Most frustrating stocks
#41 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 6:41:46 PM

Stop
underweight
#42 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 9:17:55 PM

OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING!! OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING!! OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING!! OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING... Bought 1000 @ 35.00 then 2000@ 20 then took up all my right n additional 1000@ 14. Bought another 5K @ 15.50 Managed to Exit 10K at 9.00. and holding 6000. Contemplating of averaging down but once bitten twice shy!
"A bad decision made now is beta that a good one made later!!"
#43 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 9:21:58 PM

My headache definitely is AK... I bought it at 32 and for some reason, its a share i havent thought of averaging down. The money i intended to use to average it down, i entered Mumias and it was not a bad decision... Right now, i am thinking It would be better putting the money in KK than averaging it down.... Not sure if it will pay like Mumias but KK is a solid company in the right country with the wrong government agencies..... That's its only woes...

Wendy, how about putting the peso's in KCB? It doesn't have much ''woes'' at the moment, touch wood. Also much less risky than KK (though we know that high risk may equal high returns sometimes) Seems that the management has woken up. In the last 2 weeks, the press has been awash with details of deals KCB have concluded and others in the pipeline. Not long now. NB: Bought some KK at 9 recently, having bought previously at a higher price. I also have KCB.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 9:32:51 PM

underweight wrote:
OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING!! OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING!! OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING!! OLYMPIA CAPITAL HOLDING... Bought 1000 @ 35.00 then 2000@ 20 then took up all my right n additional 1000@ 14. Bought another 5K @ 15.50 Managed to Exit 10K at 9.00. and holding 6000. Contemplating of averaging down but once bitten twice shy!

DAMN! I'm afraid that expression does not do you justice. You have clearly been bitten more than once! Just to ask, what kept you coming for more? Uza tu at a loss. Even at the current market, there are still bargains that will enable you to recover some of your money. I bought at 8.4 and sold at 7.3. Sitawahi gusa vitu zingine. Siku hizi ata speculation inahitaji fundamentals. I now laugh remembering management telling us they expected their results to be enhanced by the world cup
X13united
#45 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 11:58:42 PM

@komera-wel said man,i got into a movin plane(kq) only to realic that nature had decided to let out all the ash from its belly in the north pole.
X13united
#46 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:25:56 AM

KIRTI wrote:
I think to buy above share at lowered price & reduce your average then decided to get out from there. I bought 1000 CFC @ 118 in 2007. Then i bought 4000 CFC @ 44 in February 2009. Now my average cost of CFC @ 59 per share. Same way i have done with KQ. Now I want to reduce my cost for EA CABLE. I bought 3000 share @ 46 in 2007. Please give me advice current price @ 18.20 is worth for this share.

@kirti how do u calculate the average?av alwys been buyin n selin without the averagin bt now am cought up in kq where i must average or get fryed.plis help.
KIRTI
#47 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 1:05:14 PM

X13united wrote:
KIRTI wrote:
I think to buy above share at lowered price & reduce your average then decided to get out from there. I bought 1000 CFC @ 118 in 2007. Then i bought 4000 CFC @ 44 in February 2009. Now my average cost of CFC @ 59 per share. Same way i have done with KQ. Now I want to reduce my cost for EA CABLE. I bought 3000 share @ 46 in 2007. Please give me advice current price @ 18.20 is worth for this share.

@kirti how do u calculate the average?av alwys been buyin n selin without the averagin bt now am cought up in kq where i must average or get fryed.plis help.

My CFC 1000 Share @ 118 + 2% commission = 120,360, & 4000 Share @ 44 + 2% Commission = 179,520 Total cost for 5000 Cfc will be 299,880 so cost for 1 Share will be 59.98
kyukkamba
#48 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 3:59:09 PM

underweight wrote:

Laughing out loudly pole kijana....Hii kitu yenye inaitwa "Averaging' ni kitu I'll never do! Si nimeumia at the first place then why buy it again? What tells u it wont umiza you again? Na wewe hata baada ya kuumia the second time you again bought for the 3rd time...Aiiiiiii ... uko na guts kijana.. Kitu mbaya ni mbaya tu wachajana nayo ...from 35/= to 20/= ni 43% down.. tena from 20/= to 14/= ni 30% down na again from 14/= to 9/= AiseyShame on you ... U deserve the bite...
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
Chaka
#49 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:49:24 PM

@underweight,
Pole sana.What did you expect from a company that makes PVC tiles?Do people still use these things for flooring?
mv_ufanisi
#50 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:58:35 PM

kyukkamba wrote:
underweight wrote:

Laughing out loudly pole kijana....Hii kitu yenye inaitwa "Averaging' ni kitu I'll never do! Si nimeumia at the first place then why buy it again? What tells u it wont umiza you again? Na wewe hata baada ya kuumia the second time you again bought for the 3rd time...Aiiiiiii ... uko na guts kijana.. Kitu mbaya ni mbaya tu wachajana nayo ...from 35/= to 20/= ni 43% down.. tena from 20/= to 14/= ni 30% down na again from 14/= to 9/= AiseyShame on you ... U deserve the bite...

That is some Laughing out loudly ish kwanza sana
Wondergirl
#51 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 5:31:01 PM

underweight wrote:

My frustration story is Kenya Re and Cables.
underweight
#52 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 6:11:55 PM

Wazuan kindly dont laugh at me...atleast nimefungua roho yangu!! Am sure there are those who have more to say but r just keeping to themselves...just to mention few are those that bought in to CABLES, Centum before the split n CFC Stanbic before the merger. I accept I burned my fingers (sic hands) on this...may be its coz am using blood money. LOL!! @ simonkabz nilijaza weight nawadays!
kyukkamba
#53 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 9:28:33 AM

underweight wrote:

Where is Ocampo to read this!!!Sador is this the reason why you have been averaging every now and again?
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
PKoli
#54 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 12:53:12 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
My headache definitely is AK... I bought it at 32 and for some reason, its a share i havent thought of averaging down. The money i intended to use to average it down, i entered Mumias and it was not a bad decision... Right now, i am thinking It would be better putting the money in KK than averaging it down.... Not sure if it will pay like Mumias but KK is a solid company in the right country with the wrong government agencies..... That's its only woes...

Wendy, how about putting the peso's in KCB? It doesn't have much ''woes'' at the moment, touch wood. Also much less risky than KK (though we know that high risk may equal high returns sometimes) Seems that the management has woken up. In the last 2 weeks, the press has been awash with details of deals KCB have concluded and others in the pipeline. Not long now. NB: Bought some KK at 9 recently, having bought previously at a higher price. I also have KCB.

I have been fairly lucky;only mess was buying a number of BOC at between 130-140 despite reservations from a number of Wazuians. I did not lose money, but opportunity. I have since beefed my KCB, most of which I took during the rights and adding up at the current price. I have also added some DTB (this could be another ARM!). I am speculating with Safcom and MSC. I missed two boats EABL and ARM.
PKoli
#55 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 1:49:28 PM

underweight wrote:

You had strong faith in the company. I cant believe that it once traded at 35 bob! The best thing is to cut loses and enter another security. In 2006 or 7 I was in a similar situation when I bought KQ at 100, then 90. I ended up selling all at 80 and never looked back. If I had money I would have continued averaging when it went to 20; but that is after a very long wait.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#56 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 4:00:23 PM

for me, the most frustrating stock of all time would have to be Sameer, aka Firestone. I cost me an arm n a leg, a staggering 28.50 per stock in early Dec 2006 only to sell it for a song at a paltry 10 in June 2008. I learned my lessons, picked myself up, dusting myself as i got to my feet, walked on never to look back!!!!! Since that day, i have always feared Merali!
@SufficientlyP
BGL
#57 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 6:15:31 PM

For me it is EACABLES. I bought it at Ksh485 before it was split. The leaving of Mugo Kibati made things even worse and the downward spiral is unrelenting. They did issue a profit warning from losses made in their Tanzanian subsidiary so we can only expect lower profits compared to last year. Personally, i do not expect anything to excite this counter. Perhaps they need to sack the CEO.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#58 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 6:20:43 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Since that day, i have always feared Merali!

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic, you should catch a beer with VVS sometime. I think you two will get along just fine. smile
winston
#59 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 2:12:20 PM

My biggest regret is Paka. Bought at 10/= now down to 3.80/=. Am thinking of jumping before it sinks with me!
bartum
#60 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 2:34:21 PM

my first share to by at NSE was buying ICDCI at 80 having quoted market price as my broker told me it will do another cables after split. And sold it at 32 and learnt hard lessons the hard way.
underweight wrote:
pole ndugu