wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

Fundamental investor - Centum
robertyawe
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 9:53:57 AM

Who owns Centum is the first issue that comes to mind after reading the 2009/2010 annual report because unlike other listed companies they have not listed the top 10 shareholders and neither a shareholder breakdown.

I make the assumption that the top shareholder listing was a statutory requirement but I stand corrected. On the other end, just a thought, could Centum be planning to de-list?

There is also no listing of the companies in which Centum have invested just again is odd as it them makes it very difficult to carry out comprehensive fundamental analysis.

Centum is a very interesting counter and has no equal on the bourse as they are a fund like Berkshire Hathaway (Berkshire Hathway) so it defeats the purpose to have Centum plus other listed counters or mutual funds in your portfolio.

For the armchair investor just keep buying Centum and let them handle the rest for you. As Warren Buffet says he has invested 98% of his money in the company.

From the annual report and the Chairman's letter is is clear that Centum is going through a major realignment in its investment strategy where there seems to be a greater emphasis on balancing their portfolio.

Not the way many of us do it by buying across different sectors of the listed companies but by true diversification. Most of centums holdings have been in listed equities but more recently there has been an increase in unquoted and also fixed income

There is an increase in fixed income securities such as a 500 M in corporate bonds and there seems to be the creation of a war chest shown with the holding of large call deposits.

The cash position stands at almost one third of the total portfolio value a sign that something big is in the offing.

Centum is very good at getting return for its shareholders by having a strong board presence, its main income is from dividend payout, over 65% is from subsidiary companies and unquoted investments.

This could be an explanation on why they have divested from Eveready, or it could just be a realignment strategy.

With so little information provided in the annual report all we can do is speculate.

I have a love hate relationship with this counter, like many of you I have sometimes allowed my self to be driven by public opinion of the major investors in Centum.

As was raised by a contributor on my post on Eveready whose only justification for not investing in the stock was that Merali was a majority investor.

When you are looking at fundamentals you need to be able to see beyond the public perception of directors and learn to look at the value to bring to the company.

For those who are more in tune with what is happening in the investment arena would have noted that the real estate investment trusts (REITs) bill is hanging around the corner and its will soon be tabled in parliament.

Centum is a barometer of the market and the fact that they have recently invested in a property management company, Kenya National Properties Ltd. is a clear indication that REITS will soon be here, I would not be surprised if the first property in the kitty is International House.

The acquisition of Rasimu Ltd was a very ingenius way to take control of a listed company in this case Carbacid.

Centum has very solid fundamentals and fits very well into many armchair investors portfolio, with the anticipated introduction of REITS and the launch of the grain exchange expected great things for the long term.

For those speculators and short term investors avoid this as there will be no dividend for yet another year as the company prepares for war.

#2 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:18:48 AM

1) chris kirubi is the #1 shareholder & has 'control'.

2) Neither CK nor merali are 'clean' i.e. they will screw the other shareholders...

See insider dealings between CK's haco & Uchumi or merali's deals between his firms & Sameer Africa or Sasini or CK buying Uchumi properties on the cheap then leasing them back to Uchumi
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:31:09 AM

Jimna mbaru,i see his foot here and think this company must be featured in who owns kenya by julie.
mjuaji wa stocks
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 3:46:23 PM

I too got the report and the first thing that put me off was the poor quality paper they used for the report.

i fear it may not last long for my some to catch up with ....

Secondly; the very poor report itself....it was ambigous and not telling us what we want i.e top shareholders; listed holdings and unlisted holdings etc....

the statement of income was also shady....i hope there was no cooking of books...delloite are also leaving them and are now taking up kpmg...quite interesting...

The company is kirubi'....and as vitu has said...he is a subject of uchumi corrupt deals...he and merali plus others walikula uchumi yetu...

Kirubi controls centum via kiruma international; international life house and c.j kirubi (yeye mwenyewe)

I bought this stock in 2006 @28.25/

I find it being one of my investment mistakes coz the buy listed companies just like i can personally....

Hata hiyo ...apart from the junk RVR...the had large holdings in coca cola....(bottling plants)....NAS kenya; KREP bank and recently longhorn publishers....

Most of these investments zimekuwa negative case in point krep...till the MD had to be changed...

Centum......ABK ..... unless as someone said...wewe nunua na uende ukalale...

Let them work for you....but how much will you get??

Insider information to one majority shareholder is not good...kukiumana...anaweza uza ...awaache mchomeke....kama merali tu na hiyo sasini na sameer....made money ....build sameer business park..lakini the money trickling to other shareholders ni peanuts aka drops....

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#5 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 4:27:23 PM

Hmmmn, @robertyawe...
1. Page 20 of Annual Report for FY 2009/2010 does indeed list Top 10 shareholders while confirming @VituVingiSana assertion that Kirubi holds sway. Note all related party transactions are shown on page 83.

Happy to see Jubilee Insurance at no 6 - this company for me is what mirrors Berkshire Hathaway in Kenya

2. Also happy to see introduction of page 18 showing who attends board meetings - should be rolled out to all other listed companies.

3. And happier to see young CEO - James Mworia - holding 283,880 shares of Centum thus making us all aligned. This young 32yr old CEO who is an advocate, CFA charter holde, ICPAK, CIMA, seems to be the cause for a new aggressive stand which is set to benefit shareholders more

4. Private Equity Portfolio (unquoted securities) listed from page 26 graphically:
UAP 24.2%
AON Minet 21.5%
Rift Valley Bottlers_44.0%, Nairobi Bottlers_27.6%, Mount Kenya Bottlers_28.6%, Kisii Bottlers_23.8%
KWAL 26.4%
Longhorn Publishers 35%
GM 17.8%
NAS Airport Services 9.1%
Helios Fund 2 $5m

5. Coupled with their new investments in Real Estate and Infrastructure of approx. 2.5billion

@robertyawe, any oversights on your part forgiven. In fact, at P/E of about 11, I'm going to seriously think about making an investment in this company. I begin looking for the elusive margin of safety...
mjuaji wa stocks
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 5:28:37 PM

@ Muganda.....this report is very different from the one i have in hard copy....ama ni mimi tu?

Kwani post office plucked out some pages of my report then carefully send me an incomplete one...having carefully sealed ...

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#7 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 6:09:01 PM

Ama they save money by making the hardcopy less detailed? Talk about cost cutting!
robertyawe
#8 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 9:49:49 AM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
I too got the report and the first thing that put me off was the poor quality paper they used for the report. The safaricom Annual Report was in the print media on cheap newsprint the rest was online I believe the cheap paper is a sign of a need to control expenses which should be a good thing to the shareholders

i fear it may not last long for my some to catch up with ....

Secondly; the very poor report itself....it was ambigous and not telling us what we want i.e top shareholders; listed holdings and unlisted holdings etc....

the statement of income was also shady....i hope there was no cooking of books...delloite are also leaving them and are now taking up kpmg...quite interesting...

The company is kirubi'....and as vitu has said...he is a subject of uchumi corrupt deals...he and merali plus others walikula uchumi yetu... Apart from the fact that Kirubi is deemed to have affected Uchumi, which I disagree, is he good for business?

Kirubi controls centum via kiruma international; international life house and c.j kirubi (yeye mwenyewe) That is the question, without a shareholder listing how sure are we that Kirubi still has controlling shares of Centum, isn't it possible that he has divested just as he did with Haco?

I bought this stock in 2006 @28.25/ There was a bonus issue of 1-10 in July 2010, in if you bought additional shares every month since then your average cost would be about 16/- giving you a capital gain of 50% as of end of August, which is what a fundamental investor would have done

I find it being one of my investment mistakes coz the buy listed companies just like i can personally....

Hata hiyo ...apart from the junk RVR...the had large holdings in coca cola....(bottling plants)....NAS kenya; KREP bank and recently longhorn publishers....

Most of these investments zimekuwa negative case in point krep...till the MD had to be changed...

Centum......ABK ..... unless as someone said...wewe nunua na uende ukalale...

Let them work for you....but how much will you get??

Insider information to one majority shareholder is not good...kukiumana...anaweza uza ...awaache mchomeke....kama merali tu na hiyo sasini na sameer....made money ....build sameer business park..lakini the money trickling to other shareholders ni peanuts aka drops....

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

robertyawe
#9 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 9:56:45 AM

We seem to have different versions of the AR, my page 20 has "Notes to the financial Statements" and the entire document is 56 pages long. Where did you get your copy?

Why should the company send our 2 different versions of the annual report?

muganda wrote:
Hmmmn, @robertyawe...
1. Page 20 of Annual Report for FY 2009/2010 does indeed list Top 10 shareholders while confirming @VituVingiSana assertion that Kirubi holds sway. Note all related party transactions are shown on page 83.

Happy to see Jubilee Insurance at no 6 - this company for me is what mirrors Berkshire Hathaway in Kenya

2. Also happy to see introduction of page 18 showing who attends board meetings - should be rolled out to all other listed companies.

3. And happier to see young CEO - James Mworia - holding 283,880 shares of Centum thus making us all aligned. This young 32yr old CEO who is an advocate, CFA charter holde, ICPAK, CIMA, seems to be the cause for a new aggressive stand which is set to benefit shareholders more

4. Private Equity Portfolio (unquoted securities) listed from page 26 graphically:
UAP 24.2%
AON Minet 21.5%
Rift Valley Bottlers_44.0%, Nairobi Bottlers_27.6%, Mount Kenya Bottlers_28.6%, Kisii Bottlers_23.8%
KWAL 26.4%
Longhorn Publishers 35%
GM 17.8%
Helios Fund 2 $5m

5. Coupled with their new investments in Real Estate and Infrastructure of approx. 2.5billion

@robertyawe, any oversights on your part forgiven. In fact, at P/E of about 11, I'm going to seriously think about making an investment in this company. I begin looking for the elusive margin of safety...

The Merchant
#10 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 10:34:19 AM

robertyawe wrote:
We seem to have different versions of the AR, my page 20 has "Notes to the financial Statements" and the entire document is 56 pages long. Where did you get your copy?

Why should the company send our 2 different versions of the annual report?

muganda wrote:
Hmmmn, @robertyawe...

UAP 24.2%
AON Minet 21.5%
KWAL 26.4%
Longhorn Publishers 35%
GM 17.8%
Helios Fund 2 $5m

Muganda confirm please this is troubling...d'oh!
Wa_ithaka
#11 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 11:16:10 AM

All the info you need is on Centum's website
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
The Merchant
#12 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 11:25:09 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
All the info you need is on Centum's website

Found it.