wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

5 Pages123>»
ORANGE Internet Dead for a week
#1 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 1:59:01 PM

People; the last one week I have been reduced to using Cyber Cafes.

The orange internet collapsed last Saturday when they tried to upgrade it. We have been in the dark all week.

And as if that was not bad enough; all our data bundles were wiped out. I lost 1,960MB!!!

Calls to customer care [I think their call centre is the most efficient in the market] have give different changes in settings.

Then we were told to load more MBs while they try to trace the lost ones....but alas, the re-load system wasn't working!!

This morning [Friday], I managed to connect after loading a new 100MB bundle by dictating the card digits to a CS officer....

The speed was excruciatingly slow... it reminded me of my days with Zain! tried to call CS but calls didn't go through either!

then something told me to try returning to the old modem settings..... and woah the rate metre hit 120kBps..
mukiha attached the following image(s):
internetdeadrv.jpg (5kb) downloaded 0 time(s).
#2 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 2:00:51 PM

Anyone suffering the same problem; set your modem back to "EVDO Only" network. The "Hybrid" is no good.... it connects but the speed is horrible... you'll be lucky to get above 10kBps
#3 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 3:03:37 PM

Maybe signs of a more comprehensive demise coming soon...
#4 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 3:10:17 PM

kularaha, just maybe i also have the same feeling.
qw25041985
#5 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 3:41:31 PM

Those EVO speeds during the day are nothing compared to the night speeds .i am a heavy data user so torrents are my thing and @ nyt i hit 300 kbps w/ utorrent . DAMN this network rocks !!
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#6 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 3:55:17 PM

@qw; have been able to connect this week? there was a major breakdown.... they called an "minor problem" in they ad in today's paper.

Still, I think they are best - all things considered; speed, cost, stability
#7 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 4:00:50 PM

Tell me, how much do they charge? Do they have unlimited?
#8 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 4:08:50 PM

Tell me, how much do they charge? Do they have unlimited?

Between 92cts and sh3 per MB depending on the bundle you buy.

7 days unlimited is sh990

#9 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 4:12:42 PM

Hmmmmm, so for a month unlimited it would cost me 3960?

Im currently paying 4400 to Tangerine, but thinking of moving to Zuku at 2500.

Let the Orange service start working again, Id like to see it in action first.
qw25041985
#10 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 4:14:11 PM

@kulah raha .no pun intendd but kwani u live under a rock ? Ofcourse they have unlimitd internet .and u cn take it anywhere u want .
Its clear Orange hav the data muscle 2 deliver !!! Mimi napenda hii chungwa sana .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
5 Pages123>»