Investor
Stocks
Who wants my shares?
adrenalin indeed! LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
@ guru .dnt waste ur time or energy on explainin to the deal .basic t.a principles just pass him like the wind !!! Trust me i tried and lookd a fool .hahahah! Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
MaichBlack wrote:My 2 cents wrote:I have just reached a time in my life where I am thinking, is this it? What am I accumulating these damn shares for anyway? Simple solution. Don't sell the shares but forget them and go on with your life. Just like our fathers and grandfathers used to do - they bought plots, some in places they've only been to once and forgot them for years. When things became elephant they were like "Na kuna ka-plot nilikuwa nako...." At that time they research on the going price at the moment and probably sell the plot. True Story: There is a day I received a call from a land broker I had told I was looking for a plot to buy. He told me "Kuna plot inauzwa Zimmerman lakini utangoja itafutwe!". I was like wtf!!! He explained to me that the mzee selling it bought it ages ago [when there were no buildings] and he can't remember exactly where it was!!! He had given him copies of the documents and instructed him to "look for the plot"!!! Ngoja ikatafutwe. This is funny.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
guru267 wrote:MaichBlack wrote:My 2 cents wrote:I have just reached a time in my life where I am thinking, is this it? What am I accumulating these damn shares for anyway? Simple solution. Don't sell the shares but forget them and go on with your life. Just like our fathers and grandfathers used to do - they bought plots, some in places they've only been to once and forgot them for years. When things became elephant they were like "Na kuna ka-plot nilikuwa nako...." At that time they research on the going price at the moment and probably sell the plot. @Maichblack this is easy for investors but its pretty hard for a trader to do this because we always have to be on our toes and look out for every information we can get out hands on @guru - I totally understand and agree with you. For traders, one should know even when the CEO of a company you hold is denied food by the wifey or when he starts or quits drinking. LOL. And that is why the adrenaline rush comes in. But at @My 2 cents amechoka na adrenaline rush. Labda uzee umebisha hodi. Or he might just be bored with these stocks maneno. That's why I'm advising him to get into growth/dividend paying stocks [if that is not what he's holding] and forget them. Obviously it would be suicidal for a trader to ignore his/her shares even for a couple of days. You need to know when to sell Kenya Re and buy Jubilee, exit Mumias at 14, get back in at 11.80 then exit again at 13.15 etc. etc. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/30/2007 Posts: 1,558 Location: Nairobi
MaichBlack wrote:guru267 wrote:MaichBlack wrote:My 2 cents wrote:I have just reached a time in my life where I am thinking, is this it? What am I accumulating these damn shares for anyway? Simple solution. Don't sell the shares but forget them and go on with your life. Just like our fathers and grandfathers used to do - they bought plots, some in places they've only been to once and forgot them for years. When things became elephant they were like "Na kuna ka-plot nilikuwa nako...." At that time they research on the going price at the moment and probably sell the plot. @Maichblack this is easy for investors but its pretty hard for a trader to do this because we always have to be on our toes and look out for every information we can get out hands on @guru - I totally understand and agree with you. For traders, one should know even when the CEO of a company you hold is denied food by the wifey or when he starts or quits drinking. LOL. And that is why the adrenaline rush comes in. But at @My 2 cents amechoka na adrenaline rush. Labda uzee umebisha hodi. Or he might just be bored with these stocks maneno. That's why I'm advising him to get into growth/dividend paying stocks [if that is not what he's holding] and forget them. Obviously it would be suicidal for a trader to ignore his/her shares even for a couple of days. You need to know when to sell Kenya Re and buy Jubilee, exit Mumias at 14, get back in at 11.80 then exit again at 13.15 etc. etc. Well "dividend paying stocks" does obviously not always constitute an " investors" portfolio. I would buy into companies with steady and predictable growth that I have worked out and then chop that % further...for the next 5years and if it worth buying at the current price(case in point, jub, carb(when I bought boatloads of these at 100). I know that dub in the next 5yrs, should give me a minimum 25% growth pa. While carb, should do slightly better. If they beat my very conservative growth estimates, then hey, bobs your uncle!!! If they don't, hang, give another chance (another year, obviously depending on whether the stock has changed fundamentally). For me KK had changed fundamentally, they became another political party...(please VVSpretend I just didn't say that) again, you have to know, when it is worth staying in the ship or not....I remember , when I was 18, (10 years back) my first salo went straight to buy eabl pre slit, pre bonus pre everything at 69bob. I just sold out this year. U do the math...
Interesting debate. I thought this was one of the best years in stocks after 1 and a half cold years. I am staying put no need to quite now unless you have a better bisna to take the chums, you can sell in 2012 and run for governor.. Hahahahahaha Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
guru267 wrote:Its an adrenalin rush that I'll always be in love with @guru that brings us back to that date thingie... Life is short. Live passionately.
My biggest lesson so far... During times of a downturn commit 80% of your portifolio to blue chips that have shown consistent growth in profits and dividend. You can use the 20% to satisfy your speculative curiosity... Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
sparkly wrote:guru267 wrote:Its an adrenalin rush that I'll always be in love with @guru that brings us back to that date thingie... ![Laughing out loudly](/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif) Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2007 Posts: 2,037 Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Share trading / investment very interesting if you are trading in different markets. You spread your risk and do not bother about the peculiar downtown and at times upswing of some markets. The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Me wacha days. Im always looking at the tickers, every hour sometimes even minutes. im just so into it and i know this is how ill make money without getting my hands dirty. that said im a medium term trader so i like to hold for a quarter or 2, or when i meet my targets. its just the passion that keeps this going. im not really good on the news updates on whats going on in the business world and get most of it from wazua, could someone please reccommend a reliable source. Id like to know even when my CEO develops a cold. lol. just kidding. but really. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Member Joined: 3/17/2008 Posts: 567 Location: Nairobi
In 2008 (during the famous Safaricom IPO) I invested heavily in EB. I knew they would declare 200% plus growth in half year profits. In July just when they were just about to release their results a Mzee huko in Embu offered me to by 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash. I told him to wait for a month so that the value of my shares would go up and I would be able not only to buy the land but also upgrade my old car.
When the results came they also came with the credit crunch and soon the shares I had bought at 175/- were selling at 160/-.
Needless to say I neither bought the shamba nor upgraded my car. Had I bought the land its now at 350k per acre.
Moral of the story - For those who are getting stressed with shares just buy land. Even the plots at Kamulu Joska that go for 50k per 1/8 are good deals for tommorow.
Pablo wrote:a Mzee huko in Embu offered me to by 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k as he needed cash. Per acre or for the whole 20 acres? And either way, 75k? Seriously!? Or is this a parable? LOL. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/24/2010 Posts: 846 Location: KENYA
Pablo wrote:In 2008 (during the famous Safaricom IPO) I invested heavily in EB. I knew they would declare 200% plus growth in half year profits. In July just when they were just about to release their results a Mzee huko in Embu offered me to by 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash. I told him to wait for a month so that the value of my shares would go up and I would be able not only to buy the land but also upgrade my old car.
When the results came they also came with the credit crunch and soon the shares I had bought at 175/- were selling at 160/-.
Needless to say I neither bought the shamba nor upgraded my car. Had I bought the land its now at 350k per acre.
Moral of the story - For those who are getting stressed with shares just buy land. Even the plots at Kamulu Joska that go for 50k per 1/8 are good deals for tommorow. Ouch! Painful one that. There were also many opportunities in the stock market during the bear market. It is my sincere hope that you took advantage.
Pablo wrote: ... 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash...
... the land its now at 350k per acre.
Are you serious Sir? which shamba in Embu is this that appreciates by 400% in 2 years? Did you mean to tell us that the mzee was selling the land to you at a throw away price. If thats the case you should have taken it without thinking. Thats like someone selling me his 2 BR Milimani apartment at 2 Million. Anyway i dont think that any shamba in Mashambani, if fairly valued could have appreciated by 400% in 2 years. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
Sparkly, its possible. The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Rank: Member Joined: 3/17/2008 Posts: 567 Location: Nairobi
@Sparkly These are the returns on land. This is only one of the many opportunities I missed while "investing" time in stocks.
I can bet you today that those pieces you see being sold on thika Rd, Kisaju etc will be 400% more in 2012, especially if you buy full acres.
And by the way that land was not underpriced there were several pieces available at even less.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/24/2010 Posts: 846 Location: KENYA
sparkly wrote:Pablo wrote: ... 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash...
... the land its now at 350k per acre.
Are you serious Sir? which shamba in Embu is this that appreciates by 400% in 2 years? Did you mean to tell us that the mzee was selling the land to you at a throw away price. If thats the case you should have taken it without thinking. Thats like someone selling me his 2 BR Milimani apartment at 2 Million. Anyway i dont think that any shamba in Mashambani, if fairly valued could have appreciated by 400% in 2 years. ![Shame on you](/Images/Emoticons/eusa_naughty.gif) In the 'shags' areas outside Limuru 1acre was selling at 450,000 a year ago. Now 1million. Its very possible.
Investor
Stocks
Who wants my shares?