wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

6 Pages<1234>»
Question on roads @the usual suspects
Sasha
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:24:42 AM

@Guka: LOL! Shikuku and Osewe cannot handle my clients! They have insatiable and very demanding appetites!

Been going through the posts on wazua to see what I missed out on. Good to be back!

BTW we were to do a trip!? What happened?
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 12:15:29 PM

@Sasha,
Jog my jinga memory.....Was it Nyanza?
Mpenzi
#23 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 12:39:40 PM

@Njung'e
Mpenzi
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 12:41:43 PM

@Djinn,
Only way to Lodwar is via Kitale.From Kitale to Lodwar is 10 hour drive so i would suggest you sleep overnite at Kitale and hit the road early.It's tough and you require a serious off-road and not the bijuti.From Kitale,the road is fair upto a place known as Marich just before you drop to the valley.It's here that the journey begins.You can't say there is much of road between Marich and Lodwar..Beware of armed thugs at Marich,Kakong and Kalengmorok and where possible look out for NGO cars from Kitale and trail them for safety.....If you want to take advantage of police escort,be at Kapenguria at 11am or 1pm.

Distance;
Nrb-Kitale approx 390 kms.
Kitale-Lodwar Approx 320 kms.
Lodwar-Kalkol (on the shores of L.Turkana)- 78Km.

@Njung'e, Mzee Safari indeed! I think you should combine efforts with leona and write a guide on travelling rough in Kenya.
Djinn
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 1:28:28 PM

wow...so many posts while I was away....thanks people...

@Njung'e - not work - its just that I have always wanted to go that far north...farthest I have been in Nanyuki. After Turkana I might want to try somewhere in North Eastern. And I do not mind crossing the desert...and seeing the suggestion by @Conquestador....

@bwenyenye - thanks - thats very useful info.

@Conquestador - thats quite an idea to reel in some support. My initial thinking was to make Turkana part of a mega-ultra-hyper road trip (Nairobi-Fort Portal ....via Turkana). But from the feedback I guess this is not an area to take the family...so it would have to be more of a big people thing (and tough big people for that matter I think). Lets say we have two willing parties for now....Sasha? Njung'e? Wendz? Anyone else? Can start a separate thread on that (Turkana Madness). Say 5-7 days...@Leona should be kept in the loop - thats her forte.

@Sasha - yes I went to the main the main url and got the link - thx. Why a mobile petrol station BTW? I mean, where is the last fuel station? Marsabit? Are there none in Turkana area? I gather its abt 400km from Marsabit to Turkana - so 800 both ways...assume a 4x4 has a 100litre and km/ltr at slow speeds abt 8...its just abt enough I think its just abt enough? And you asked Guka abt a trip...how abt this one proposed by @Conquestador? We will let you drive the easy sections...

@willingtolearn - seeing as how things have changed (i.e. it cannot be a family trip rather an adventure for big people), perhaps that round trip may be too involving in terms of time...perhaps for a later date to allow planning...

@Cardinal and Mpenzi - yes, Guka is becoming our de facto "go to guy" (or is that "go to mzee"?) for travel matters smile and with @Leona, I think @Wazua should create a Travel section.

@Wendz - I think Guka should be a senator...what say?

#26 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 2:51:38 PM

@Djinn,
I would agree with you especially if the kids are below 12.Some places are a little harsh for the very young but there are beautiful places which the family would really enjoy such as Central Island (A must!!),Eliye springs and Sibilon national park......and lots of fresh Tilapia!!
Sasha
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 2:59:04 PM

@Njung'e: We were to do the North Eastern route. We were to map our route before you bailed on me! I was planning Nairobi - Meru through Embu - Maua - Garbatula through Laare - Wajir through the mountains and the Isiolo-Mandera 'road' - Moyale - Marsabit - Isiolo and back to Nairobi through Nanyuki! It would take more than a week but would be worth it!

@Djinn: There are 3 petrol stations in Marsabit (at least as at March 2010) but there is no guarantee that they will have fuel. You are advised to fill up at Isiolo! Isiolo to Loiyangalani is about 1000km so you are talking about 2000 km with one full tank so your diesel 4x4 will need to give you 20km/l to make it! Tough call!

See above for my trip with Njung'e! And yes Wendz should join us!
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:09:12 PM

@Wendz,
Thanks dear and don't worry.I am talking to Kimunya and soon you will have tarmac connecting Ol-kalou and Kanyagia through Kirima.....Then tarmac Mairo Inya - Shamata.....or should i just go ahead and become your governor now that i have your vote?....Laughing out loudly ROTFLMAO!!

@Guka???? you better be on the look-out for your neck...... We cant have you as our governor... you know too much for your own good.... you might start telling us who didnt use which road while going home.... or who dint go home at all! Bure kabisa!

@Djinn..... senator? yes... Governor? no.... we wont have somewhere to hide... senator will be stationed in Nairobi so we can have all the time we need for mischief without a watchful eye! A "drunk" who is vying for governor in my home area said we shall need to be signing a book on when we leave our homes and when we come back to curb "drinking".... When announcing this, he was putting a kite to shame!

@Sasha.... am following.... This sounds like a good trip.... Am in.... (as long as it is after December 10th).
#29 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:19:44 PM

@Guka, hizi places zote, what time do you get to visit them!?? ama it is part of your PD/JD?
#30 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:23:30 PM

@Sasha,
Waa...!!....Suicide mission!!....You turn off at Maili Nne just before Maua and down to Laare- Mutuati and proceed to Garbatulla....This particular section is crap.How about turning left at Muthaara into Isiolo and then Garballa via 78th Artillery?...Garbatulla to Wajir???Ngai Mwathani!!..... si we commit suicide right where we are!!....lol!
#31 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:27:11 PM

I used to think I am well-traveled, until Njung'e came into the picture....

@Njung'e, we had a deal about marenge soup and a lost apostrophe....
#32 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 4:00:12 PM

@Mukiha,
Sure.Your campaign worked well and thanks.Soup haitafika.Can i organise for something slightly different but equally good?Get me on mail ( edgems4 at yahoo dot co dot uk).

@Sasha,
Planned date?.
Conquestador
#33 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 4:59:08 PM

@Djinn, count me in that escapade to Turkana, but like you said...after Dec 10. We are looking forward to the thread you are birthing.
I am 12 years cubed - I therefore should qualify.

@Njung'e: can one prep a SUV or its purely 4x4 that shall hack the trail?

Sasha
#34 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 5:09:30 PM

@Njung'e: The road from Muthaara to Isiolo is impassable at the moment. I understand it will be dug up and readied for tarmac so that the veve pickups can dash to Isiolo Airstrip. No reason to take revenues out of the county!

Planned date was December though I may have to reschedule coz I have work commitments then! Lets come up with a good date!

@Wendz: Will keep you informed.
#35 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 5:14:11 PM

@Conquestador,

A SUV can but Pokot district and especially around Ortum is crazy country during rainy seasons.Rivers pop up everywhere.I would go with a 4X4.
Mpenzi
#36 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 5:22:46 PM

@Wazua - travel column please - moderated by Njung'e and leona?
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 5:25:18 PM

@Sasha,
Work is in progress and i can assure the road is passable.Takes half an hour from Muthaara to Isiolo but not to worry.We can still use your preferred route.We can end day at Maua and take a an evening game drive at Meru NP...........Feb?......and are you sure you want us to do this??....smile
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 6:12:11 PM

@Njung'e, @Sasha and the rest - congrats of your knowledge of our great country. Hata mimi nataka fahamu Kenya kama nyinyi. Sitaki kuwa kama @vvs ambaye hupotea westlands! LOL. Ati the only places anajua Westlands ni petrol station za KenolKobil! He he he.

I'd really love to go on this trip but as @wendz said, it has to be in December. One more condition, @Njung'e and @Sasha must be travelling with us. For some funny reason, I really want to come back.

@Conquest - Hii Baragoi of Suguta hata mimi nataka ona yeye. Lakini wewe utakuwa kwa gari la kwanza na @Djinn la nyuma. Mimi na prefer the middle one. This sounds like a nice adventure - if we ever come back!
#39 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 6:27:16 PM

Maich,
For me Dec might not be possible......Something standing on my way and i also have a date with Kilimanjaro after X-mas though i am yet to confirm.......... why Sasha and i?
vin
#40 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 6:51:19 PM

@Sasha,
Waa...!!....Suicide mission!!....You turn off at Maili Nne just before Maua and down to Laare- Mutuati and proceed to Garbatulla....This particular section is crap.How about turning left at Muthaara into Isiolo and then Garballa via 78th Artillery?...Garbatulla to Wajir???Ngai Mwathani!!..... si we commit suicide right where we are!!....lol!

Correction mzee Guka,it is maili tatu.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.