wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

10 Pages«<78910>
Why safaricom must reduce its costs and expenditures to remain a viable stock in future
#161 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 9:59:29 AM

...in our own interests as consumers to ensure Zain survives...because if they don't, Safcon will have our little a**es for dinner and we will be eaten shamelessly.

Not to mention needing a PhD just to figure out safaricom's promotions!

Recently on Wazua I saw a saying People buy trust before they buy products - Mark Stevens

It is in the consumer's interest there's a competitive market and the regulator's job to ensure this is done.

It would be foolhardy though to argue that recent moves by Zain are motivated by the greater good. Competition Zain/Orange/YU improves the market place - but there are no saviours.

I've spoken to many simple folk who stand by Safaricom and refuse to budge - they just argue it has touched their lives more - no marketing spins. I guess with all its faults, 17 million people still TRUST Safaricom more.

Fortunately trust is earned and can also be lost.

#162 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:07:34 AM

muganda wrote:
...in our own interests as consumers to ensure Zain survives...because if they don't, Safcon will have our little a**es for dinner and we will be eaten shamelessly.

Not to mention needing a PhD just to figure out safaricom's promotions!

Recently on Wazua I saw a saying People buy trust before they buy products - Mark Stevens

It is in the consumer's interest there's a competitive market and the regulator's job to ensure this is done.

It would be foolhardy though to argue that recent moves by Zain are motivated by the greater good. Competition Zain/Orange/YU improves the market place - but there are no saviours.

I've spoken to many simple folk who stand by Safaricom and refuse to budge - they just argue it has touched their lives more - no marketing spins. I guess with all its faults, 17 million people still TRUST Safaricom more.

Fortunately trust is earned and can also be lost.

A sucker is born every minute - P.T. Barnum
Silk
#163 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:12:04 AM

My joy at the moment is that i can call any number without a second thought. I've however thrown away my Bambanet modem which i find punitive. I'm nolonger following these Safcom promo's which i find complicated and difficult and always gives me a headache.
#164 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:16:06 AM

@VituVingiSana, just a quip, and nothing more. Most people involved in tapping the fortune at the bottom of the pyramid often state what a big mistake it is to assume poor = stupid/sucker.

Hence one may argue Equity takes advantage of the poor, as Safaricom the masses. But people are very discerning.

I've not argued people should stay with Safaricom or move to Zain for that matter, I've just wondered aloud why those who love Zain have to play to the gallery?

And whether the theatrics change the state of play in the final count?

#165 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:31:30 AM

muganda wrote:

@VituVingiSana, just a quip, and nothing more. Most people involved in tapping the fortune at the bottom of the pyramid often state what a big mistake it is to assume poor = stupid/sucker.

Hence one may argue Equity takes advantage of the poor, as Safaricom the masses. But people are very discerning.

I've not argued people should stay with Safaricom or move to Zain for that matter, I've just wondered aloud why those who love Zain have to play to the gallery?

Equity provides value where others do not. Equity is EXPENSIVE but not for someone who needs cash chap chap.

As for Zain/Airtel... I am a fan coz it is CHEAPER & CONVENIENT. I don't need to over-think my calling costs. It is simple.
Mpenzi
#166 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 10:54:40 AM

muganda wrote:

I dont think anybody has argued that what Zain is doing is motivated by altruistic or belevolent concerns - it is certainly motivated by its own interests - to grab a bigger share of the market. But to us consumers it matters not the motivation - the important point is that we are calling, texting etc at lower cost.
#167 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:09:49 AM

As an 'investor' I wish I could short-sell Safaricom...

Unless there a humongous upsurge in data use... or a huge decrease in costs... how will Safaricom manage to match 2009-10 profits?

Off-net calls were 12/- (vs 3/-) while on-net were 5/- on average (or higher coz I hardly got the 'cheap' deals) which means the margins are squeezed!

Folks like me have shifted to slower but much cheaper Orange 3G+ (nothing 3G there but cheaper for unlimited)... or others to Zuku for data
#168 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:27:36 AM

muganda wrote:

I have always wondered why people who support the competition would think they are more clever than those who remain with safaricom.

The reason I am with safaricom is because they are convenient and hav always responded to my need case in point when I could not afford a phone they came up with simu ya jamii.then kabambe and now a kabambe with radio.They also made sure I could afford credit by comming up with bamba 50/= then 20/= and recently 10/= & 5/=.

Although their cost was high the services and convenience was worth it.and furthermore this companys has made it possible for kenya to be at par with developed countries and in some cases surpassed some of them what with the MPESA solution And currently they are testing the 4g spectrum. when India has not even started the 3g platform.

Allank
#169 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:39:02 AM

Data is the next battlefront...I hear Zain will be offering an unlimited monthly package for like 500 bob.

masaa ya kularaha na 3g yako karibu kuwa reality! safcon is showing signs of a dying horse by panicking with terms an conditions free bundles who need to surf for free @ 32kbs in this days and times of broadband!!! Watcha zain unlishes the 500bob 3g package na Safcon watajizika kwa kaburi la sahau na 4g yao.
Kama kuoga ni usafi taulo lachafukani?
mozenrat
#170 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:14:43 PM

Safcom just unleashed theirs... the data war has began..

300MB @ Ksh 999 per month
700MB @ Ksh 1,999 per month.
1GB @ Ksh 2,999 per month

Upon exhaustion on the value of bundle - browse FREE @ reduced data speeds until the end of the 30 day paid-period.
#171 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:16:48 PM

@selah - All I am saying is that for me... Zain/Airtel has fulfilled a need at a price I can afford...
mv_ufanisi
#172 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:45:29 PM

mozenrat wrote:

Upon exhaustion on the value of bundle - browse FREE @ reduced data speeds until the end of the 30 day paid-period.

Telkom please follow suit. I want unlimited browsing for 1,000 kshs maximum. If I get that goodbye to access in my office.

I'm still rooting for Zain/Airtel. We need a competitive mobile landscape. That's why my blackberry service is now with Zain. Zain tafadhali come up with a killer data deal.
KenyanLyrics
#173 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:57:29 PM

mozenrat wrote:

data bundles are big big jokes. A company serious about service would offer unlimited data at varying speeds
#174 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 1:03:31 PM

mozenrat wrote:

As usual... very confusing... So what are the 'speeds' they are talking of AFTER the bundle has expired/exhausted? Do I still lose my bundle if unused after 30 days?
qw25041985
#175 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 1:17:38 PM

Unlimited internet for 1000/= per month , this is the sweetest news since the discovery of lungula ...hahaha! But i wonder what they mean by 'reducd data speeds '
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Mpenzi
#176 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 1:30:07 PM

Reduced data speeds once you have exhausted your bundle:

Bundle - Speed
300MB - 32 Kbps
700MB - 64 Kbps
1GB - 128 Kbps
#177 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 1:30:56 PM

selah wrote:

I have always wondered why people who support the competition would think they are more clever than those who remain with safaricom.

The reason I am with safaricom is because they are convenient and hav always responded to my need case in point when I could not afford a phone they came up with simu ya jamii.then kabambe and now a kabambe with radio.They also made sure I could afford credit by comming up with bamba 50/= then 20/= and recently 10/= & 5/=.

Although their cost was high the services and convenience was worth it.and furthermore this companys has made it possible for kenya to be at par with developed countries and in some cases surpassed some of them what with the MPESA solution And currently they are testing the 4g spectrum. when India has not even started the 3g platform.

Quite the contrary. All the good points you note about the now extinct simu ya jamii, kabambe, the bambas etc are now easily matched, and surpassed by the competition. And then you negate then reaffirm, all in one sentence that it was worth it. (despite the high cost).

It is like rocket science for the rest of us poor souls why the rabid attachment to safaricom on the basis of the defunct points you have mentioned.

Surely for you it has more to do with the heart than with the head or cleverness..that is why we feel good kenya has 4g while india, that is more technologically advanced, has not. yet we still own and operate edge/gprs phones.

i know i do! nokia 6300!
holycow
#178 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:08:33 PM

I'm lost with the data offer, how do they say its unlimited then give it a limit cap in terms of MB.
Sielewi Safaricom, i'd rather they say, surf till you drop, for X shillings for a period N. Sasa hii maneno ya speed before and after, yawa. Someone had once mentioned that you need a table to understand the Safaricom Promotions.
And who said its free after exhausting the bundles??
#179 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:08:56 PM

gathinga wrote:
Much Know,

When a ship sinks, the rats always jump off first.

Applause Applause

True.

My 2 cents
#180 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:13:39 PM

gathinga wrote:
Much Know,

When a ship sinks, the rats always jump off first.

Applause Applause

True.

The question is, WHICH SHIP IS SINKING?