wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

10 Pages<12345>»
Why safaricom must reduce its costs and expenditures to remain a viable stock in future
#41 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:40:19 PM

alma, well said!
#42 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 9:31:27 PM

Safcom should be a case study in marketing. There are people willing to make fools of themselves in public just to defend what is essentially a British owned operation that repatriates the bulk of it's profits to London.

True marketing success!!
whynow
#43 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 9:54:39 PM

Finally. This is the proof that safcom is in deeeeep shit. I used to spend 250 per day previously. I make all the calls I need in a day an i donot deplete the 100 that am currently spending per day. And to quote my wife " Baba *****" how come my airtime doesnot finish nowadays".

#44 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:11:50 PM

@selah, you have one, we all know as investors to observe, the numbers support you. At the end of the day its business, let me give you my research, i check the calls i receive from zain, i have not been called from a zain number for the last one week (received two calls the week before), though i get at least 100calls a day. As adam smith would say, if the cost of beer should decline, the gentleman will not necessarily drink more, but the yeomanry certainly will.
Meru Holiness
#45 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:12:10 PM

Masaa tariff is a huge con. These guys are overcharging their customers deliberately. I loaded 100 this afternoon and after 13 minutes of calls to safcom numbers, i have only 14 bob! People watch out, you have been warned...
#46 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:27:32 PM

Cck constantly monitors call billing, call dropping, uptake e.t.c and would instantly disconnect a 'con', wacha uwongo
Meru Holiness
KenyanLyrics
#47 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 12:19:46 AM

According to a Safaricom insider, here is their plan for the war:

Voice is, and will always be the core business of a mobile phone company. Anything said otherwise is just to maintain customer and investor confidence.

On that premise, Safcom are absolutely 100% sure that Zain's pricing model is unsustainable. So what was the reasoning behind Safcom's reaction? Safcom want to call Zain/ Airtel's bluff on their tariff. The contentious issue here being the promise of the tariff being 'forever.' Safcom has said that they will launch a one month 'Masaa ya Kubamba' offer. The great unknown is what will happen after this one month is over?

Safcom will decide to 'extend' their offer. On top of this, they will expand the reach of the offer to another service. Safaricom keep playing this game of Russian Roulette for the better part of a year, till one day, after realising that all the major profit avenues have been closed, Zain/ Airtel deals itself the inevitable fatal blow, and reneges on it's '3bob forever' promise. Customers feel betrayed, run back into the arms of their ex, Safaricom, who can now restore normal super-profits by declaring 'Masaa ya Kubamba' over. Meanwhile, the whole saga sends a chilling message to other operators that you just don't mess with Safcom.
hisah
#48 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 12:40:24 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

Voice is, and will always be the core business of a mobile phone company. Anything said otherwise is just to maintain customer and investor confidence.

On that premise, Safcom are absolutely 100% sure that Zain's pricing model is unsustainable. So what was the reasoning behind Safcom's reaction? Safcom want to call Zain/ Airtel's bluff on their tariff. The contentious issue here being the promise of the tariff being 'forever.' Safcom has said that they will launch a one month 'Masaa ya Kubamba' offer. The great unknown is what will happen after this one month is over?

Safcom will decide to 'extend' their offer. On top of this, they will expand the reach of the offer to another service. Safaricom keep playing this game of Russian Roulette for the better part of a year, till one day, after realising that all the major profit avenues have been closed, Zain/ Airtel deals itself the inevitable fatal blow, and reneges on it's '3bob forever' promise. Customers feel betrayed, run back into the arms of their ex, Safaricom, who can now restore normal super-profits by declaring 'Masaa ya Kubamba' over. Meanwhile, the whole saga sends a chilling message to other operators that you just don't mess with Safcom.

Bharti is one heck of a dirty player. They'll push it all the way and scom is surely cornered here. Bharti has two more cards to play - one on data and the other on mobile money. On data, they have nothing compared to scom. They can launch data at a cheaper rate since they got a cheap 3G license; that is a new price war turf. Two, they can also lower the zap fee from say 10/- to 8/- (20% down) to try and rope in more users. If scom was to match that, it would have to lower from 30/- to 24/- (still expensive) on Mpesa. I wouldn't underestimate a competitor that is flush with $ money and running an investment across the African continent apart from India (with its cut-throat competition). Vodafone has struggled when faced with Bharti, I don't see this one being any different.
For now I'm waiting for the relief rally to hit 5.10 - 5.40 before we go below 4.70 to 4.50. A break of 4.50 would see declines towards 3.80. That would be ideal for a long term entry.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#49 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 8:46:34 AM

These are the kind of prices we should be enjoying, who cares about Zain or Safcon's profits? Let them bleed...I want 1 cent per sms!!

http://www.gomonews.com/...r-is-getting-ridiculous/
#50 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 8:58:05 AM

LOL... I do NOT care who is losing money as long as I get cheap rates!
If not for Zain/Airtel... we would be paying thru the nose! Asante to Zain/Airtel...
gathinga
#51 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 9:28:57 AM

Daily Nation page 7:
Zain's new offer. Nokia 1280 with 1800 free airtime(150/- monthly for 12 months). This is a terrific offer for those safcom subscribers who want to buy a zain line for making calls only.

clearly this war is headed to the gutters!
#52 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 9:42:02 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

Your analogy is completely wrong safaricom is really in trouble I am a die hard safaricom mind you but safaricom strategy this time round is completely outsmarted by the indians.When you loose confindence/trust from your target market its hard to redeem it.The final blow will come with the portability service.

The only way safaricom can redeem themself is by taking this price war seriously first they cut their cost on MPESA,DATA, voice to a bearable minimum and boost their customer care.
Bharti has done something which is unsustainable Now but if they get a critical mass they will make profits.

mv_ufanisi
#53 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 9:52:20 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

In December number portability will come in, this will be the final blow for Safcom. They better not be thinking like this for the sake of their company. They will lose big when portability checks in. Orange, Zain and Yu will be ready to go for the kill at that time. Safcom better be prepared.
the sage
#54 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:07:02 AM

[quote=sparkly]Zain and orange were making losses when the calling rates were 8 bob. Sasa with calls at 3 bob mambo kwisha. Someone will have to pull off their punching gloves and that in my guess will be zain. Saf will be left to screw us some more and make a trillion in profits

But CCK has also said that it will further reduce interconnection fees.
July 2011-Sh1.44
July 2012-Sh1.15
July 2013-Sh.99

IMHO data, mobile money transfer services, banking, utility are the next battlegrounds.

#55 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:10:00 AM

Someone should tell safcom that we are not interested in their marketing plans and fatal blows. we are interested in lower prices.

To be more precise, fair pricing that does not allow them to make 60% profit margins on my back.

People will never pay 8 bob a minute...ever again. so they had better get used to that.

After number portability, there will be no reason on earth to stick with safcom other than "i am a shareholder"...they can go green all they want and have the "best marketing team" in kenya. But if that call rate goes higher than 3 bob a minute, they are KWISAAA!

I am waiting for data. 4G and zain 3G will come out at the same time...Let us see if I'm right when I say, I would rather pay 500 bob a month on 3G than 5000 bob a month on 4G....

If safcom does not get it, then these indians will just continue bending them over every month.
#56 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:12:01 AM

Safaricom has no other "better option" but to cut costs. Otherwise the profits (or losses) will be embarrassing at the next announcement.

I said it here too: http://wazua.co.ke/forum...&m=101675#post101675
#57 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:20:38 AM

SafariCON is the CONplicated Option
#58 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:28:22 AM

why is everybody quoting the 8/= everytime saf is mentioned at those rates Yu was the cheapest at 6.50 while Zain was @ 8/= before going to 7.50/-and finaly to 6/= so when you commend zain remember the pple who made calling cheap is YU(Essar) our liberator.
#59 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:53:15 AM

selah wrote:
why is everybody quoting the 8/= everytime saf is mentioned at those rates Yu was the cheapest at 6.50 while Zain was @ 8/= before going to 7.50/-and finaly to 6/= so when you commend zain remember the pple who made calling cheap is YU(Essar) our liberator.

I think when MJ said we have peculiar calling habits he was right. We are screaming hoarse of how we were exploited by Safcom when all other providers were cheaper and we did not vuka. As we speak, we are all praises to Zain for lower rates and completely ignoring YU which is on its knees pleading with us to give it a chance to allow us to call to any network for 50 cents....... and we arent even seeing that. If you are not in YU, then stop talking of switching providers because you were exploited.... then one you have now is also exploiting (bearing in mind exploitation is relative).
chris79
#60 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 11:05:11 AM

@Wendz, 50 cents per second is still 3 bob per minute. That's just a marketing gimmick...