http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/10so2hp/-/index.html
I think the government is being dishonest with both the Provincial Administrators and the public. When people talked about devolution they did not mean that we have a structure of county governments alongside the existing structure of National Government. Something has to give and in my opinion National Government by definition will have to get smaller. Do they expect we the wananchi to pay all these DCs, DOs, Chiefs plus the extra MPs plus the Extra Senators plus the new county governors and assemblies and county government structures and extra judges etc. Hell no!!!!
If there are any patriotic lawyers in Wazua please start studying this new constitution thoroughly because its final implementation will not happen before some major defining court battles. This government will not burge until someone takes them to court to force them to accept that Provincial Administration is unconstitutional in whatever name. The current players will try to sneak it in the parliamentary bills being prepared right now and I hope there are MPs in that house who care enough to want a lean government.
It is to be expected that the current administrators should try to engage in institutional survival but at some point someone will have to stand up and spell it out for everyone. Imekwisha. I think since he has nothing to lose, Kifaki should be the one to say it. Alternatively he can wait for the outcome of a court ruling then tell them, sio mimi lakini we must obey the courts.