wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Physcial violence in Big Brother All Stars.
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:42:27 PM

Lerato and Hannington has a physical altercation on Tuesday night. A verbal argument turned abusive, and soon they were up in each other's faces, pushing and shoving. Soon Lerato was in one corner crying having been roughed up a bit.

Aftermath:
* Lerato and Hanington are not speaking
* Hannington derided by female housemates
* Hannington apologizes to all housemates
* Only other male housemate stands by Hannington
* Hannington considers leaving the house
* Big Brother suddenly remembers the rule book: no violence (verbal or physical) no alcohol

Did you watch it? I did. Is it fair Hannington is branded a 'woman beater' when the only female behaviour at the time of the altercation was the crying by Lerato after the rough up?

If a woman behaves like a man: crass, abusive, violent, fingers on faces, pushing; does she have the right to claim - I'm a woman - later?

Just thoughts...
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:00:14 PM

...is Lerato a woman? S/he is a disaster. Denies that there is no racism in South Africa. I watch when there is nothing else intersting to watch. Are there no other people in south who could have represented south africa... An avocado standing on two toothpicks...
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 10:43:37 AM

the other day it was Meryl shouting expletives and throwing her hands in the air.
The unfortunate thing is that even in general man-woman altercations/disagreements, judges are invariably favourably biased towards women.
The man starts and can very rapidly move from 'guity' to 'innocent', while a 'woman' will cross, if at all, from 'innocent' to 'guilty' part slowly, leisurely.
The onus of the man to prove himself innocent therefore is as heavy as one trying to prove a woman guilty in a man/woman disagreement.
I don't envy Ha'ton.Sad
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 10:50:19 AM

I think Lerato had it coming....there are certain insults which are acceptable only to your boyfriend/husband and not any other man.

Hannington just pushed her i didn't see a punch or a slap.
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:12:13 AM

Hii ni nini sasa??...
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 1:36:40 PM

...is Lerato a woman? S/he is a disaster. Denies that there is no racism in South Africa. I watch when there is nothing else intersting to watch. Are there no other people in south who could have represented south africa... An avocado standing on two toothpicks...

Before her eviction from the main house, our own Sheila jumped into bed with Meryl. This was followed by heavy panting underneath the bedsheets. Lesbianism in full view!! What a representation from Kenya?
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 1:46:07 PM

BBA all stars have been a disaster to say the least, on this particular incident l cant blame han'ton!!!!
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 2:43:48 PM

Don't watch it, but from @muganda's post above, they look like they want to.....
theman192000
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:02:34 PM

"If you rattle a snake, you must be prepared to be bit", to paraphrase the Hon. John "hard-working" Michuki.

When I initially saw the clip, I reserved my judgment until I saw the highlight show. This altercation ladies and gentlemen was a culmination of a series of events leading us to seconds from disaster.

The said avocado on toothpicks was in a disagreeable mood the whole afternoon and was verbally abusing/hitting out at everyone including Code and Sheila. What I'm yet to figure out is why?

After the incident our Sheila was shouting, "You should never hit a woman", although from my observation my personal opinion is that Hannington pushed Lerato away when she stepped up to him all up in his face with her cigarette breath. He did not hit her.

This got me thinking, are we saying that as a society we have reached a point that no matter what a woman does to a man, he should not defend himself in anyway? Think extreme here, say you are walking along the street and a random woman spits in your face and when you walk away follows you taunting you, telling you to man up.

A woman who is well known and is a high-up in the NGO world told me that with all the focus being on the girl child, no one gives a damn about the boy child anymore because after all, he should behave like a man (whatever that means). This is in part contributing towards the breakdown of the traditional family setup as men are increasingly being pushed to the periphery.

I know its a bit of a stretch but I thought I'd put it out there.
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:07:16 PM

@nostoppingthis smile click on the link and watch the video of the build up and outburst on DSTV site.

@Intelligentsia agreed; @TAZ agreed again, no punches, just shoving intimidation then tears. In fact, on the video it is Hannington (head of house mind you) who's hit with a wine bottle.

I stand to be corrected by our fairer folk:
In life, when two women fight, even physically over a man, there's no melodrama. When two men fight, they are just asked to step out of the bar first.

Surely there needs to be more to the term woman than gender!
Ahaaa! I believe the problem is with the English culture. For MAN to achieve a higher standing, there is the term gentleman.

But for WOMAN, does lady premise? And hence the argument that all women should be treated as ladies?

My Conclusion: from the video, Lerato was the more ill-mannered man, and it was just a fight among boys.

#11 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:14:23 PM

I read this with high expectations....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Couldn't watch the video link: I don't expect much from it.

I'm still wondering where the link between this program that I will never see and SOCIETY comes in??d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:26:50 PM

@muganda, i watched it from your link, but was just saying from the pic above, it looks like the chic is going for the kiss
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 3:49:51 PM

muganda wrote:
@nostoppingthis smile click on the link and watch the video of the build up and outburst on DSTV site.

@Intelligentsia agreed; @TAZ agreed again, no punches, just shoving intimidation then tears. In fact, on the video it is Hannington (head of house mind you) who's hit with a wine bottle.

I stand to be corrected by our fairer folk:
In life, when two women fight, even physically over a man, there's no melodrama. When two men fight, they are just asked to step out of the bar first.

Surely there needs to be more to the term woman than gender!
Ahaaa! I beleive the problem is with the English culture. For MAN to achieve a higher standing, there is the term gentleman.

But for WOMAN, does lady presmise? And hence the argurment that all women should be treated as ladies?

My Conclusion: from the video, Lerato was the more ill-mannered man, and it was just a fight among boys.

You are right... i dont watch but from your link one does not need to know where it started to know the "ill-mannered man" was just up to something... she kept insulting everyone not just the Hnton. what's the big deal a question was not answered? and if you ask me, the use of the "f" words and finger gestures automatically strips a lady any respect to be called a "lady". (And that reminds me of a woman i would have strangled if i had a chance for showing me her dirty finger(may it rot) at nyayo stadium! Absolutely uncouth especially if it comes from a woman - coz no lady can do that). If only they were interested with fingers.... i would set her up with those city mortuary attendants!!!! ABK
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 4:03:38 PM

@Wendz,
GNN!!!
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 4:16:22 PM

@Wendz, appreciate the insight, thought I was loosing my head. @theman, you are the man and this is what @alma is missing. This is a potent underlying issue in society at the moment.

theman192000 wrote:
A woman who is well known and is a high-up in the NGO world told me that with all the focus being on the girl child, no one gives a damn about the boy child anymore because after all, he should behave like a man (whatever that means). This is in part contributing towards the breakdown of the traditional family setup as men are increasingly being pushed to the periphery.

I know its a bit of a stretch but I thought I'd put it out there.

Masculinity is increasingly a wounded spirit, and femininity is no longer made of sugar and spice and everything nice.

wanyuru
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 4:46:13 PM

He should have slapped that ovacado! ....and Sheila too.
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 4:55:41 PM

I dont think I can sit down and watch all that crap.They are behaving like 3 year olds.
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 6:27:50 PM

A physical fight against a woman is a fight no man can ever win. The dude was stupid to get involved in all of that. He should have found a way to walk away. There is no equality. No equity. It is all about perception in our politically correct world. Big brother Africa is the biggest load of crap since crap. They should just show paint dry on DSTV Channel 198.
#19 Posted : Friday, September 17, 2010 9:01:08 AM

Elder wrote:
I am the Elder. I shall Be the Elder. The only Elder. I am the Elder..

Wazua begs to differ... LOOOOL
mukhamba!
#20 Posted : Friday, September 17, 2010 10:30:50 AM

SHE HAD IT COMING. Lerato is a very annoying woman.