wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

10 Pages«<23456>»
Cheapest fuel stations in Nairobi
#31 Posted : Saturday, September 18, 2010 10:30:30 PM

jawz1 wrote:
that said the aim of this thread is to reward the stations which keep prices fair and to snub the guzzlers who are out to exploit us. Fuel prices have not changed that drastically on the international markets!

I totally agree with you. Wazuans, lets snub all the petrol stations exploiting us and also encourage all our colleagues, relatives, neighbours, friends, enemies etc. to do the same. Even if it is a 50 cents difference, go to the next one.

If most of us vote with our feet [or wheels for that matter], the competition will start by stations lowering a shilling here, a shilling there and before we know it we will have a Zain - Safcom type price war. Sisi ndio tumeharibu hawa makafiri!!! I am a KenolKobil shareholder but this guys are the worst! Wanauza mafuta ni kama wameeka powerfoam plus na steroids za gari. Bure kabisa.
#32 Posted : Saturday, September 18, 2010 11:18:18 PM

Oil Libya Juja Road, a stone throw away from the Moi Air Base main gate. ksh 89.90. Problem is you will nullify your advantage by spending an hour in the matatu induced jam at the Mlango Kubwa/St Teresa's stretch.
#33 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 12:52:40 PM

bird_man wrote:
Interesting....I should come up with a site that updates with the latest fuel prices etc......more like Ushahidi ya fuel prices!

This is seriously a great idea. If you can come up with a website with the locations of petrol stations in Nairobi with up to date prices and then an application to access it on a mobile phone then I will surely sign up and pay. Where I usually fuel the prices are now hitting 96.9 and I have no choice as there is no time to move around for cheaper fuel.
JkMwatha
#34 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 3:50:53 PM

bird_man wrote:
Interesting....I should come up with a site that updates with the latest fuel prices etc......more like Ushahidi ya fuel prices!

That would be good. it will entice stations to lower prices.... There's one in UK http://www.petrolprices.com

Many stations actually check the site then lower prices to compete with other in the same post code area. You're even guaranteed to get advertiser on your site.
#35 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 10:16:22 AM

Adulterated fuel from 'independents'. I stick with Shell or KenolKobil...

I don't buy this 'adulterated' fuel propaganda. Yes I said that. Propaganda!!! There might be a few station that adulterate their fuel but the problem is not as dire as we are made to believe. These station owners are in business. For how long do you expect to be in business if you are selling adulterated fuel? A fuel station is like a restaurant, kiosk, butchery etc - you rely mainly on 'repeat' customers. You mess with your customers and you are out of business!

So who started the propaganda? Mainstream fuel stations. Why? Because they realize that in as much as they can form cartels, it is next to impossible to rope in all independents. You will always find an 'independent' using the low margin - high volume model. It's also very easy for the said independent to keep the overheads low. He/she doesn't have to share profits with a 'big brother' and therefore he/she can sell fuel at a much lower price.

How do you avoid the few 'adulterators'? When a new station opens in a route you normally use observe the number of cars that fuel there. If the number rises gradually, everything is okay. If it reduces despite the low price, iko shida. Peni zangu mbili za Southern Sudan.
mozenrat
#36 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 10:25:43 AM

Well, assuming that "propaganda" is true, the independents could still make money... From Mathrees.. Of course their drivers will never tell the owner but I've noticed a known adulterator who has a constant stream of matatus flowing in and out of his station.
#37 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 12:07:34 PM

Fueled at NOCK Pangani yesterday: sh92.00
wasee
#38 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 12:30:52 PM

there is petrocity along kangundo road. 90.9
Blackberry
#39 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 2:50:57 PM

. Even if it is a 50 cents difference, go to the next one.

If most of us vote with our feet [or wheels for that matter], the competition will start by stations lowering a shilling here, a shilling there and before we know it we will have a Zain - Safcom type price war. Sisi ndio tumeharibu hawa makafiri!!! I am a KenolKobil shareholder but this guys are the worst! Wanauza mafuta ni kama wameeka powerfoam plus na steroids za gari. Bure kabisa.

Mimi hata kama ni Ngoch nitaenda next. I try to fuel along outering Rd but avoid Kenols/Kobils as they are more expensive than that TOTAL at Junction ya NBi Hospital/Hulingham...The most expensive I have seen out of CBD!!!!

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

mjuaji wa stocks
#40 Posted : Monday, September 20, 2010 3:06:25 PM

Fueled at NOCK....opposite ngara post office...@90.9!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

10 Pages«<23456>»