wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

6 Pages123>»
Question on roads @the usual suspects
Djinn
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:34:30 AM

@Guka, SimonKabz,Mukiha, JKMwatha, McReggae and any members who travel a lot or are lorry drivers like Guka smile

How to get to Lodwar? (Ultimate objective is Lake Turkana) Whats the best route and what are the road conditions like? Can I go via Kitale? Bad idea? What other options?

Happy to receive any info - even if its on discrete sections/routes - I can collate and see what works best.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:36:15 AM

@Djinn,
Only way to Lodwar is via Kitale.From Kitale to Lodwar is 10 hour drive so i would suggest you sleep overnite at Kitale and hit the road early.It's tough and you require a serious off-road and not the bijuti.From Kitale,the road is fair upto a place known as Marich just before you drop to the valley.It's here that the journey begins.You can't say there is much of road between Marich and Lodwar..Beware of armed thugs at Marich,Kakong and Kalengmorok and where possible look out for NGO cars from Kitale and trail them for safety.....If you want to take advantage of police escort,be at Kapenguria at 11am or 1pm.

Distance;
Nrb-Kitale approx 390 kms.
Kitale-Lodwar Approx 320 kms.
Lodwar-Kalkol (on the shores of L.Turkana)- 78Km.
Djinn
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:54:09 AM

@Djinn,
Only way to Lodwar is via Kitale.From Kitale to Lodwar is 10 hour drive so i would suggest you sleep overnite at Kitale and hit the road early.It's tough and you require a serious off-road and not the bijuti.From Kitale,the road is fair upto a place known as Marich just before you drop to the valley.It's here that the journey begins.You can't say there is much of road between Marich and Lodwar..Beware of armed thugs at Marich,Kakong and Kalengmorok and where possible look out for NGO cars from Kitale and trail them for safety.....If you want to take advantage of police escort,be at Kapenguria at 11am or 1pm.

Distance;

Thanks man - thats very useful.

Q1. So when you say the journey is tough, does that mean 1) no tarmac at all from Marich? 2) tarmac enhanced with pot holes?

Q2. If we were to make a quick comparison to the condition of the Nakuru-Eldoret section about two years ago (and all the diversions while they built it), how does that compare? (I have much faith in the bijuti and in fact I think it might take me to heaven smile

Q3. Thugs...what kind of incidents are talking about here? (murder, robbery, car jacking?)

Meanwhile I am looking at
http://maps.google.co.ke/
Sasha
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:03:34 PM

Hi Djinn

I used that road from Kitale to Lodwar and OMG! There is actually no road. We were wrongly advised and used an xtrail. It came back as a near rag! Please do not go there during the rainy season! Otherwise everything else is as guka has stated. Couldn't give better insight!

From Lokichar, bandits hang around the road like vultures in anticipation of the car breaking down especially if they notice you are alone. From what I heard, they are only interested in robbing you of your possessions, not so much to kill.
Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:19:10 PM

@Njung'e - I see from google maps that Kapenguria is not too far, so after an overnight, I think its possible to leave Kitale around 8-9 and make it for the escort at 11am. Then again, since the Jade lake is the objective, what about via Isiolo/North Horr?

@Sasha - thanks for the insight also. I am thinkign late December/early January....I gather our rains are October/November...but then again with el nino and la nina, there is no telling except to watch tv and weather info within a week of travel....

Xtrail? Sorry gal, but that is not a 4x4 despite what the manufacturer and the manual say Shame on you ...its as much a 4x4 as a camel is a carnivore Laughing out loudly

but thanks - that point noted...I will need to look for something stronger than a beer can...hmmmm....Hilux? Landrover? Landcruiser?
Sasha
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:38:54 PM

@Djinn! If the destination is Lake Turkana, you are better of going through Samburu and Marsabit then across the Chalbi Desert. It may be safer but it's equally perilous! If it is a road trip, you can plan to spend some time in the many lodges within the Samburu Game Reserve. The road from Nanyuki to Isiolo is very patchy and potholed but it was being recarpeted in February this year: don't know whether they have finished.

From Isiolo to Marsabit is a joy to drive. Some dirt road diversions but you can open up the throttle and go at full pelt. From Marsabit to Loiyangalani via Kalacha is where the music starts! Again, don't dare go there when its the wet season! See this http://www.explorerkenya...ke_turkana_safari.html. It is actually exactly what I did some time ago!

Try the fortuner! I understand it swallows whatever type of road you throw at it wholly!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:43:38 PM

Djinn, here I will learn alongside you!!! All the best!!!

Guka, kuna mahalai haujaenda Kenya wewe???
Djinn
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:55:34 PM

Sasha wrote:
@Djinn! If the destination is Lake Turkana, you are better of going through Samburu and Marsabit then across the Chalbi Desert. It may be safer but it's equally perilous! If it is a road trip, you can plan to spend some time in the many lodges within the Samburu Game Reserve. The road from Nanyuki to Isiolo is very patchy and potholed but it was being recarpeted in February this year: don't know whether they have finished.

From Isiolo to Marsabit is a joy to drive. Some dirt road diversions but you can open up the throttle and go at full pelt. From Marsabit to Loiyangalani via Kalacha is where the music starts! Again, don't dare go there when its the wet season! See this http://www.explorerkenya...ke_turkana_safari.html. It is actually exactly what I did some time ago!

Try the fortuner! I understand it swallows whatever type of road you throw at it wholly!

@Sasha, splendid! thanks. OK Kitale route is scuttled (the NBI-Eldoret part I travel a lot already anyway).

I am still on google maps but I cannot see Kalacha - can you confirm whether this is a different route from Marsabit to Loiyangalani or is it the one that passes through North Horr?

And assuming fair weather on this route, does the road advisory still need a road monster like the Kitale section? If you were to rank the bad sections on the Kitale route and the Isiolo route - on a scale of 10 (10 is "need to replace whole car" 1 - "even a Vitz can hack it" ) how would they compare?

BTW the link you gave does not work...
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:59:00 PM

@Djinn,
1.The road was once tarmacked and much of it has been washed off or just got rotten.True that.there are patches of "countable tarmacks" and as i have indicated,you see your speed is reduced to around 35km per hour.
2.Usually,the thugs are armed dudes but they rarely pounce unless you are stranded.Carry along some3 loose "ndeges",water and snack just in case they stop you.Doesn't happen often if in doubt be in a convoy or use police escort.

3.I can't say much about North Horr route coz the furthest i have been North of Isiolo is Merille river and on to Wamba but even if it were shorter,why risk crossing the Northern desert all by yourself??...
4.Leave the bijuti at home........unless you want to give it a piggy back ride homesmile

@Sasha,
All the way to Marsabit then through Chalbi??....That's a detour unless you are the proud owner of a mobile petrol station!

@Mcreggae,
Kuishi kwingi,kuona mengi...lol
Sasha
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 1:22:10 PM

@Djinn: Sorry about the link. Go to the homepage i.e. explorekenya.com then scroll to the bottom of the home page, you will see Lake Turkana Safari. If you are unable to do this I will paste excerpts from the site.

This route will not necessarily need a road monster but it may come in handy in the desert! However, have to agree with guka on passing through the desert alone.

Kalacha is a small settlement on the edge of the desert on an oasis near North Horr and the Ethiopian border. You can actually rest there before the long trek to Loiyangalani (will take you about 5 - 6 hours driving at average speeds of 50-60kph).

On the scale of 10, for the Kitale route I'll give an 8! For the Isiolo route I'll give it a 4 heading to 5!

@guka: I'm assuming Djinn is going on a road trip and local tourism. And on that note Djinn, you will need a mobile petrol station for this round trip!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:29:59 PM

@Djinn,
Work or just touring?

@Sasha,
Great stuff.....Naona pia hukuja na relismile !....There should be a shortcut to the lake via Nyahururu-Maralal-Baragoi no?.....and where (why?) have you been hiding?
Sasha
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 3:33:49 PM

Laughing out loudly ! Sikuja na reli! Nyahururu - Baragoi? What about the mountains? Would make the journey much shorter. It would actually make it a one day trip!

Been around but kinda busy. Been struggling to manage a bulging client portfolio! At least now I can have some time to post a few things here and there!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:05:01 PM

@Sasha,
Kwani wewe siku hizi ni mpishismile? .....If you are overwhelmed by clients,unatuma wengine kwa Shikuku ama Osewesmile ...Nice to have you around!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 4:43:33 PM

@Djinn
The road from Nanyuki Isiolo was fixed. Only a few potholes along the timau area. Nothing much though for a Land Rover. They fixed the road from Isiolo to the Meru- Nanyuki junction. You can full throttle down to Isiolo.
Conquestador
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 9:05:40 PM

Ati Maralal-Baragoi?
You need a good set of spare wheels, a small portable oil well and a spare life. The Baragoi of Suguta valley will consider @Djinn as game especially in the upcoming initiation season...

Best bet, as @Njung'e/ @Sasha ably atriculates is Kitale- Lodwar. At least the 'bandits' there are used to humans wearing clothes.

@Djinn: answer @Njung'e's question: Work or pleasure? If later, why not rope in some Wazuans for company?
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:35:16 PM

Sasha wrote:
@Djinn: Sorry about the link. Go to the homepage i.e. explorekenya.com then scroll to the bottom of the home page, you will see Lake Turkana Safari. If you are unable to do this I will paste excerpts from the site.

This route will not necessarily need a road monster but it may come in handy in the desert! However, have to agree with guka on passing through the desert alone.

Kalacha is a small settlement on the edge of the desert on an oasis near North Horr and the Ethiopian border. You can actually rest there before the long trek to Loiyangalani (will take you about 5 - 6 hours driving at average speeds of 50-60kph).
On the scale of 10, for the Kitale route I'll give an 8! For the Isiolo route I'll give it a 4 heading to 5!

@guka: I'm assuming Djinn is going on a road trip and local tourism. And on that note Djinn, you will need a mobile petrol station for this round trip!

Djinn, If you are doing this for tour why not go through Isiolo Marsabit Loiyangalani route and do the Lodwar Kitale route on your way back. The road to Merille is in good shape but the remaining distance is pure agony for even cruisers. And you might need a new tyre for each of those Hours arross Chalbi!

Be kind to share with wazua your experiences across those counties.

@Njung'e

Looks like you have been through every boundaries and Hamlet commission since independence. Ni wapi hujui?
Cardinal
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 8:42:44 AM

@Djinn,

Distance;

I salute you.You know alot.
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:02:33 AM

@Congeustador,
You are right....The thugs along kitale-lodwar Loki road are very humane.You can stop by and "borrow' a gun at a fee of 1,000 just to test your firing skills.I once did and i know for dead that i can't shoot an elephant even at point blank...lol.

@Willing.
Is there?....hahaha!!.....Remember Mzee Safari in the ol' geo/history? books?.....You never know...lol.

@Cardinal,
Travelling is my fav pastime......Ahsante!
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:08:12 AM

@Djinn,

Distance;

Hats off..... Feels like we would want to mention where we come from coz you will have good info of our backyards!
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 16, 2010 11:16:53 AM

@Wendz,
Thanks dear and don't worry.I am talking to Kimunya and soon you will have tarmac connecting Ol-kalou and Kanyagia through Kirima.....Then tarmac Mairo Inya - Shamata.....or should i just go ahead and become your governor now that i have your vote?....Laughing out loudly ROTFLMAO!!