wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Threads on Planes, Bicycles & Vehicles
#41 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 5:50:47 PM

@wazua - I'm sure you can access this infamous "Loca, Regional and International Airports" from a recycle bin somewhere. Can you kindly corroborate or contradict my assertion that I posted absolutely nothing on that thread now that @newfearer has decided to use my name as a placeholder. I don't want to be lumped up together with men who disrespect our ladies just because my name 'popped up' in some fellow's mind
#42 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 5:52:33 PM

Well, seems i missed the offensive thread...but seems it was quite something!

Anyhow,me thinks sometimes..and to some extent,the airplanes jokes are quite funny, but soon enough,people cross the line and the jokes become dirty jokes directed mainly at women. All we need to do is know when we're crossing the line...

@Maichblack
Wouldn't it be easier if you moved on? We understand Newfarer confused your name and tarnished it for second there.. but the more you whine about it,the more we notice that you were mentioned. He apologized,please let it be? And incase his apology wasn't enough... then i apologize again on his behalf and on behalf of the entire Wazua community.
#43 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:18:46 PM

@wazua - I'm sure you can access this infamous "Loca, Regional and International Airports" from a recycle bin somewhere. Can you kindly corroborate or contradict my assertion that I posted absolutely nothing on that thread now that @newfearer has decided to use my name as a placeholder. I don't want to be lumped up together with men who disrespect our ladies just because my name 'popped up' in some fellow's mind

DISRESPECT! here is a very strong sentiment, i doubt the men here disrespect women...that is so general. Guys have wives and daughters at home. Granted, that thread was way out of line and the men got carried away and most of them have apologized after some sanity was restored!
Pablo
#44 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:25:12 PM

As the King has said I would really be nice to have a Boys Corner and Girls corner where what you read is at your own risk.

If you remove all this innuendos and aeroplaneswhat happens to the site esp on Friday's (I keep asking hwere is my good friend Danny6)

I am with Famooz on this one.
#45 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:26:02 PM

DISRESPECT! here is a very strong sentiment, i doubt the men here disrespect women...that is so general. Guys have wives and daughters at home. Granted, that thread was way out of line and the men got carried away and most of them have apologized after some sanity was restored!

@nostoppingthis - Pardon me. I did not read the posts [on the offending thread] so I have no idea what was said and by whom. I just read the posts on this thread and got the picture that what was posted was pretty gross.
Ric dees
#46 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:26:43 PM

@Kadonye and all,much as i understand the insensitive nature the thread was "perceived" to take i think we need to stop all this hypocrisy and double standards.

This kind of talk will always be there, and i can bet you by bottom dollar, we will see it here albeit in a different format and we will all gladly chip in apologies not withstanding!!

My point is we all read and contributed "heartily" about the "elusive husband" thread http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=8563
In my opinion,the populace here would have called for it's deletion coz it IMO it was full of character bashing and stereotype that to me is a greater sin, "from ladies giving in too cheaply" to "men guying ngothas for maids" i mean it had everything.

So Wazua now that you have set precedence what do you think bout the below phrase?..
"The problem with Kenyan women is that they are toooooooo easily available".

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#47 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:28:36 PM

leona wrote:
@Maichblack
Wouldn't it be easier if you moved on? We understand Newfarer confused your name and tarnished it for second there.. but the more you whine about it,the more we notice that you were mentioned. He apologized,please let it be? And incase his apology wasn't enough... then i apologize again on his behalf and on behalf of the entire Wazua community.

I agree my sister. I will move on. He he he he. No more whining. Nimepokea apology pap!
#48 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:41:47 PM

Ric dees wrote:

@Kadonye and all,much as i understand the insensitive nature the thread was "perceived" to take i think we need to stop all this hypocrisy and double standards.

This kind of talk will always be there, and i can bet you by bottom dollar, we will see it here albeit in a different format and we will all gladly chip in apologies not withstanding!!

My point is we all read and contributed "heartily" about the "elusive husband" thread http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=8563
In my opinion,the populace here would have called for it's deletion coz it IMO it was full of character bashing and stereotype that to me is a greater sin, "from ladies giving in too cheaply" to "men guying ngothas for maids" i mean it had everything.

So Wazua now that you have set precedence what do you think bout the below phrase?..
"The problem with Kenyan women is that they are toooooooo easily available".

I agree with @Ric Dees...the guys here will still talk about these things (some actually leave us ROTFLMAO on fridays). The problem with that particular thread is that it was very demeaning to the ladies. We have not heard of a "Kadonye" outcry in the previous threads with regards to aeroplanes & pines. But this particular one that raised the alarm is completely unacceptableShame on you Shame on you
bepari
#49 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:50:58 PM

@magigi. A politician would have said 'i will not be cowed'.
this were boys being boys.....
if you aint livin on the edge,you are taking too much space....
#50 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:53:19 PM

@Ric Dees,
Demeaning is the word.....When it comes to amusing or creating laughter,i believe you would have done better by posting a picture of yourself with a yellow condom on your nose!smile
#51 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:58:30 PM

@Ric Dees,
Demeaning is the word.....When it comes to amusing or creating laughter,i believe you would have done better by posting a picture of yourself with a yellow condom on your nose!smile

@Guka, uko na maneno smile
#52 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:59:03 PM

Ric dees wrote:

I dont really think the problem is the discussion of all the pinetrees to elusive husbands, bicycles and all par se because we are all adults. The discussions usually take a healthy "enlighting" kind of nature despite the subject. Some comments in them may sound tough, but if you look at the society, they tend to have some truth in it though may be they are just a blanket generalisation. The difference with the deleted one (the parts i read -i never got to read the whole of it) there were some posts that were pretty descriptive - if you remember a comment on the Rwandese women and concoction they apparently take... I think the problem was the moderation of some posts and not the actual context.

As @Leona said, I think the problem was just knowing when to stop or what not to say in the group....
#53 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:07:07 PM

It seems to me like hypocrisy out the window and a general consensus about toning down on the aeroplanes talk / content :)
#54 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:12:34 PM

bepari wrote:
@magigi
this were boys being boys.....

Small Mboys do grow up to become Mbig Mboys.Don't tell me you today you would think of jumping from the top of the tallest tree in your village with an umbrella for a parachute just as you did years backLaughing out loudly
Ric dees
#55 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:15:09 PM

Ok Njunge..demeaning is the word, so lets say today David Cameron said "The problem with Kenyans is that they are all very lazy" wouldn't we be up in arms baying for his torso??

So Wendz now that it was stated that "Kenyan women give it toooooo easily", am i to believe you give it tooooo easily, can i share this info with my workmates?? As i said to me that kind of generalization is disrespectful since my mum, wife, daughter, sisters are all Kenyan and that to is disrespectful...I always say in all instances speak for yourself, do not generalize and let me ask does that phrase sit well with your conscience Wendz, Kadonye, Famooz, Njunge and CO???

Please note i am not condoning the graphic nature some of the threads took but i believe we need to come out clearly on our stand regarding content here..If you do not condone, stereotype, sexual connotations let it be from the onset.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#56 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:23:47 PM

Wazua, @Kadonye et al. I am deeply offended by the censorship.

So, while you are at it, could you delete the WHOLE thread that has the offensive posts with the following content:

A woman is like a maize cob....

A woman is like a bus....

Black ice.
For the ladies ambao wako na nyege, who need to get laid that night and soonest as possible, hata kama ni kwa gari, bora hiyo shuma iingie.
Mpenzi
#57 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:30:49 PM

Am with famooz on this one - both her comments above. No doubt a similar thread will appear sooner than later, thing is to ensure that what we say does not demean or insult others.
#58 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:31:11 PM

But @famooz, si thats why mashada is there? if we allow ourselves to digress so much into the earoplanes talk, dont you think we shall be giving mashada a run for its money and time? Some of us may even be members of Mashada so why have two sites dedicated for earoplanes when we can have both earoplanes/bicycles and investments(moderate digressing allowed).....

If you were an investor or serious business like KCB/SAFARICOM/ETC and wanted to advertise your goods do you think the kind of thread that was deleted is something you would want your clients discussing when they show up when explaining where they got the info? No! That is not even Wazua's slogan! It says where serious investments are discussed.... and well, though we have had other such discussions, Wazua has the responsibility to moderate such discussions otherwise this site goes to the gutter! What they did was the right thing.

Be as it may, I think its where the thread was headed that caused @kadonye's outcry. The thread went downhill without breaks and it just had to be stopped somewhere.. And lets agree, different people are offended by differnt things or same things but different degrees. So the fact that someone raised or is against the thread doesnt make them hypocrites... Someone can discuss aeroplanes but only to a certain level before they get uncomfortable... may be its that line that we are not in agreement. And in any case, if one feels offended, they have a right to say it. some men are in agreement here and called for a change in that topic much earlier than the female folks... Its just a matter of respecting different opinions.

@Ric dees
Please note i am not condoning the graphic nature some of the threads took
Now, there, we are in total agreement. No one said such discussions shouldnt be held, but you have clearly put it why this raised alarm. It was that simple, i believe.

#59 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:52:45 PM

@ wendz,Please do not mis-quote me. Read my posts properly. I do not read mashada,never been a member,never will be,i just hear about Mashada.

#60 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 8:15:57 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Wazua, @Kadonye et al. I am deeply offended by the censorship.

So, while you are at it, could you delete the WHOLE thread that has the offensive posts with the following content:

A woman is like a maize cob....

A woman is like a bus....

Black ice.
For the ladies ambao wako na nyege, who need to get laid that night and soonest as possible, hata kama ni kwa gari, bora hiyo shuma iingie.

@aemathenge, wacha asira.......didn't you notice that @ wazua was enjoying the thread until @ Kadonye stepped in? hii mambo ya shuma will land you into trouble with WazuaLiar Liar