wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

10 Pages<1234>»
Why safaricom must reduce its costs and expenditures to remain a viable stock in future
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:19:48 PM

Safaricom and telkom kenya will definitely dominate the data market.What I love about safaricom is their hindsight they know their market and most of their products are tailor made for that market.

Currently I hear they are competing with the government in the provision of the digital villages I hear they have several pilot projects in the country and it a matter of time they roll out the project.You remember they were the pioneers of simu ya jamii which was a hit some time back.

In Any business research and innovation holds the Key to revenue growth and from what I hear safaricom is way ahead on this front.

Look at the promotion they are running Its a clever way of selling the scratch cards thereby keeping the distributors/Agents happy at the same time making your money.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:24:54 PM

Chairman,
Huuu!!!....Maybe that's what Zain meant by "four more trump cards".Looks like time to start making a huge coffin for Safcom....wooooiiee!!

I think in the data war, Safcon will survive, but I see the likes of Access etc etc taking the brunt of the hit. Why pay them 5k a month for a line that is fixed, when you can have this?

Its just like voice, the target was Safcon yet the victim was Orange.

I cant wait for this 500bob package.

On another point, are the mpesa agents feeling the heat like the agents selling scratch cards considering that safcom advertised ATMs as the safest and most convenient way to transact with mpesa. Will we see mpesa going the simu ya jamii way!Sad
#23 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:32:58 PM

Zain wakileta hiyo kitu ya mia tano, MAMBO KWISHA! MJ is sure glad he's not going to be the C.E.O next year when they announce the reduced profits
sheep
#24 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 1:08:45 PM

I can see even Wazua has gotten a zain ad on the left cornerLaughing out loudly
I guess no more deleting negative comments about Saf like when they had placed an ad hereShame on you

The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 1:22:09 PM

Zain and orange were making losses when the calling rates were 8 bob. Sasa with calls at 3 bob mambo kwisha. Someone will have to pull off their punching gloves and that in my guess will be zain. Saf will be left to screw us some more and make a trillion in profits
#26 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 1:37:11 PM

Sparkly, exactly! By the way cck registration is ending next week, the numbers will display the truth about how badly zain ceo messed up, as they will not justify the losses, what next?
Meru Holiness
#27 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 1:55:06 PM

Zain and orange were making losses when the calling rates were 8 bob. Sasa with calls at 3 bob mambo kwisha. Someone will have to pull off their punching gloves and that in my guess will be zain. Saf will be left to screw us some more and make a trillion in profits

Now my dear sparkly if you pull off your punching gloves the fight gets worse for whomever you are fighting. How can Zain pull off their punching gloves halafu Saf wanapata trillion profits?
#28 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 2:07:38 PM

sparkly and Much know...dont i just love you guys.
#29 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 2:17:44 PM

Saprkly, kweli kabisa maneno hayo!!!
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:15:36 PM

Sparkly, exactly! By the way cck registration is ending next week, the numbers will display the truth about how badly zain ceo messed up, as they will not justify the losses, what next?

What are the latest CCK registration numbers?
polymer1
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:27:51 PM

The mechanics through which Zain made a a bloody loss are changed by the fact that the interconn rates have been reduced and Bharti are using the minute factory model.So the worst for them will be a less bloody loss.SCOM on the other hand are coming from a high of 8 to lows of 3 and 2 plus a reduced, albeit marginal subscriber base.Do the math.
There is nothing like making money, you have to earn it.
Abunuasi
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:35:25 PM

My thinking is that safcm will have reduced profits but still will be the dominant player in the market. MJ changed the strategy of the company three yrs ago from voice depence to growth in data and value added services like mpesa.
Kenya is relatively new in mobile industry and history from Nigeria, UK, Malasyia, S. Africa .... proves that once a player in mobile telecommunications industry is dominant for over five years continously, the likelyhood of its competitors beating it is an uphill task.
Sources tell me by next year, safcm might launch video calls on their 4G and my guess is that kenyan ladies will be the happiest lot. No more cheap lies of 'am late in the office' wheres hes at Umoja innercore kwa Akinyi.
#33 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:43:26 PM

@KulaRaha
According to statistics from the industry regulator - the Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK), and based on operator returns, as at August 25, about 15.3 millions lines had been registered out of the total 20.3 subscribers in Kenya, representing 75 per cent.

This number is expected to have materially changed by August 31 as more traffic was expected as subscribers tried to beat the deadline set by CCK.

Zain Kenya, out of the 2.08 million subscribers that were on its network by August 25, 1, about 1.39 million had registered, which represented 67 per cent success rate.

The industry's fourth operator Essar Telecom Kenya Ltd which trades as Yu had enrolled about 445,000 from a total of 1.5 million, returning the lowest rate of registration of 30 per cent.

Telkom Kenya's Orange brand, had registered about 250,000 users out of half a million, which is 50 per cent.

Market leader in subscriber numbers and revenue, Safaricom Ltd, with 16.2 million subscribers had registered 13.2 million lines, 81 per cent.

This means as at August 25, about five million lines had not been registered.

SOURCE http://allafrica.com/stories/201009010036.html
Meru Holiness
#34 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 4:08:58 PM

According to statistics from the industry regulator - the Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK), and based on operator returns, as at August 25, about 15.3 millions lines had been registered out of the total 20.3 subscribers in Kenya, representing 75 per cent.

This number is expected to have materially changed by August 31 as more traffic was expected as subscribers tried to beat the deadline set by CCK.

Zain Kenya, out of the 2.08 million subscribers that were on its network by August 25, 1, about 1.39 million had registered, which represented 67 per cent success rate.

The industry's fourth operator Essar Telecom Kenya Ltd which trades as Yu had enrolled about 445,000 from a total of 1.5 million, returning the lowest rate of registration of 30 per cent.

Telkom Kenya's Orange brand, had registered about 250,000 users out of half a million, which is 50 per cent.

Market leader in subscriber numbers and revenue, Safaricom Ltd, with 16.2 million subscribers had registered 13.2 million lines, 81 per cent.

This means as at August 25, about five million lines had not been registered.

Those statistics are too old.What are the numbers as of today.

The way I do my research is I go to the streets and see how many scratch cards are littered lately I have observed that Zains
Ksh.20 scratch cards have increased in number while safaricom ksh.100 and 50 hav also increased.What say you.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:04:09 PM

Muchknow,

Interesting numbers...but I had already seen these. Was wondering what the final numbers were. At least going forward, we will now be sure when a telco talks about subscribers, these are registered and actual users...not just sims sold.

These numbers tell us a lot. Firstly, Orange is dead. That is just not debatable anymore. Further, their lame response of 4/2 is higher than all the other 3 telcos, hence chances of picking new subscribers is zero. RIP Orange.

Secondly, Yu seems to be selling sims that arent sticky. Their subscribers dont think enough of the telco to bother registering their lines. Consider them in ICU. Soon to die.

Thirdly, Zain has been making losses based on a tiny subscriber base. I think we can assume that Zain's average revenue per minute was 6/= so at the current 3/= they will probably double losses. Another patient in the hospital from the looks of it, I wonder if they have enough to keep the doctors around, i.e. can sustain losses for another year plus.

Fourthly, Safcon is the jogoo of the game. However, with this new war, 13.2M subscribers have suddenly started spending less that 50% of what they were last month. Hmmmmmm, maybe it might be time to call an ambulance to assist the jogoo to the hospital where the other 2 telcos are lying?

All in all, the future looks bleak for all 4 operators. But for you and me the consumer, its fun watching....and good for our pockets too!
#36 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:27:14 PM

@kularaha

I have been loading 100 every 2days and I know of a couple of guys who used to load bamba 50/ for the same time but now are forced to load 100 and above to enjoy the cheapest rates around.Now you want to tell me safaricom is registering reduced earning while we are talking more Now.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:03:53 PM

selah wrote:
@kularaha

I have been loading 100 every 2days and I know of a couple of guys who used to load bamba 50/ for the same time but now are forced to load 100 and above to enjoy the cheapest rates around.Now you want to tell me safaricom is registering reduced earning while we are talking more Now.

Selah, you must be magically unique, because there isnt a single scratchcard dealer out there who can corraborate your story...most are crying that sales are DOWN!
tony stark
#38 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:18:07 PM

selah wrote:

Those statistics are too old.What are the numbers as of today.

The way I do my research is I go to the streets and see how many scratch cards are littered lately I have observed that Zains
Ksh.20 scratch cards have increased in number while safaricom ksh.100 and 50 hav also increased.What say you.

@Selah .... wow!
It is amazing how dumb you are!!
You claim CCK statistics are too old and your research methodology is so stupid.
Did you check dustbinds for the 100 and 50 scratch cards??
Are you walking all over nairobi ama uko downtown?
Did you see my 500 and 1000 scratch cards??

Please please please go get your head checked because your stupidity could be fatal to your occupation and character! You might benefit from a cats brain transfer!!!
#39 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:19:25 PM

@Chairman,
Selah must be seeing what most of me can't see.Today,i talked to a friend who has been making it well on Safcom front as an agent.Almost halfway through the month,dude is already worried about where the month's rent will come from.He can't be the only one.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:30:10 PM

@selah the only thing that I can adduce in your counting of more safcom cards littering on the streets is that safcom users are the major source of litter in Nairobi.

This idea that safcom is all knowing is rather amazing to see. Next time I hear of someone saying 4G like its God coming with a chariot, I will start flying.

4G reminds me of those 1 cm thick TV screens that are sold for 1 million bob. They may be nice to look at but Hell, I ain't paying for that.

Data is not the privy of mobile devices..it is cable. Cable, and more cable. If safcom is investing there, then i might buy the share. Lakini hii tu modems is hogwash.

If you are a user, who cares if zain is making loses. In fact, I doubt if any of the safcom apologists can prove that.

I believe that 3 bob a minute is not sustainable. Let me qualify that...

It is not sustainable by safcom model. You do forget that there are countries where calling is free in certain hours, all night and all weekend? So wacheni hii upus ya zain will make loses on 3 bob.

as for shareholders, I think the topic starter is a genius and should win the post of the year award....

If you still have safcom shares ati because foreign investors are buying, never forget that foreign investors are the same investors who bought shares in enron, AIG, etc etc...they may not be as sharp as you think.