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 4:18:56 PM

Now now.....how the thing works is this way.....get a decoder, buy a "multiplexer device". Connect the decoder to this multiplexer device, from where you have multiple connections which you can redistribute to probably 6 to 7 people at most. So these guys who you have distributed the signal to, will just have to connect this cable to their sets, do a channel search and there will be the dstv channels they are so much yearning for. If you want to distribute the channels to many many people, you have to get a decoder for each channel, connect the decoders to the multiplexer device and redistribute.
As for where the devices are available from, tunaweza onana kando, but be forewarned, the fines for this kind of dstv-signal-distribution range from 800k to about a milli, so evaluate whether its worth the risk venturing into the business......my 0.4 otonglo.
misdemeanour
#9 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 5:13:45 PM

Olu wrote:
Now now.....how the thing works is this way.....get a decoder, buy a "multiplexer device". Connect the decoder to this multiplexer device, from where you have multiple connections which you can redistribute to probably 6 to 7 people at most. So these guys who you have distributed the signal to, will just have to connect this cable to their sets, do a channel search and there will be the dstv channels they are so much yearning for. If you want to distribute the channels to many many people, you have to get a decoder for each channel, connect the decoders to the multiplexer device and redistribute.
As for where the devices are available from, tunaweza onana kando, but be forewarned, the fines for this kind of dstv-signal-distribution range from 800k to about a milli, so evaluate whether its worth the risk venturing into the business......my 0.4 otonglo.

is this hacking? sounds like wat they do in hotels...correct me if am wrong but it sounds more like redistribution...Think Think
Am paid in Kshs.
Olu
#10 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 5:20:59 PM

It aint hacking...mere redistribution....I donnow how Multichoice is able to zero in on guys doing this...but you gotta have someone in there on ur payroll....just in case smile
KenyanLyrics
#11 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 5:35:15 PM

Sawa Olu. Admin you can lock this now :)
bird_man
#12 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 5:41:51 PM

Hizi story za kulipa 1k for DSTV in estates is ILLEGAL.There were guys fined at Eastleigh for the same about two weeks ago, the terms were 800k fine or 2yrs jail.Be warned.
I think for hotels its a little different.I think Multichoice sells rights for the many stations you want to give your guests. Someone confirm though.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#13 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 6:26:05 PM

birdman, the hotels too have to buy multiple decorders to show the different channels, I first encountered this way back when we introduced dstv at 'THE' we had six hostel and we bought six decorders, the placed a 'server' room where we could tune six preferred channels at any one tym, multichoice did the connections and the payments was for 6 decoders per month.
#14 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 6:28:39 PM

Olu wrote:
It aint hacking...mere redistribution....I donnow how Multichoice is able to zero in on guys doing this...but you gotta have someone in there on ur payroll....just in case smile

In your scenario, all they would have to do is investigate the person who buys like 50 plus decoders in order to have 50 plus channels.
#15 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 6:30:35 PM

In a certain fora with pwc, the MD multichoice said this is an option they are exploring and already doing trials tell me how this guy in highrise is able to distribute the monthly magazine without the knowledge of multichoice, this he has for like 5yrs now and it is not a secret!!!!
bird_man
#16 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 6:49:57 PM

Eh...now I'm confused.Maybe its legal,maybe it ain't.I also had one of those hookups at "THE" and it was great.1,500sh a semester!
Lakini surely.....why cant they make those premium package prices come down?I would pay right there and I think the number of illegal connections would reduce.Otherwise, guys will just keep paying for the 1k sambazas.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
subzero
#17 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 7:23:46 PM

i was really curious about how it works, no-one has told us with certainty whether they use one OR many decoders..... or what exactly happens

... really confusing
#18 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 7:30:56 PM

subzero, what don't yu understand here? For everybody to be able to change channels via their TV remore the supplier must have multiple decoders corressponding to the namba of available channels?
safariant
#19 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 10:58:17 PM

subzero is a Multichoice staff looking for free info so he can nab those warias. He will kill your 1k DSTV.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
Sasha
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 9:27:23 AM

First of all, for those saying it is legal, you are wrong. Redistribution of cable services can only be done under license and allowed by CCK. I doubt these Somalis have a redistribution license with Multichoice or with CCK.

Secondly, they use a multiplexer and get a number of decoders. The multiplexer has about 6 outlets for 6 cables. These cables are then married to intersperced boosters with about 8 outlets at strategic locations to maximise distribution.

Multichoice have been unable to clamp down on these practices because they cannot restrict an individual from sharing his connection.

Zuku have been trying to revamp their cable tv, a new pay tv service that was in the pipeline has been sabotaged a KBC by internal wrangling over its leadership: So the market is ready for a competitor. In the meantime, Multichoice are doing what is called Market Skimming i.e. getting the most out of the current subscribers with the same product offering.