wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

10 Pages123>»
Why safaricom must reduce its costs and expenditures to remain a viable stock in future
gmg
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 9:38:47 AM

If you have been following up the news on mobile phone company price wars and you are a share holder of safaricom you should be ready for a fall in the share prices in the near future. Please consider the following facts:
1. In the year ended March 2010 safaricom had a revenue of approx ksh 80 billion given that over 80 % was from voice it translates that the revenue from mobile voice service was approximately ksh 64 billion. during that period the average calling rates was ksh 8 per minute so we can say a total talk tome for that year was 8 billion minutes.
2. At the current price 8 billion minutes would result into a maximum revenue of ksh 24 billion(assuming calling rates of ksh 3)
3. Assuming the revenue of other services such as MPESA and data will be around a maximim of 20 billion this year then the total revenue will be approximately ksh 44 billion.
4. From the last finanncial result the PBT was approximately ksh 20 billion meaning their total costs was approximately 60 billion.
5. If Safaricom does not review its bisuness strategy then there are very high chances that it will record a loss when it releases the next financial results.

5. Given that there will be a change of guard at safaricom then the employers must be ready for a round of retrenchments,
Dealers must be ready for a cut in the the rates of commissions.

What will happen to the stock market prices???? I leave you to answer that????

I welcome your criticism on this article

Please
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 9:55:03 AM

The drop in profits is a must unless a miracle happens,cutting the high expenditure means network coverage will have to slowdown since its the most expensive venture,but dont you think even if safcom made 10b profit,its still highly profitable.do u know the size of a kenyan billion?
Olu
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 9:57:29 AM

2. At the current price 8 billion minutes would result into a maximum revenue of ksh 24 billion(assuming calling rates of ksh 3)

The assumption of 8 billion minutes may be correct but you may also need to consider that with reduced calling rates, there comes a behavioural change...More people will talk more, so the loss in revenue incurred from reduced calling charges will in part be cushioned by the increase in the amount of talk time.
whynow
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:04:06 AM

There will also an impact of those clients who have moved to other networks.
Olu
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:12:04 AM

i take back my comments....No increase in talk time

http://www.businessdaily.../-/k703cdz/-/index.html
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:12:46 AM

If safaricom were to ever report a loss, the share would collapse. By the way mngoje profit warning next year. The challenge to Safaricom is real. Very real
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:14:29 AM

Olu wrote:
i take back my comments....No increase in talk time

http://www.businessdaily.../-/k703cdz/-/index.html

A wise man changes his mind. smile
gmg
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:14:38 AM

Assuming safaricom engages in aggressive marketing to increase talk time by 100% which seems currently impossible from 8 billion minutes to 16 billion at a calling rates of ksh 3 the total revenue will be 48 billion, hence the key thing is COST MANAGEMENT.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:17:02 AM

Olu wrote:

The assumption of 8 billion minutes may be correct but you may also need to consider that with reduced calling rates, there comes a behavioural change...More people will talk more, so the loss in revenue incurred from reduced calling charges will in part be cushioned by the increase in the amount of talk time.

Olu, there will surely be an increase in talk time. It may not show now, but it will definately happen. Whatw e need to figure out is:

1. will talk time increase three fold as price per minute is down that much?

2. Will talk time on Safcom increase more than on other networks?

Data, Mpesa etc is all very sexy, but frankly most telcos worldwide make their money from voice. Dont be fooled otherwise.
mv_ufanisi
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:34:09 AM

Calling rates of 3/- to other networks and 2/- per minute within SCOM. Given 80% market is Safcom and 20% other weighted average cost per call will be 2.2/-. This translates to voice revenues of 19.6 billion assuming the volumes stay constant. Data and M-PESA revenues of 20 billion leads to total revenues of about 40 billion.
They would need to cut their costs by atleast half to record a profit of 10 billion. Tough to do and loss of jobs is likely.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 10:58:20 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Calling rates of 3/- to other networks and 2/- per minute within SCOM. Given 80% market is Safcom and 20% other weighted average cost per call will be 2.2/-. This translates to voice revenues of 19.6 billion assuming the volumes stay constant. Data and M-PESA revenues of 20 billion leads to total revenues of about 40 billion.
They would need to cut their costs by atleast half to record a profit of 10 billion. Tough to do and loss of jobs is likely.

Clearly, Safaricom are in trouble, BIG trouble. I wish they could lower their data charges before the battle gets to there.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:01:39 AM

Data is the next battlefront...I hear Zain will be offering an unlimited monthly package for like 500 bob.

Pablo
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:02:04 AM

Being in cost management myself. Slaying that dragon of costs is as difficult as you can imagine. It is even more difficult if the costs are of a fixed nature esp. contractual (Staff, Rents etc)

Safaricom's cost structure I am sure includes at least 70% of its costs as being fixed. Here there is no short cut - A retrenchment and rationalisation is a must and I am seeing it happen within the next 3 months.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:09:18 AM

Pablo wrote:

Safaricom's cost structure I am sure includes at least 70% of its costs as being fixed. Here there is no short cut - A retrenchment and rationalisation is a must and I am seeing it happen within the next 3 months.

True that.Pole to those who will be affected .Jipeni moyo.I hope the ecomony will be vibrant enough to create new jobs .

I also hope that lower calling rates will lead to cost savings in other companies in the economy and hence new job opportunities .

Already airtime selling agents have started reporting slow airtime sales.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:09:50 AM

@Kulahepi,
What??.....Are you sure?.

#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:24:36 AM

Njung'e,

There are rumours of a mega-low priced data package coming out of Zain soon. Perhaps expected to coincide with launch of 3G, which isnt too far away.

The number of 500 is also logical. Given the cost of cable mb, they would comfortably make money at 500 and probably woo a big part of the market.

#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:35:48 AM

Chairman,
Huuu!!!....Maybe that's what Zain meant by "four more trump cards".Looks like time to start making a huge coffin for Safcom....wooooiiee!!
sizzla
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:49:20 AM

Plus MJ insists that 2 bob is not sustainable...
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:05:09 PM

Chairman,
Huuu!!!....Maybe that's what Zain meant by "four more trump cards".Looks like time to start making a huge coffin for Safcom....wooooiiee!!

I think in the data war, Safcon will survive, but I see the likes of Access etc etc taking the brunt of the hit. Why pay them 5k a month for a line that is fixed, when you can have this?

Its just like voice, the target was Safcon yet the victim was Orange.
Allank
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:10:02 PM

@ Kula Raha

500bob per month! hehehe tena 3G that will be a dream come true cant wait...Who needs 4G if you can get 3G at fairly reasonable prices? a wonderful world indeed
Kama kuoga ni usafi taulo lachafukani?